We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Promenade Park

Promenade Park
Maldon, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 attractions in Maldon
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well maintained area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Have visited a few times, ideal for a walk or cycling, plenty of families seemed to have small kids too - there are toilets and ice cream faciities, good pubs nearer the Heybridge(?) end along with the barges and other vessels. It was well kept and clean.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    51
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A day isn't long enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Maldon is a brilliant place to visit and depending on where you live, it is quite easy to get to and to park. Whatever the weather, I have always enjoyed the natural beauty of the estuary, even when the tide is out. A good walk along the Promenade blows the cobwebs away and there are good little cafes to have a hot or cold drink, depending on the weather.
I have taken home guests here for a day out, and I also take my doge there for a bracing walk. The most frequent visits I have made however have been with School groups. The Promenade park and related areas is ideal for energetic and motivated children to learn about history - the Brihtnoth statue at the end of the prom is brilliant and links well to history lessons about the Vikings; the pirate ship has many attractions and the sand lends itself to sandcastle competitions; a walk along to the Church links all kinds of earning; then of course there is crabbing, sketching boats and scenery, picnics, climbing on the play area and so much more. We never have enough time to do everything we plan when we take our classes there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice for an afternoon walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Its lovely for an afternoon walk, It could do with a couple more cafes as the ones that are there get very busy, as do the car parks in peak season. We had to park in the highstreet in the end, but this isnt a problem as its just a short 10-15 minute walk

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
“BEST IN ESSEX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

There is a very nice walk along the river, although the tide was out it was lovely to see the huge boats with sails and barges

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Water fun all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The kids loved the splash pool and the water spray thing that squirts out one or two of a number of jets in the floor at randowm, plus a little fun fair and standard climby slidey swingy stuff, and all free!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Promenade Park also viewed

 

Been to Promenade Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Promenade Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Promenade Park to your Saves list