We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Athuruga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Diamonds Athuruga to your Saves list
Diamonds Athuruga
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 2019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athuruga Island
Bakewell, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We have just arrived back after 10 wonderful nights at the Athuruga Island Resort. We booked through Kuoni and flew with Emirates (and Maldivian Air Taxi's). After a fairly pleasant flight from Manchester / Dubai we arrived on schedule at Male - unfortunately it was raining! Passport control / baggage was relatively quick, word of warning Maldives is a Muslim country so you cannot import alcohol - unlike the poor German tourist that tried to! We soon were waiting for the Sea Plane to take us to Athuruga, warning - they do weigh all of your luggage and excess is charged $2 per kilo - anyway $18 worse off by 10.45am we were in the air on our way to Athuruga.
After a flight of approximately 25 minutes we arrived at Athuruga, to be greeted by Bryen and colleagues, after concluding the administration we were shown to our water villa. The island has adopted its own time zone and is 1hr ahead of Male. I had previously emailed the island to see if we could have a specific water villa, as other posters on the forum have indicated they do not respond to emails - although we got the villa that we wanted. The resort knew that we had visited Thudufushi (10 years ago) and had left a complimentary bottle of wine in the room. The rooms are large, with a huge bed, walk in wardrobe, seperate shower room, WC and basins etc, outside there is a large decked area with (in our case) a double sun lounger, table and sofa, steps ran down from the decked area into the clear sea - we regularly had Reef Sharks playing / feeding on the steps.
The food was marvellous - evening meals / breakfast were taken in the Water Villa Restaurant with lunch in the main island restaurant. If you have any dietary preferances you should make them known to reception as there is a lot of fish on the menu! Service is excellent - we were served by Waseem for the duration of the stay. Afternoon tea is delivered to the room by your "Room Boy", in our case Shiyaam, at around 5.00pm.
The weather was a little odd in that it was cloudy and overcast on the 1st and 3rd day, on the 2nd day we had heavy rain which lasted most of the day off and on, it was very windy and on the 1st night it did feel like the room was moving - hence the life jackets made by the bizarrely named "Dongtai Xinghua Labor Insurance Thing Factory" (see photo). The remaining 7 days were wall to wall sunshine - although it was constantly windy, apparently the lagoon side villa's were less windy than the "ocean" side and the island was less windy still. The villas are on the western side of the island and have a north / south aspect - ours caught the sun in the morning and late afternoon.
Sadly it was so exhausting doing nothing that i haven't a clue what entertainment there was at night - there was an Italian singer in the main restaurant who sang at lunch in English and Italian
On our ten minute walk around the island we noticed quite a bit of erosion in front of the bungalows facing the villa's - these were mostly the detached bungalows.
Someone has commented elsewhere that the steps into the sea were slippy - when we arrived ours were but unprompted someone spent an hour cleaning them - i expect that this is a constant battle. If you are not a confident swimmer, it would be worth requesting a villa numbered 1 - 5 as the sea is not as deep probably 4 - 5 foot deep at high tide as opposed to the 7 foot deep where we were
I can't comment on the entertainment / activities as we were never pressured to take part nor can i comment about the spa as we didn't use it.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this resort to my friends as we had a marvellous time and were well looked after - the AI concept works very well. Would i go back - yes!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    75
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
61
386
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Just back from a two week stay on Athuruga in a water villa. It was wonderful, fantastic, blissful and paradise! Service was great, island small but beautiful, fantastic food, amazing snorkelling. Swam with turtles and eagle rays, saw a moray eel and a manta ray, as well as reef sharks, cow tail rays and stingrays in the shallows! Only thing that let it down slightly was the bad weather, but we were just unlucky. Will write full review when time allows, in the meantime I've uploaded some pics and please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

Can't wait to return to our little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

This was our first trip to Athuruga (16th to Maldives). We had arranged a two centre holiday with our first week at Reethi Beach. I chose it for the AI package and reports of a good reef.
The sea plane flight was 30 mins from male, and we taveled out with several Italian families. Our first view of the island was the prestine white water villas against the blue sky and aqua sea - Wow!.
The Italian lady in our party told me it was her 20th visit here!
We were taken into reception and given a fresh towel, refreshing drink and fresh fruit and icecream - very welcome. The manager came and introoduced himself to us too.
I had previously emailed the island to ask if we could have a villin mid to high 40s - preferably a detached - but i had no reply and we aere given villa number 16.

