We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mathiveri Inn Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mathiveri Inn Guest House to your Saves list
Mathiveri Inn Guest House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Heenaamaage, Nikagasmagu, 09040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
Mirissa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Mathiveri Inn is a very good value for money and therefore a great choice not only for backpackers but for anyone who wants to spend some time in this paradise and experience local cultur unlike in resorts. The guesthouse is VERY clean (cleaned couple times a day), nicely decorated, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are perfect!
The island itself is small and currently, there is only one guesthouse. What I absolutely loved about Mathiveri was that there are almost no tourists as tourism on local islands as opposed to resorts is still quite new. As previously mentioned, bikinis are not allowed on the island, but there is a little desert island nearby (no more than 5 minutes by boat) that allows bikini swimming, sunbathing and snorkeling. This was an absolute highlight and its a perfect place for someone who doesn´t mind having no beach bars or sunbeds for an exchange of a robinson-crusoe-like paradise. The only downside is a long ferry ride (6 hours). Also, the ferries run only on certain days, make sure to check the schedule before booking. But don´t be put off by that! The island can be also reached by a speedboat or a sea plane, which is much more expensive than the ferry. Also, the guesthouse is located opposite the mosque, which may be loud (especially at 5AM), but it is also a part of the cultural experience. Overall, we had wonderful time at Mathiveri Inn and we are happy to reccommend it!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali S, Owner at Mathiveri Inn Guest House, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Schweiz
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent 8 days on this little island and had a wonderful time. Our welcome was very lovely with a coconut drink and a sightseeing tour on the island. For the entire stay the staff was very friendly, helpful and they realy cared about our well-being. The little picnic island close by is the pure paradise. Mostly we had the island for ourself...amazing! We did the Manta snorkelling tour and were just overwhelmed by seeing this animals so close. The breakfast in the morning is awesome. The rooms are very comfortable and neat and get cleaned at least one time per day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali S, Owner at Mathiveri Inn Guest House, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberec, Czech Republic
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

It was our first visit to Maldives and we had a great time during these few days in Mathiveri. Room was spacious and cleaned every day. We enjoyed tasty local food and pizza. We chose Maldivian breakfast which was great and big (fish roshi, pancakes, egg,..).
Staff were very nice and helpful. Ismail welcomed us in harbour, prepared a fresh coconut welcome drink and made an excursion of the island. He also helped us when it was not sure if the public ferry to Male would be cancelled (be aware that it may happen in rainy season) and found alternative transport, otherwise we would have to go by expensive speedboat or sea-plane.
Also the agency in Male contacted us before our arrival, bought us the ferry tickets to Mathiveri in advance and welcomed us in Male. We really felt that the people took care about us all the time, don't be afraid that you will be lost in Maldives.
The island is beautiful, especially white beaches and clear water. Most of the time, we had the beaches for ourselves. You can also go by boat or swim to the close Picnic island and feel like Robinson Crusoe - if current gets very strong, it may not be just feeling ;) You can snorkel around both of the islands - corals, fish, stingrays, baby-sharks and maybe more. The guesthouse also arrange snorkelling trip to reef, unfortunately there were not good conditions for us to try it.
The place is very quiet and we slept very well, the only thing disturbing our sleep was a morning prayer from nearby mosque. If you are not an early bird, it will wake you up around 5 am – but I guess it is the same for all places on local islands.
There is no cash machine/exchange on the island, but the guesthouse prefers payment in USD, ruffias are useful in shops/cafe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali S, Owner at Mathiveri Inn Guest House, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
It is our pleasure to serve you. Thank you so much for the lovely feedback and fabulous pictures. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had a fantastic time and was very spoilt by the Sameer family as the first guest of the Mathiveri Inn on Mathiveri Island in the North Ari Atoll in the Maldives. This is the place to go if you want a real Maldivian cultural experience with great local food and a fresh green coconut juice daily. Detox time - No alcohol here! Rooms are spacious and comfy with AC, fans, hot water and free wifi in common area. The island is a 6-7hr local ferry ride from Male and has a beautiful white sandy beach to swim at (the local customs don't permit bikinis though). Can highly recommend the boat ride across to Picnic Island where the snorkelling was great and you have more privacy & freedom. I spent 3 weeks in the Maldives 1 week at a resort and the other 2 weeks at local islands of Mathiveri & Maafushi. The time spent at Mathiveri Inn really enabled me to meet the local Maldivians and would highly recommend to those travellers looking for a cultural experience

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali S, Owner at Mathiveri Inn Guest House, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is the our very first trip to Maldives. We have stayed at Mathiveri inn in Mathiveri Island. The hotel is very clean and staff are very friendly and very helpful. The island is very clean, friendly local people all the beaches around the island are very clean. Crystal and clear blue lagood is our favorite part of the vacation. During the day time, most the times we have spent in small private island next to Mathiveri. The island is for us, no body else are there and we can enjoy swimming, snorkeling and sun shining with bikini. Simply I ca say this is the most amazing vacation I ever had in my life. I did experience real life of Maldives with super Maldivian people. The island life is amazing. Nice traditional food. Enjoy lot with beach BBQ at night after sunset fishing. Thank you each and everyone of this super island.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mathiveri Inn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mathiveri Inn Guest House

Address: Heenaamaage, Nikagasmagu, 09040
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Mathiveri Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mathiveri Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mathiveri Inn Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mathiveri Inn guest house is first guest house opened in Mathiveri Island. Mathiveri is located at the middle of North Ari Atoll within 6 hours of transport from Male' by ferry service and 2 hours by speed Boat. The island, surrounded by the breathtaking ocean, measures about 0.775 Km in length and around 0.475 Km in width. Distance from Male' 84.82 Km. Population 834. Mathiveri means greatness. There is no greatness where there is no simplicity, so come explore, indulge, experience and enjoy the greatness of simple island of Mathiveri. Mathiveri is a place for everything, and everything in it's place. Experience the island life, indulge in the local cuisine and explore the Maldivian culture. Relax and relieve your stress in our serene, quite and amazing atmosphere. Be part of our Mathiveri community, take part in the local activities. Relax on the white sandy beaches with sun lights and crystal clear lagoon, and experience the traditional activities while you are in Mathiveri Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mathiveri Inn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mathiveri Inn Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.