We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base

Save Saved
You added Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base
P.O. Box 991, Tranquility Island, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
South Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pure Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at Tranquillity Resort in Oct and found the place to be exactly what we were looking for. We were there with the previous review family written by Joanne O and I can only ditto what Jo wrote. The managers Andy and Carol made us feel so welcome and it was hard to believe that they had only just taken over the management a few weeks before. We felt as though we were part of a large family, and we could do as much or as little as we liked.
The meals were excellent and so was the company. Mr Stan ( as the locals called him) was a returning guest many times over, but I suspect more or less a part of the Island family, explained a few things about how things worked and seemed to be the local handyman along with Andy who seemed to be able to fix anything. The snorkelling was also great and there was a never ending stream of different fish and coral to see.
The Fares were discreetly placed along the coast line with plenty of privacy. The generator usually went on in the afternoon and early morning so there was plenty of time to charge batteries for phones etc. The dive courses looked very professional and Carol and Andy took their job seriously. This was the most basic place we stayed in at Vanuatu, but I would have to say it was also the best. We would definitely return at the next opportunity.

Room Tip: The beachfront fares are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen D, Owner at Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
As mentioned for the guests who stayed there just before you, if you fit into Tranquillity's back to nature plus theme it can be as much or as little as you want. The person you spoke of who had been many times before has been there five times during the last twelve months or so. Pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    20
    2
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
37
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We've just got home from 7 days on Tranquillity Island Resort, and we loved it. I'd love to go back! A beautiful spot. Gorgeous clear water and a private, quiet, laid back style. We went as a family with two teen children, and decided to do the scuba dive course while there... a wonderful decision. It opened up a completely new world and was a lot of fun. The best parts of the island, for us included.... (points here are in no particular order)
* The location - fares set on the beach front, but private from others with trees and 20-30m between each fare
* It's natural and hidden. The fares and resort are almost totally hidden from view until you are quite close approaching the island from the water.
* The scuba diving - Carol and Andy took us through the PADI open water diver certificate. They have both been diving for many years (20+?), and so we always felt like we were in the best hands. They made the learning fun and easy. Thanks so much. It was a great family thing to do, and we had a lot of laughter plus seeing the amazing coral, fishes, and even a couple of turtles. And we know there are lots more dive sites that we didn't get time to explore too.
* Carol and Andy - the Managers. I can't speak highly enough of this couple. They are wonderful. Although they only came to the Island 3 weeks ago, you'd never know - they seem to know pretty much everything! They are relaxed, fun, and extremely capable with a lot of eco and resort managing and dive experience, plus hands on practical skills (Andy can fix anything).
* The other guests - we all (probably 10-12 people at max while we were there) ate together at the 'beach house' around a long wooden table, which was a lot of fun and it was great getting to know some wonderful other like minded guests who were great company. But then, we also had our own private fares and the things we wanted to do during the days.
* The Turtle Sanctuary - a wonderful and humbling endeavour... very sad to see these amazing and beautiful creatures so threatened. We take our hats off to the wonderful work they are doing on the island, and we tried to do our little bit in sponsoring one of the turtles ready for release back to the ocean (aka squirtle). Thanks.
*The fare views... loved the privacy and views. But note that it is very simple accommodation. It is an eco resort. So if you need a few luxuries, then this may not be the right resort for you. It was right for us, especially in getting the kids to experience a basic and eco approach.
* The eco approach - really appreciate the approach to building and running the resort in a way to minimise impact and support a natural environment. It was a relief to be away from the thoughtless and commercial focus of typical resorts.
* Lots of activity options - we were busy scuba diving. But there were plenty of other choices... exploring the island, walking to other beaches, taking Tanna (the resort guide dog) walking with you - so he would guide you home; a sailing trip on the ketch, kayaking, taking an overnight camp out on an isolated beach, snorkling, reading... or just chilling.

If you do decide to go, make sure you take a few essentials like torches (a head torch was great), coral slippers/shoes for walking on parts of beach/shallows, sunblock, insect repel (not that there were hardly any mossies), and a good book. It is basic and simple - which is exactly what we wanted. But if you are someone who needs a few more luxuries and comforts then it may not be the place for you.

Thanks Carol and Andy for making it such a wonderful trip. The kids both said when we left, this is one of the best holidays we've ever had. And Terry and I agree. Thanks!

Jo & Terry.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen D, Owner at Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Been a while since you were with us but great to hear from you that Tranquillity was just perfect for what you wanted. This is what we try to do and make a stay with us a "toes in the Sand experience" you covered most of that we have to offer. Glad your all enjoyed your stay. All for like minded people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week in July. While the service is great ... Very good people dealing with booking and the Dive Masters and staff in the restaurant were great. I have to say that the accommodation is very basic .... and lots of little problems that needed attention. The whole place needs a major injection of cash. Everything appeared to be run on a shoe string budget. I thought more respect could have been shown to the staff (in the way of accom and conditions)
The island itself is lovely ... particularly Fred's Beach. The local people were also very welcoming .... more so than in other parts of Vanuatu.
While the diving is easy ... don't expect to see much. Long line fishing in Vanuatu has decimated the fish life. We are keen divers but because there wasn't much to see... and the boat rides to sites took soooo long. (the boat was only able to travel slowly .. I guess to save money on fuel) we gave up on diving after a couple of days.
So .. visit .. but .. be aware ..don't be thinking five star diving or accom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I (reasonably elderly divers) visited Tranquillity for the fourth time in four years. What we loved on our first visit is still there - the diving is very high standard, the small numbers mean that you interact with and get to know know all the staff who are uniformly friendly, the accommodation is basic but the sea is literally at your front door. Peter and Nadine took over the management of the resort in February. They are well travelled, great hosts and knowledgeable divers and, with stereotypical German efficiency, have put a lot of effort into making the resort more efficient but without compromising the unpretentious style which makes it so attractive.