The island is quite small and the beach villas are all around the edge - there is no inner undergrowth as on some islands - just soft sand everywhere with specific plants/ tree dotted about.
The front doors to each villa are on the inner side of the island. The bedroom is large with two big wardobes/ drawers. There is a large dresing table with big circular mirror, lamp and ipod dock. There are bedside units and lamps, and a wicker lounger chair in the room. Another cupboard houses the safe, all inclusive mini bar that is stocked initially with soft drinks and water, and tea.coffee facilities.

There are two little wall display units with doen lights that should have housed two large white clumps of coral (someone must have 'removed' ours). There is a sliding door that opens onto wooden deck. Two padded wooden loungers and a long padded bench and a small table on decking. Two white plastic loungers for beach area. The sea was very close at high tide but was sufficient for our needs. With the plastic loungers you can take them into the sea!

The bathroom had loo, bidet, twin basins and an outdoor rain shower and washing line. Dressing gowns provided and fresh towels every day.
We went down for the welcome meeting at the agreed time and someone in reception sang 'Only You' - as we were the only non Italians to arrive that day.

The bar has an outside area right on the sand with low tables and comfy padded wooden chairs. The innerpart is open at the sides with drop doen rain protection panels and swathes of white cutrain drapes. They light lovey lanterns all arounf this area at night.
Everything except champagne in all inclusive - 5 page cocktail list and bar nibbles available most of day.- Loved the samosas!.
We had 4 cocktail evenings in one week - with nibbles, wine and prepared cocktails. One session was at the spa (very Indiana Jones style building!) - we were give gifts of incense sticks too.

For meals in the restaurant you keep the same table and waier each time - our waiter was brilliant. You are greeted by a man with fresh flannels as you enter. We asked for red wine and he said 'South African or Italian?- and my husband was asked to try first. The food is amazing! - always a pasta bar being an Italian Island - but also lamb, chicken, beef dishes + curries, amazing salads (especially the whole cooked fish looking at you) and BBQ grills going each time. The sweets ere so attractive and divine! At breakfast you could have freshly squeezed ffruits by your own selection - omellettes/ eggs done to your preference and REAL bacon! Also pastries, cereals, yoghurts etc.

The beach area outside the bar comes out to a large spit, and there are lovely adjustable wicker beds that are adjustable with thick padded covers - double and single - this area is open for anyone to use.

The island is Italian owned and 90% of guests are Italian - many repeaters. At first i thought we might miss some British to chat to over a drink - but we met 3 British honeymoon couples who didnt mind and 'older' couple joining in the chat.. The Italians were also very friendly and their English puts us to shame.

Our beach villa was a semi detached - most are with about 4 being detached, We had a dividing grill between us and neighbours which made it private, but some villas did not have these grills and you would be able to see your neightbours fro ma few villas sitting on decking.

The watersports team have marine biologists that take you for a guided snorkel at11am and 4pm each day. Nicholette was briliant and told us alot we didnt know before.
The reef is amazing - an excellent reef with lots of corals - many starting to regain color - greens and blue. You can see all varieties of fish here - also saw 4ft black tip reef shark and turtles. Lots of orange Nemo clown fish too.
You can also take out canoes and Hobby Cat (if you have experience)

One evening there was a marine life film shown on a big screen on the beach - we went to watch it and Nicholette translated just for us!
There is a well stocked gift shop and dive centre. Also a doctor is available (all inclusive too). There is a library of novels (lots of English ones there) and a TV area. Also table tennis table.

We were told that you could ask for beer and wine for mini bar - so we ordered white wine - arrived in an ice bucket and 6 Carsberg beers. During the week we had 4 bottles of wine - nice to finsh up with on decking at night for a night cap!

We also had some shorts laundered whilst we were there - again all inclusive and arrived back wrapped in tissue in a large basket.

One day it was our wedding anniversary - our waiter wantedto set our dinner table up on the beach, but weather was drizzley - so we had dinner inside and he had written 'Happy Anniversary' in yellow sand across the table. At the end we were presented with a lovely cake with two candles!

Our last evening was an Italian Festival - dinner was sligthly later - all tables were supposed to go on the beach followed by a beach party - but again the weather let us down. Out table was decorated with sand pictures of birds and flowers - amazing - wine on the table - a special food spead - like Christmas. We had fresh lobster from the BBQ - lovely. We also had a gift on our bed that day of 2 white sarongs.

