We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic reef” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Biyadhoo Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Biyadhoo Island Resort to your Saves list
Biyadhoo Island Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Post Box No. 20153   |  
Hotel amenities
London England
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Fantastic reef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Just returned from 10 idyllic days on this wonderful island.
We knew that the accomodation was tired before we booked so no great surprises, although nothing like as bad as some reports have suggested. Always kept spotlessly clean and how long do you spend in your room when you have so much reef to explore?
The whole reason for coming to the Maldives for us was to snorkel and the House reef was exceptional. We had three wishes - to see Turtles, Rays and Sharks and managed all three more than once. The number and different types of fishes was superb and even on our last day we were spotting fish for the first time.
The staff were always friendly and made us feel very welcome.
The food was great - plenty of choice and the breads fantastic. We upgraded to All inclusive - it includes a fishing and snorkel trip - both great fun and if you fancy drinking a cocktail or two whilst the sun goes down - well worthwhile.
We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    399
    112
    38
    17
See reviews for
118
644
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

we recently returned from a holiday on Biyadhoo after having read abouit it on trip advisor. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for excellent snorkelling and diving rather than luxury. It is a basic island but perfectly comfortable. The swimming couldn't be better. the food was very nice- not presented in a fancy way like in other islands- but very tasty and good choice. because it is small it is easy to meet people.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Just returned after a 2 week stay, booked with Kuoni flew with Sri Lankan. Biyadhoo is a lovely island, very natural with a dense, forested interior. There isn't a great deal of beach but what there is really nice. Soft white sand, warm shallow sea and plenty of shade from the palm trees when you want it. The sun loungers provided though are very hard and uncomfortable, cushions should be provided. Our room was adequate although it had no luxury about it at all. Basic is the only word that sums the room up, the beds are very hard and after a day on the sun loungers only add to the back problems! By far the worst aspect of the holiday however was the food. If you enjoy food and dining is part of the pleasure of your holiday then Biyadhoo is not for you. Starters consist of a choice of soup or a salad selection ( which was, always very nice). Main course consists of rice, curry, pasta, a meat choice, a fish dish and a vegetable selection. Sounds good? No! I was bored of it by the second day. Whilst it did vary slightly every day it was always the same basic selection. It was very clear the food was produced on a very tight budget, most of the meat was tough and inedible. The fish was ok but the same type everyday. Chicken was always on the bone. Dessert consists of a selection of cakes, moose and jelly decorated with over sweet artificial cream. Breakfast wasn't much better. One choice of cereal a day. The hot selection consisted of eggs, beans, fried potatoes and one meat choice (sausages or bacon, although we only had bacon once in two weeks and the sausages were either chicken or beef and were vile). So you could never have a FULL English! The restaurant is cramped, hot, lacking in any atmosphere and overall the evening meal was usually a 15 minute get in and out as quick as you can affair. There is no way anyone can describe dining on Biyadhoo as anything more than adequate. The bar however was lovely. Very relaxing, reasonable music, good drink choice and friendly attentive staff. Snorkelling is not bad compared to my previous Maldive experiences (Meeru and Kuramathi) and is one of the islands better aspects. Would I stay on Biyadhoo again? Only if the dining significantly improved!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

I visited Biyadhoo with my best friend on 17th January 2011, and this was our first ever visit to the Maldives. We decided to visit two separate islands and opted for 5 nights on Biyadhoo and then to move onto Kuramathi for a further 9 nights (see separate review). The arrivals process at Male airport was seamless, and our luggage arrived so quickly, and straight through passport control to the speedboat desk, and within 10 mins or so we were on the boat on the way to Biyadhoo. We arrived just in time for lunch, which they held for us.

We had researched the Maldives thoroughly before deciding on where to visit, and were swayed by the numerous reviews raving about the excellent house reef. Neither of us scuba dive, so a great reef to snorkel over was very important to us. We saw rays and sharks so close to the shore, and loads of beautiful fish. There are several passages out to the reef, all clearly marked with signs on the beach, and marker buoys in the sea

We knew the rooms had been described as 'tired' and 'in need of updating', so we were not too surprised by what we found. We stayed in room 82 on the west side of the island, which is a ground floor room on the end of the block, and was a lot bigger than some of the others. Yes, the paint needed re-doing, and the bathroom was in need of an overhaul, but the patio doors opened out into the shaded areas under the trees, and it was about 15 metres from the beautiful beach. The island is absolutely fabulous, as is the reef. The eastern side is more choppy, so we had a perfect location for us. There was also a quiet bit of beach to escape to and watch the world go by. We booked the all-inclusive option. The restaurant was let down by the poor lighting and air con, and I just prefer to eat outside and would love to see the restaurant be open sided. I did like the food, and every day there was a curry, always a veggie dish and either chicken or fish, with salads and great desserts. The bar in the evening was fun with live music and a good atmosphere.
On our first day there we had a body scrub in the spa, which was fantastic, and got us nice and relaxed for the rest of the holiday. It was very good value - about £35 each if I remember rightly

We went on the snorkelling trip that was included in our holiday with Kuoni, and were taken to two amazing reefs.