So, if you're looking for great diving in warm waters and great company, and you don't expect marble bathrooms and gold taps, it's a little jewel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are waterfront and only a few metres from the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

After renting a car and amusing ourselves on Efate for a couple days, we were picked up in Port Vila and brought out for 3 days on Tranquility (Moso) Island. Holy cow, wish we'd spent our whole holiday here! It's beautiful and the service is outstanding. It's basic, but as long as you know what you're getting into, it's perfect. The fares (beach houses) are each separated by some forest, so you have your own secluded area of beach and it feels like you're alone in the forest. Each one also comes with an outbuilding that houses a toilet and shower, that even has hot water. The bed is extremely comfy, and with the mosquito netting feels like a bed for a princess. You can snorkel right off the beach in front of your fare, or if it's bad weather there, just take a hike to the opposite side of the island, where it's bound to be smooth swimming. They made us a packed lunch to take with us, and Tanna, the resort dog, was our guide. He lay in the sand for hours while we snorkeled and tried our hand at paddling an outrigger canoe we found there. About the time we thought we'd better head back because we hadn't brought torches, Tanna got up and trotted back up the path toward home. We thought he'd ditched us, but no, moments later he reappeared, he just wanted to let us know that it was time to head back. Quite the dog.

The food is excellent, absolutely amazing what they whip up in an open kitchen made of rocks and roofed with palm fronds. Also makes for a gorgeous place to eat. Three meals a day (including three course dinners!), served up at predetermined times. You can let them know if you have any dislikes, but otherwise it's very relaxing not to have to decide when to eat or what to order. Just show up at meal times.

They have a small stash of books to read and swap, but it's hard to get bored here. Exploring in and out of the water is tonnes of fun, and you can spend hours watching the hawksbill turtles in the hatchery. At night we lay in the clearing made for helicopters enjoying the clear view of the milky way, then used torches to go on night safaris to find enormous coconut crabs that come up from the beach at night. We had so much fun, I imagine this would also be an excellent place to bring kids. Bring a few headlamps, some card games, and some snacks for in-between meal times, and you could stay here for weeks.

Oh, and I hear the diving is good too ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Three nights was not enough. If you are lethargic and enjoy attentive service, look elsewhere; but if you enjoy walking, snorkelling/diving, and discovery, try this. Island Fares are basic but comfortable and right on the beach. Food is sufficent and of reasonable quality but bring a few snacks and wine, which is welcomed. Very basic wine at 4000 vatu a bottle and Tusker beer is available. The current Managers, a pleasant German couple have done a good job of increasing tidiness, cleanliness and operational efficiencies but don't expect a resort experience. Go on the Fred's Beach walk and take your snorkelling gear.
Great snorkelling in front of fares and further down the beach. Turtles, both Green and Hawksbill just opposite Rookery on the edge of the dropoff. I saw seven,three ato the same time on just one snorkel. The cost is high for the accomodation but is worth it for the experience.
We have snorkelled all over the Pacific and this I would rate up near the top for coral, fish diversity and visibility. Very few large fish sighted though and unfortunately no sharks.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Vanuatu Holiday.
Last February my family and I stayed at Tranquility Island Dive resort. My son and daughter had just got their dive ticket and my wife and I hadn’t dived for years. We were attracted by the pictures of simple living, great diving and picturesque scenery.
We were lucky enough to be met on the island by the owner Owen (and semi permanent resident Stan), who was in between managers at the time. Owen and Stan immediately made us feel welcome, showed us around and got us excited for the diving the next day.
The accommodation on Tranquility is fairly basic but very comfortable, the food tasty and plentiful. The staff are relaxed, friendly and very helpful. Nothing was a problem for Owen or his team.
Before our first dive, Owen had organised an instructor, Thomas, to refresh our diving skills in the lovely clear calm water in front of the resort which, we found out later was a great dive site in its own right!
The diving itself was absolutely beautiful with soft and hard coral colours the brightness of which I had never seen and abundant fish life.
Every dive was professionally organised, briefed and lead by Divemaster Tommy, with the “Island Diver’ the perfect platform for comfortable and safe diving.
We went to a different site each day, sometimes staying on the boat for lunch between dives. Every site has something different to offer combined with the obligatory tropical visibility.
We all had a wonderful time on Tranquility, but for me, the best thing was sitting around the table at night with Owen and Stan telling both old and new dive stories. In these times where our lives are governed by screens of all shapes and sizes, this simple act of communicating our love of diving was a real joy.
A walk over to Fred’s beach is also a must. The turtle sanctuary is fascinating and both my son and daughter felt so privileged to release one of the turtles back into the wild. What a thrill!

Don’t expect a 5 star resort at Tranquility with acres of chlorinated pools holding crowds of tourists. It’s comfortable, quiet and SO relaxing and that’s what makes it so special.
I would heartily recommend this beautiful place.
Thanks you Owen, Stan, Tommy and Thomas!
The Hay family

Room Tip: Fare 5 was a nice walking distance from the dining hut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen D, Owner at Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Can imagine that you have been busy. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed our stories, we also enjoyed your company and the fact that your family acted as a team to make the stay memorable for everyone. As you know, I don't get a chance to stay on the island much. The story about the 4,500 year old Lapita people and the GT's by the campfire at fare' seven I can still recall. Your pics look great, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base

Address: P.O. Box 991, Tranquility Island, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Tranquility Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tranquility Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquillity Island Resort And Dive Base
Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base Hotel Port Vila
Tranquillity Island Hotel Dive Base

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.