The only slightly annoyiong thing was before lunch and dinner a couple of musicians - man on saxaphone and lady singer 'entertained' us. In our opinion it was too loud and not necessary in this environment - but the Italians seemed to enjoy.

The bar staff were very attentive and knew what you liked after frist day.
There were trip each day (two of them inclusive) - but we didnt go on any of them or try the spa, so cant comment on those.

All in all a fabulous week - we have discovered a gem and will certainly go back.

Wrote this as not many reviews on Athuruga - probably as not too many British visitors - Hope tjis has been helpful to anyone considering this island.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzo d'Intelvi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

The resort is the best ever seen. From the first day at the arrival to the departure , nothing to criticize ! This is really the first time I do not have anything to argue about.
You feel like to be in a big family, everybody so kind. Perfect service at the restaurant.
The late afternoon, all inclusive aperitif is not to be missed ! Hot pizza of the best quality is served for one hour... together with fantastic cocktails.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We returned from Athuruga on the 19th July after two weeks of bliss on a paradise island. Everything we read previously about the island/hotel raised my expectations and I was worried whether I would be dissapointed, but if anything, it far outweighed my expectations.

Although we had to wait about an hour at Male for the sea plane, once we arrived at Athuruga the welcome and reception after a long flight was refreshing. The check in was easy and the transfer to to room quick. We were laying on the beach within half an hour.

We wanted peace and relexation and we got exactly that. All the staff were great (without exception). Akthar and Roshan at the bar, Lawra in the boutique, Salvatori, Nicholeta and Marcia in the animation team all deserve a special mention.

My only issue is that I've been ruined...I will definetly be returning to Athuruga.

If your going soon, you will love it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

My husband and I travelled to Athuruga at the beginning of July for two weeks. We first went to the Maldives 3 years ago on a 'one-off' holiday and like so many others became addicted! Previously we had stayed at Meeru and Veligandu but this year wanted somewhere with a better housereef so after a lot of research chose Athuruga. This is an Italian owned island (Planhotel) which has recently been refurbished. It is a very samll island (approx 10 mins to walk around) with about 40 beach villas and 21 new water villas. It is all inclusive and the AI deal includes much more than your typical Maldivian island. All we paid for during our trip was some purchases from the shop and a couple of excursions, everything else was included in the cost of the hoiliday.

The journey there
We flew with Sri Lankan airlines on what was supposed to be a direct flight to Male but unfortunately on arrival at the airport we were told that due to operational reasons the flight would be going to Colombo where we would need to change aircraft. This added an extra couple of hours onto our journey which wasn't a great start to our holiday but couldn't be helped. We had paid (£50 pp each way) to upgrade to premium economy. We had more legroom and were in the quieter front section of cabin just behind business class. Nothing extra special about this but we think it's worth it for the extra space and the peace and quiet.

We didn't have long to wait in Male for our seaplane connection which was with Maldivian Air Taxi. We dropped off travellers in Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo before going on to Athuruga, taking approx half an hour in total. We were met on the dhoni by 2 of the Italian animation team who were extremely welcoming.

Accommodation (water villa)
Check in at reception was quick and effortless with the usual (extremely welcome) cold facecloth and fruit juice. We got shown to our water villa, which was no more than a 5 min walk from the reception/bar/main restaurant. We had villa 2 which is on the lagoon side looking over towards the island (These villas are numbered 1-13). The villa was extremely spacious. Coming in the front door there is a seating area with a sofa and coffee table. The main part of the room is the sleeping area with a huge, extremely comfortable bed, off here is a large walk in wardrobe with more than enough shelves and hanging space for luggage and everything you could possibly take with you. The mini bar and kettle is also here (mini bar stocked with water, coke, diet coke, fanta, sprite, soda water and carlsberg lager, re-stocked daily). The remainder of the space is taken up with dressing tables and there is a door through to the bathroom area. Straight ahead there are two sinks with plenty space for toiletries. To one side is the toilet and to the other a double shower with two separate overhead showers, one with a hand held shower attached. There is a door out to the deck from the shower room and the whole front of the villa is made of sliding glass doors so you can access the deck that way too. Outside you can walk around the whole villa and the deck is very spacious. There is a dining table with four chairs, 2 sofas with removable cushions and a coffe table and either 2 single sunbeds or one double with cushions. We found the accommodation to be excellent with everything we needed and more. The bed really was amazingly comfortable and the outside space far bigger and with more furniture than we had experienced at other islands.

