We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely retreat for couples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adaaran Prestige Water Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Adaaran Prestige Water Villas to your Saves list
Adaaran Prestige Water Villas
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   Meedhupparu Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A lovely retreat for couples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for seven nights for our one year wedding anniversary and it was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays we have had. The island is divided in to halves, this half of the island is more secluded, reserved for the water villa customers only. We highly recommend the water villas for couples and honeymooners.

The room and toilet are both clean and spacious, we love the private hot tub and the sun bed outside. You can go straight into the sea for snorkelling from your own balcony. The beach is very nice with light coloured sand, the villas look amazing during sunset.

We got the all inclusive package, the restaurant is great. Head chef creates a different menu each day for lunch and dinner with different choices for each course. There is a very good list of cocktails to choose from, our favourite was the Mojito. Wine list could be a bit more extensive, but we just stuck to the Australian red and white, they were decent.

You can request to try the buffet lunch / dinner on the other side of the island, but it was not comparable to the restaurant on the water villa side and there is no air conditioning in the buffet restaurant, felt too hot for lunch.

Staff are very friendly and attentive, we enjoyed talking to them and their services are always up to the highest standards.

The reef is probably not as good as some of the other islands, you won't see abundance of colourful fish like the red sea, but we still saw dolphins, baby sharks, sting rays, turtles, squids around there. Can't complain :). We also did two days of diving with the local dive centre, on our first dive, we saw seven manta rays circling in a group close up in front of us!! An amazing experience.

We also got a free couple massage, dinner on the beach, and an evening fishing activity for free with our package.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    26
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
173
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Amazing.....totally amazing.......uber amazing!
I suppose there are thousands of places that would be perfect for a honeymoon but none of them could have been as perfect as the Prestige Water Villas.
We were met off the sea plane by the hotel resort manager who put us in our own personal golf buggy that swept us away to our villa (the people staying in the 'Select' part of the island had to find there own way to reception). We were met at our villa by our personal butler who showed us in, opened sparkling wine to refresh us and went away to fill all our paperwork in for us while we sat outside on our veranda and drank in the most beautiful vistas imaginable.
From that moment and for the next 8 days everything was 5 star+ all the way. Every waiter, barman, cleaner etc were incredibly friendly and could not do enough for us. The restaurant served top quality food with lots of different choices everyday. We did not venture over the other side of the island so I cannot comment on the standard of food over there - our food was just too good to miss out on.
The villa was lovely with lots of room and great facilities. A well stocked fridge which you could ask them to tailor it to your preferences. The bathroom was spacious and well stocked with towels, shower wash, shampoo etc. The villa was cleaned twice a day everyday. They would restock all towels and leave the place spotless while you were away at breakfast then again while you were having your evening meal. The only negative was the bed which was really hard and a little uncomfortable. We could also have been given another couple of pillow free of charge.
The oceans are amazing with snorkeling equipment supplied - and used everyday - which is obviously brought to your room by your butler. The views from every water villa are amazing but we were in 817 which had the sun on the deck all day and we were able to watch the sunset from the hot tub....BLISS!
All in all I could not rate this resort high enough as the perfect honeymoon destination or couples destination, it was awesome!

