We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will go again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside Holiday Park - Park Resorts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maldon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterside Holiday Park - Park Resorts
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Main Road | St Lawrence Bay, Southminster, Maldon CM0 7LY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Peterborough
1 review
“will go again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went with an OAP, two adults and two small children aged five and two.
Felt really safe, the caravan was equipt with everthing, even washing up liquid.
The staff where very friendly , the young childrens club was appaling, supposed to be up to age six but just a box of tambourines. However, an hour later the entertainment did get better.

Food good and staff in the shop/cafe go out of their way.

Fantastic things during the week, a circus, an openair cinema, fun inflatables, the children had a fantastic time.

Swimming pool not great, needs updating and have to book 24 hour in advance which led to unhappy kids if fully booked.

No beach, the crabbing bit is deep not safe for the littleones.

Really good over all and very happy we went and will go next year for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
Feedback it is always good to receive as it helps as to evaluate and improve. It's fantastic to read that you will return to the park, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Waterside 01621 779 248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    66
    31
    13
    10
See reviews for
123
30
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

we love the site clean tidy, plenty to do dogs as well love the sea walk and the dog area, my grandson enjoys the walks and being able, to go walking by the sea and also enjoys, the swimming pool, we all kove the site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm glad to hear the whole family enjoyed your stay.
Waterside 01621 779 248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

the welcome at reception was really friendly and helpful. We arrived a lot earlier than we should have done but they really didn't mind. The caravan was lovely and clean and beds made up ready for us. Would go back again. Swimming Pool very small but that was good as you booked a slot and you more or less had the pool to yourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am extremely pleased to know you would come back so we all hope to see you soon.
Waterside 01621 779 248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked to stay at Waterside for 3 nights (29 August - 1 September 2013. Campsite is easy to get to from Basildon (only about 50 mins) so was ideal for trying out camping for the first time. I have to say though that three nights was long enough. The campsite itself is great apart from the pitch being a bit uneven. Having been to a few other Park Resorts sites in Walton and Kessingland it is small in comparison. Club house isn't that big but plenty of things for the kids to do with daytime entertainment with the teamstars and a play area for the kids as well as amusements etc. The shop sold the necessities but not a lot of choice and if you wanted any alcohol could only be bought in the club (extortinate prices) or about a 10 min walk to a little shop down the road. The washing up facilities are minimal with only three sinks that are situated in the launderette near the club house/kids play park. The shower and toilet facilities do need updating and were never really that clean. I went in to the shower cubicle straight after it had been cleaned and there was still dirt on the floor and even an old manky plaster. To just have a wash down you still have to use the shower unless you are prepared to let all and sundry see you in your birthday suit as the sinks are not in cubicles. The toilets are also not very clean and unless you are a stick insect not a lot of room in them either. All in all though the staff are very friendly and the campsite itself is fine for just a weekend visit but no longer.

Room Tip: Only stay here for a weekend if camping. If you have a caravan might be better as you won't need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
I wish you had reported your issues to reception as we take the comfort of our guests seriously and we would of done everything in our power to correct it.
We do hope to welcome you again soon.

Waterside *330 01621 779 248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vange, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had a fantastic week away with my kids, the staff was great site was clean, and I felt save letting my little boy ride his bike around the site.
My kids loved the crabbing pond, Geoff Levi and DJ well what can I say about them, well always made sure you and the kids were having a good time. cant wait to go again next August x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review Trip Advisor.
It's fantastic that you enjoyed your holiday at Waterside. I will pass on your comments to the entertainment team. We look forward to seeing you back in August 2014.
Waterside 01621 779 248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from our 2nd two night visit this summer.
The park is lovely, well set out, with gorgeous views over the river black water. Having a two year old girl we found the play park to be of great use, but like another review says the entertainment at 6 was rubbish, drums and tambourines!!!!!! Friendly staff, nice enough pool with slide and sauna.
The shop didn't open until 9 o'clock which was a pain.
The downside on our second visit was the noisy neighbours we had swearing and shouting until 1:30 in the morning which put a real damper on what was a great weekend. Oh and we noticed this time that the pitches are shockingly cut up, uneven and grass less .
We will return but not this year as off to suffolk next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay, however I am disappointed to learn you had noisy neighbours and that it put a dampener on your weekend. Should this ever happen again please call our security team as they would have sorted the noise issue out for you. We do hope to see you again.
Waterside 01621 779 248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The park staff were extremely helpful & very polite. Park was sign posted and in the evening was lit well. A security guard drove round periodically which made you feel safe. However I am glad I only stayed here for two nights as the toilets and shower blocks were discusting. Hairs and other muck blocking the drains, generally dirty & unclean. Showers hanging off the walls! The bins around the park were constantly over flowing which meant there were plenty of wasps irritating us! Friends & Family made this holiday enjoyable and I would go back if they made a few changes!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback I am sorry you felt this way. We just wished you had called into reception with your concerns as we make every effort to resolve any issues for our customer while on park . It is great that you would come back.

Waterside
01621 779 248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterside Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Main Road | St Lawrence Bay, Southminster, Maldon CM0 7LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Maldon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty lodging in Maldon
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside Holiday Park - Park Resorts 3*
Also Known As:
Waterside Holiday Park - Park Hotel Maldon
Waterside Holiday Park - Park Resorts Maldon, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside Holiday Park - Park Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Waterside Holiday Park - Park Resorts to your Saves list