Nic the Kuoni rep was great - always around, and very friendly

Before we left the UK we emailed Lesley at Marks Travel, who had been to both islands that we were visiting and arranged our rooms for us. She chose perfectly on both islands - so a big thank you to Lesley

I loved Biyadhoo, and rumours are circulating that it is going to be renovated and upgraded to a 4* resort. I would definitely go back there in the future...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Just spent 10 days all inclusive at Biyadhoo Island Resort and had a fabulous relaxing time. We found all of the staff friendly and helpful, the food was varied enough for us, very well presented and always fresh. The room was basic but clean and tidy. The island was simple and unpretentious - just perfect for us and for all the people we spoke too. The Dive Ocean Team were excellent and my husband did seven dives with them which he said were fantastic. I used the spa which was simple but perfectly adequate. Kuoni rep Nic was always available and very friendly. Flights were with Sri Lankan and as we had Premium Economy seats we were very comfortable; have had far worse flights with Virgin and BA. We will definitely return to our island in the sun.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We did a Maldives twin centre in Feb'11 first week in Biyadhoo as we had read reviews about the amazing house reef & then onto Meeru for the 2nd week for a bit of luxury!

The house reef didnt dissapoint. Swimming round the house reef we saw 1-2 metre reef sharks, turtles, eagle rays, sting rays, lobsters, moray eels & alot of colourful fish which surround you.

The restaurant food keeps you alive, always something you can find to eat, it just gets a little repetitive after a 3 or 4 days - if there was an A La Carte restaurant on the island we would definately have gone a couple of times during the week even though we were Al Inclusive we would have paid the extra for a bit of a change. We had a lovely waiter in the restaurant 'Jobe' who was very friendly and always kept the drinks flowing!

The rooms are very basic and in desperate need of a refurb but as we spent the majority of our time on the beach, in the sea or at the bar, this was not really an issue for us.

It is a no frills island but has a lovely relaxing atmosphere, we were very sad to leave.

I would definately reccomend to anyone interested in snorkling / diving as I could not belive how good the marine life was on the house reef alone!!

TIPS:
- Take a torch if you want to go for a walk around the island at night.
- Take your own snacks / chocolate as they are not provided in the all inclusive and cost a fortune in the shop

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

This is was our 2nd trip to the island having gone last year, met some great friends there and went back with them this year.

The reasons - great diving, lovely setting, simple, affordable, lovely staff, easy reach of the airport.

Always amused to read the comments about the state of the rooms. Just do your research before you go. I wouldn't go there on honeymoon but surely if you are in the Maldives then you should be spending 15 hours a day outside your room. Blimey the amount of moaning is incredible and then to get yourself moved to another island.

Talking of moaning - flight out somewhat spolit by a mother with a baby kicking off at the airline staff (Sri Lankan airlines). Could not believe the language coming out of her. She carried on at Male airport for other reasons. I was embarrassed to be British. Felt for her poor husband who must have had a torrid holiday.

Love the island and we are planning on a 3rd trip next year but would consider other places if we can get the same sort of value, location and the diving is as good. I do like seeing other islands but the pull of going back to what you know and love, is great. Also been to Bandos and Kuredu and we prefer Biyadhoo (size and simplicity).

Thanks to Kuoni rep Nic Winstanley - really helped with our friends travel arrangements. Superb rep and couldn't do enough. Great sense of humour to boot.

Downsides - chicken sausages for breakfast. Oh dear. I jokingly asked our waiter about some bacon and next thing is they brought a plateful out just for me!! Very funny if a little embarrasing - thanks Mani. Bacon was served to the guests the next day but that was it over the 10 days. Bit of a shame. Could be religion related but they did serve other pork dishes at times.

Dive set up - altogether very good. Sometimes we felt a bit of a hard sell to get on the boat trips but not annoying. Thanks to all the team there. Mainly Italian spoken and we did feel like the token Brits at times but we made friends with the italians and joined in the banter as best we could. Highlight dives - Kuda Giri wreck with Marco. Kandooma corner with the shark cleaning station excellent. Not been that close to a good sized shark before.

Trial dive was a bit of a waste of time for the non-divers - 10 min "snorkel" with tanks on your back. I would have thought they could take the guests underwater a few feet at least. Just looked like the dive staff going through the motions to get people signed up to a course. Suggest a bit more effort and you may get more take up.

Great bar staff but take umbrage if you send your cocktail back - pride can be hurt!!

Highly recommend the beach BBQ - $20 per head but makes a change from the standard buffet fayre. All nicely cooked on the beach, lovely setting. Just do it and you won't regret it especially if you can get together with some friends. One of the highlights.

In summary - a great place and a lovely holiday had by us all. Do your research, come if you like the value and simplicity of the place. Don't come if you like to moan and take yourself too seriously. Lovely place to relax and unwind and have a laugh.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biyadhoo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biyadhoo Island Resort

Address: Post Box No. 20153
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Biyaadhoo Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biyaadhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Biyadhoo Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Biyadhoo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biyadhoo Island Hotel South Male Atoll
Biyadoo Island Hotel
Hotel Biyadoo Island
Biyadoo Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biyadhoo Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.