Room Tip: 817 has sun all day and you can see the sunset (late in the 800's better)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSalgado, Manager at Adaaran Prestige Water Villas, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we hope see you again at Prestige Water Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have just returned from a week long honeymoon at Prestige Water villas and it was amazing. The location is excellent. We were lucky and we only had to wait for an hour for our seaplane journey to the resort and it was fantastic looking at the atolls as we flew over. We were collected by golf buggy and taken to the water villa area and presented with cold towel and welcome drink. We had lunch while waiting for our villa.
We had 804 which was pretty good. It was near the restaurant, but you couldn't see our deck from there, so it was still private and it was far away from the noise of the bar from the main resort. We had the sun in the morning and shade in the afternoon, which suited us fine.
We enjoyed the all inclusive aspect and having researched lots of other resorts, I think the fact that it gives you branded spirits, juice and a free mini bar is pretty impressive. You don't have wine in the mini bar, but it's not too far to the bar to get one if you want. Other resorts make you pay for the mini bar.
We liked the food, but not as much as other reviewers, and this aspect almost made me give 4 star review rather than 5, but I couldn't do it in the end! I think that the chefs do really well with the ingredients they have, and they re-use a lot which is fine. Breakfast was a great choice. The fish was always a good choice at lunch and dinner as it was local. I had some really strange meals though, which were not as described on the menu. I had an awful deep fried chicken legs in a sauce which made it soggy, and they re-used a Schezuan style sauce for 4 meals over 2 days and each time it was described differently but it was the same sauce! Lunch salad was usually the same as the salad the night before, and desert was usually the same pastry with a lemon sauce. We also had the same string cut veg in butter every day even though it was described differently. HOWEVER, most of the food was good, and they really do well with what they have. It was great not to have a buffet and they give a good choice of chicken/fish/beef etc.
We thought it would be really good to have a BBQ option one night to liven it up a little. Our other comment with the restaurant was the awful pan pipe music all the time. Something a little more uptempo or modern would have been good.
The waiters in the restaurant were fantastic though. They served so well, and were so helpful and friendly - as well as the bar staff. The friendliness of all the staff really made the holiday, including Ali our butler. We didn't use him much as we are not those kind of travellers, but we would have done anything if we had asked.
The snorkelling was excellent, just off the decking of our villa. The currents were quite strong, but we are confident swimmers. My husband also went diving and enjoyed it. We had a massage that was included, and also went for the trip to the local island, which we really enjoyed. I always think it is important to see the other side of a holiday place. We didn't go night fishing which we could have also done.
We enjoyed walking around the whole island, and had 2 drinks in the main bar and pool bar of the other resort which was also included which was nice for a change.
On the way back, we were put on the seaplane at 715 which meant luggage had to be ready at 6am. Our flight wasn't until 3.30 that afternoon so we had to wait 2 hours in Male, then got taken to another Adaaran resort for lunch by speedboat which was nice.
All in all, we thought it was a fantastic resort, amazing location, accommodation was comfortable, all inclusive was great, staff were professional and very polite and friendly. We wouldn't go back, but mainly because it would be great to try somewhere else. However, PVW has set the bar very high and I worry we will be disappointed if we go elsewhere in future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSalgado, Resident Manager at Adaaran Prestige Water Villas, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I would like to inform that we took your comments regarding the food very positively and I would like to inform that by the end of this month we are going to have a new menus in place.

We hope see you again at Meedhupparu and enjoy our new menus.

Regards

David Salgado
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from the most amazing holiday to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. I cannot find enough superlatives for the accommodation, courteous and attentive staff, exceptional food (special praise to the kitchen and restaurant staff) and most of all the island itself. The snorkelling is fabulous, the spa is a must visit place and the attention to detail paid to everything at the water villas is second to none. Thank you to Ali our butler who was always there if we needed him. We will be back !!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a central room (809) which caught sun all day long but was away from the restaurant and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSalgado, Manager at Adaaran Prestige Water Villas, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we would like to see you again with us at Meedhupparu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Adaraan Villas two weeks ago and it was pure bliss!! The whole experience was wonderful, the setting of the villas, the superb service by everyone at the resort with a special mention to the chef ( I am sorry we have forgotten his name!). The food equalled five star restaurants in London, on some occasions left them standing with superb presentation and taste! The villas themselves were out of this world, offering total privacy and yet wonderful unobtrusive service. Our personal butler was always on hand should we need any extra info or anything for the villa, nothing was too much trouble - a perfect mix of attentive service but allowing us to chill also! The whole experience was one we will never forget - sheer paradise! We will be definitely returning in November 2014 and are counting the days. We were not going to post a review owing to the fact that we dont want our 'taste of paradise' to become so popular it becomes spoilt, and overbooked! What prompted us was a previously posted adverse review as we happened to be at the restaurant when your reviewer was berating both the waiter, Mohammed and the resort manager over what were petty surmountable problems. We have to say it is the only time we were embarrased to be British! After the couple left the restaurant they did not see the distress theyhad caused to Mohammed, who in our experience offered wonderful efficient gentle service, we just hope this scene did not reflect badly on him personally.

