We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell

The Bell
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maldon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bell
Save
You added The Bell to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   2 Silver Street, Maldon CM9 4QE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Maldon B&B and Inns
Seascale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mid week break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Recomended by the woman at the tourist information office and it was everything she said it would be. Sat Nav got us there from the postcode, after turning around in the vicarage car park we gave Liz a ring who promptly opened the huge garden gates and we were in. We had gone the extra and had room five. Lovely large bed with plenty of room to spread out. Liz was very friendly and helpful with advise on were to eat and made us both very welocme. Hard to do justice to the excellent breakfast after having a superb Indian but I still managed three of the local sausages !
The morning we just wonderd around the town and quay before carrying on our journey fully refreshed.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the bridal room, being very large with views to the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbethbazzard, Owner at The Bell, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Happy Christmas. What a wonderful and fun year it has been. Thanks to all my interesting and lovely guests.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed one night at this excellent B & B at the end of August 2012. I highly recommend it. Liz, the owner, could not have been more hospitable and is delightful. I stayed in the large bedroom with bathroom en suite, which was beautiful, spotless, with views over Silver Street and the garden.I loved the top quality sheets on the very comfortable bed .Breakfast was a treat: freshly squeezed orange juice and I chose poached egg (soft just as I wanted) and bacon with toast and delicious home made marmalade. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Needed to be in Witham early the next morning and Maldon is close by. Liz was very helpful with information, very friendly. Breakfast in the trompe d['oeil dining room was excellent. The house is like a tardis and packed full of interesting things. Bedroom Four was cosy and contained everything you could need. As you would expect with a house this old, the floorboards creaked like mad and the church bells next door could distract you, but I slept like a log. Lovely place and very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have now stayed at "The Bell" twice, and on both occasions have had a very comfortable and relaxing experience. Lis is a fantastic hostess who made me feel very welcome from the off. The award winning Breakfast is a must, and the house itself is beautiful, charming, and characterful. Would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at The Bell for one night in July 2012. From booking the room, upgrading us because a cancellation came up, at no extra cost, to being so welcoming but unobtrusive, Liz, the owner was the perfect host. Charming and warm and the room was perfect. The Bell is well located for the harbour, good eating places, very central. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windlesham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed one night here in July after watching county cricket in Chelmsford. I had not booked but rang the bell and Liz, the owner, was extremely welcoming and friendly. I didn't have an ensuite room but the bathroom was below the bedroom down some steps. The breakfast room is on the lower ground floor and the breakfast was one of the best I have had in a Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful house, in a stunning village.
Never felt so relaxed. Stayed in Room 5 for a week. Breakfast is 10/10!
Lis is a delightful host and so accommodating. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell

Address: 2 Silver Street, Maldon CM9 4QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Maldon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Maldon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell is in the centre of the historic town of Maldon, dating from the 15th Century, it has many interesting features. This delightful home is open as a family run guest house.The owner has private accommodation in part of the house and is available to ensure the guests receive a warm welcome and a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We serve breakfast using homemade and local products and for other meals, Maldon has many good and reasonable restaurants, pubs and take away food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bell Maldon, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.