The reef
From our steps into the sea (beware, these can get extremely slippery, although they were cleaned when we were there) there was a nice lagoon, with not much current so good for swimming. The water villas on the other side (14 -21) look out to the open sea and the reef. As we like to go snorkeling at least twice a day we asked after a couple of days if we would be able to move to a villa at the other side. We asked at dinner one evening and had moved by lunchtime the next day to villa 17. From here we could swim straight out over the coral at high tide but usually swam down to the cut through at the over water restaurant and got out to the drop off that way. From there we snorkeled down towards the island. There was another cut through at the main jetty, another one further round and the Dhoni pass at the other side of the island so plenty options for getting in and out without ever having to swim against the current. The reef was great, not terribly colourful but a wide variety of sea life. As well as the usual surgeonfish, sweetlips, parrotfish, snappers, clown fish, trevally, fusiliers etc we also frequently saw eagle rays (six at once at one point), reef sharks, lion fish and remoras. We didn't spot any turtles but went on a snorkelling excursion to nearby Dega Thila where we saw 4. On another trip to a plateau reef we stopped off at a sandbank in the middle of the ocean on the way back to Athuruga. Both organised trips were excellent and well worth the money ($37 pp, I think) As well as these organised excursions, there are free daily trips from the beach around the house reef at 11am and 4pm. We went on these a few times, and they were good, as the guides are marine biologists and point out things you might not otherwise notice, including a stonefish one day! This would also be good if you aren't a very confident swimmer, as they take out flotation aids, you can also use a lifejacket if you wish. Hire of mask, snorkel and fins is free (part of AI deal), I only used fins (having brought my own mask and snorkel), but they were in good condition and easy to get from the dive shop. We didn't go diving but diving trips were offered twice daily as well as night time diving on occasions.

Activities/entertainment
Other activities were on offer during the day but we very much come to the Maldives for peace, quiet and relaxation so we didn't try any of them. From memory they included beach volleyball, aqua aerobics, Latin dance, snorkelling lessons etc. You could also use kayaks and there were hobby cats available for those trained to sail them. The evening entertainment was pretty low key - quizzes, slide show of Maldivian fish, kareoke once a week etc.
A variety of excursions are offered, mainly snorkelling and fishing and a free trip to the local island to have a look around and visit the shops they have.
While we were there, many of the satff were taking part in essential fire training. we were greatly entertained by watching our waiters, room boys and bar staff running up and down the beach, rolling out hoses, giving each other firemen's lifts etc!!

Dining
As water villa guests, we could choose to eat brakfast in either the water villa restaurant, the main restaurant or have it delivered to our deck. As we like to go for an early morning snorkel, we often took advantage of the option of having it deliverd. It was so nice to go for a swim, come back, shower, put on bathrobes (provided in the villa), just in time for breakfast to be delivered! Breakfast consisted of; cooked breakfast (bacon, sausages, tomato, mushrooms, baked beans and eggs cooked in a veriety of ways), cereal, youghurt, fresh fruit, plate of ham and cheese, bread basket (toast, croissants, mini pastries, muffins etc), tea or coffee and fruit juice.
Lunch was provided at the main restaurant, buffet style. You are assigned a table and a waiter for your stay. Water villa guests get the tables in the inside while beach villa guests get the tables around the outside. We still had a good seaview from our table however. a wide variety of food is available at lunchtime, and the Italian influence was evident. There was a large selection of food, including, soup, a wide variety of salad including freshly cut cold meats and fish (cooked and raw), freshly cooked pizza, a barbecue station which nearly always had freshly caught fish, curries with rice, poppadoms and chutneys, a pasta station and a selection of meat and vegetable dishes. Dessert consisted of a wide selection of mini pastries, cakes and mousses and a choice of freshly made ice cream and sorbet. There was also a large selection of fruit. The quality of this food was very good but there wasn't much variety from day to day. And in fact on the one day we ate our evening meal there it was also pretty similar.
Most nights we went to the over water restaurant. From 7pm onwards it is open for drinks and canapes. There was always a jug of cocktail made up, or you could choose from a wide variety of spirits (including premium brands) or wines. Dinner here was a la carte and although there wasn't a huge choice, the quality of the food was excellent. This restaurant primarily serves the water villa guests, although beach villa guests can pay to dine here and are welcome to drink in bar area. As a result the restaurant was very quiet with excellent service. Our waiter Rakyn was fantastic. The menu consisted of a choice of 3 starters, always including some seafood, choice of 3 soup or pasta dishes, choice of 3 main courses, usually 2 meat and one fish, and dessert which was always ice cream, sorbet, another dessert or cheese.