The whole holiday was absolute sheer bliss, our thanks for everyone who made it so!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSalgado, Manager at Adaaran Prestige Water Villas, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We are very glad to know that you really enjoy your stay with us and we hope see you again on November ’14, please send us an email (rm.mir@adaaran.com.mv) before to come and we will look after you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We upgraded for one night when on holiday at Meedhupparu to the prestige water villas and can honestly say i wouldnt want to spend more than one night there. It is basically a few water villas stuck on the end of a 3.5 star resort and they try and sell it as a stand alone 5 star resort, you feel like your in a slight enclosure with fences either side of the villas. The lights under the glass in the decking didnt work when we arrived and the shower overflowed despite the managers claim that 5 seperate people check the room before guests arrive. On the upside the food is fantastic as is the whole dining experience but there are much nicer water villa resorts in the Maldives so personally i wouldnt chose this one,,,,,,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSalgado, Resident Manager at Adaaran Prestige Water Villas, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
I would like to apologize again for the problems that you got at our resort, I apologized in person same night to you. I would like to explain all the issue.

Firstly it is true that the room is inspected by many people before guest arrival but do you need to understand that a lamp can be fuse at any time. Went you called to reception for complaint regarding the fused light you were inside the room already more than 5 hours and my engineering team was there in less than 15 minutes and they jump in to the water to fix your light, this is means before 30 min the issue was rectify and the shower overflowed was inform in the same time and was rectified in less than 30 min, honestly I think it is a very reasonable waiting time.

Again I would like to apologize for the inconvenience and you been compensate very nicely for the issue, you were look after very well from our side and you manifest personally to myself your happiness for the compensation.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was very apprehensive about this holiday. The year before we took our 2 boys to a 4 star resort in Mexico - their last one with us. It got a good report in the travel magazines and even from a friend who is a travel rep but we were totally disappointed. So I did a lot more research when booking this trip for my wife's "special" birthday.

When our seaplane landed at the island and we were ushered onto a waiting buggy to take us to our dedicated reception, we were made to feel very special. On seeing the alcove of water villas against the beautiful backdrop I gave a huge sigh - both of relief and of happiness. It was exactly as I had hoped. At this point my wife began to cry (with happiness!)

The bungalows are very comfortable with huge bathrooms and a lovely decking area with bed and jacuzzi. Just for the record, they are "semi detached" though so you have very close neighbours - but we were not distrubed once!. Your back garden is the Indian Ocean, beautiful at any time of day. Try relaxing on the decking or in your jacuzzi with a nice drink or 2 with your loved one while watching the sun go down - bliss.

We were well looked after by our wee butler (Adam) who looked after us all holiday but at the same time knew when to leave us alone. We had overslept the first night we arrived and had missed the restaurant. Adam arranged for it to stay open and, while we ate at the 5 star dedicated restaurant, they were unpacking our clothes for us. Brilliant service.

The food in the restaurant was absolutely beautiful - every day and every meal. We are not the Egon Ronay / Michelin Star type but found the service and standard of the meal 5 star every time. Staff were also down to earth which helped a lot - don't like stuffy atmospheres - so we were able to relax and have a laugh with them. The chef even came out to us to make sure we were enjoying our food.

We also had our first go at snorkelling while over there. Maybe not very adventurous to some, but for 2 people with claustrophobia it was a huge achievement. We were "encouraged" to swim over to "the drop" by one of our neighbours. While trying not to panic and flap around like a distressed walrus, we suddenly came across this electric blue drop with lines of multi-coloured fish - all different types - all neatly in their columns. Breath-taking.

Walking across to the restaurant for breakfast, the views still took my breath away each morning. We would then wander over to the inifinty pool and for most of the holiday we were the only 2 people in it. Popped back to the restuarant again for lunch / wine before going back to our "back garden" for some snorkelling. Then maybe a walk around the island and dropping in for a cold beer or two before heading back for the evening. There was entertainment on the main part of the island each evening but we enjoyed just chatting with the people / waiters at the restaurant and having a laugh.

Just for the record, my wife cried when we left - this time they were tears of sadness.

WE have since been on another "big birthday" holiday at Cuba offering 5 star butler service. But we both agree, nothing will ever match this holiday - a little bit of heaven.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSalgado, Resident Manager at Adaaran Prestige Water Villas, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I would like to thank you to share your experience with us, we are very glad to know that you got an unforgettable holiday with us. Honestly I do not know what to add, I guess that I just can say, I hope to see you again… and do not forget to send an email to myself (rm.mir@adaaran.com.mv) prior your arrival I will make sure that everything will be perfect again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adaaran Prestige Water Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adaaran Prestige Water Villas

Address: Meedhupparu Island
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Raa Atoll > Meedhupparu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Meedhupparu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Adaaran Prestige Water Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Adaaran Prestige Water Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adaaran Prestige Water Villas Hotel Raa Atoll
Water Villas Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adaaran Prestige Water Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.