Snacks were also available throughout the day - on the last few days of our holiday, sorbet was delivered to the villas about 11am, and mini sandwiches and fruit were delivered daily at approx 5pm. Snacks were also available at the main bar in the afternoon, and at approx 5pm a waiter would come round handing out slices of freshly cooked pizza! All drinks (apart from champagne) are included in the AI package (even cocktails, sparkling wine, milkshakes etc) and available all day and night. Being Italian owned, a wide variety of good quality coffee (eg espresso, latte, cappucino, iced etc) was also available.

Negatives
We had been told when booking our holiday that each water villa had its own Imac computer so we didn't bother to take our laptop (OH needs to check work emails). We were told at the island that they didn't have these yet, which was a shame. We were allowed to use the mac in reception free of charge however to make up for this. Internet connection was pretty slow so glad we didn't have a lot ot do.
We decided to use the free laundry service to get some clothes washed. The order form says it takes 2 days but in reality it is more like 4 days. Unfortunately 4 items of our clothes got ruined. Our poor room boy (who was excellent) was mortified and assured us it wasn't him who did the washing! He explained that this had happened before, although only a handful of times in 5 or 6 years and that what had happened was that the clothes had been sat on top of the washing machine and then the staff had gone for lunch. When the spin cycle was on, some of the clothes had fallen off the machine and into some bleach! One of the animation team spoke to us about what had happened and was very apologetic. She offered us free excursions or a lobster dinner to compensate. We had already booked our snorkeling excursions but she agreed to get the cost of them (approx $150) taken off our bill, which we were quite happy about.

Overall
With July being low season, the island was far from full. Only about 8 of the water villas were ever occupied at one time although I think a much higher percentage of the beach villas were occupied. The staff were all very friendly but not intrusive, and although it is a small island, without a lot of space between the beach villas, it was nerver crowded and in fact, often deserted! The water villas are of a very high spec, although not totally private as there are no walls to the outside deck. We were lucky that for the most part we didn't have immediate neighbours which gave us all the privacy we needed. The food was very good and the general atmosphere relaxed but friendly.
We would definitely come back to Athuruga, but not for some time as there are so many other islands to visit!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Recently returned from Athuruga having spent our honeymoon there and it was absolutely fantastic. Beautiful island, very helpful and friendly staff and excellent snorkelling..we saw a couple of turtles and even managed to get close enough to stroke one. The water villas are stunning with a huge deck where we had our breakfast served everyday. The food is first class especially the a la carte dinner in the water bungalow restaurant. The chef even asked what we enjoyed eating and prepared us a special meal..the lamb is delicious.
We thought the water bungalows facing the reef were the best because they were the most private...the ones on the other side are facing the beach and the boats moored in the lagoon. Also the deck was in the shade for most of the day which was perfect in the heat .
The bar on the beach was great and the drinks are all named brands. The wine is also of a very good quality. We had a fabulous 16 days on Athuruga and would definately recommend it to anyone for a chilled out, relaxing and indulgent holiday. We are already saving to return for our anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamonds Athuruga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Athuruga

Address: P.O. Box 2019
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Athuruga Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athuruga Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamonds Athuruga 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athuruga Island Resort is the twin island of its sister Thundufushi. The island comprises of a thick vegetation of coconut palms and surrounded by powdery beach which extends to one side of the island. The lagoon on this side is small and the superb house reef is within the swimming distance while on the other side the lagoon is very large, sandy and is ideal for paddling around. Athuruga Island resort is best described as an elegant and intimate holiday resort with a high standard of service which offers offer All Inclusive only. There are only 51 rooms, named as 46 Beach Bungalows and 05 garden Villas. Catamaran, laser boat, canoe, windsurfs offered free to guests who must be experienced & licensed for these activities. Snorkeling equipment are offered free against a deposit towards loss of damage. Free guided snorkeling on house reef daily. Free laundry service. Aerobic, stretching, water gym and dance lessons free of charge.1 sunset fishing and 1 fisherman island excursion per stay included free. Beach towels provided free. Free doctor's service and infirmary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and Escapio so you can book your Diamonds Athuruga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Athuruga Beach And Water Villas
Diamonds Athuruga Beach & Water Villas Hotel South Ari Atoll
Athuruga Hotel South Ari Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds Athuruga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.