We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Limes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Limes to your Saves list
The Limes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Market Hill, Maldon CM9 4PZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maldon
Letchworth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My 14 year old daughter and I stayed here last night just for the one night. We were very impressed by the room. It was tastefully decorated, immaculate and was spacious too. I wish we had been staying longer. The breakfast was a full English and was excellent - big full plate of hot quality food. The location is good, we walked into the town and also down to the promenade to go crabbing. There seem to be many eateries which would be family friendly. Wold definately stay again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
38
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, UK
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here whilst going to the the V Festival as it was a handy 20 mins from Chelmsford. When we arrived our room was ready but they were happy enough to look after our bags and pop them into our room once it was ready - lovely service.

Had a great time at V and arrived back to find a lovely room, beautifully decorated, gorgeous shower (just what you need after a hot day at a festival!) and plenty of tea/coffee bits and bobs in our room. We watched some tv and then settled down to sleep. It was a really hot weekend and sleeping was going to be uncomfortable - so we opened the windows (a little scared as we were on the ground floor!). This let some breeze into the room. We weren't however prepared for the 5am nosiy driver leaving the car park! But I guess it can't be helped.

The breakfast was lovely, the staff were welcoming and the decor and conservatory were really nice. We enjoyed everything we had.

Our only little grumble was that the couple in the room next to us had a dog - which yapped and yelped from about half 7 in the morning, presumably when its owners had gone for their breakfast. We were up, so it wasn't keeping us from sleeping - but it was so irritating and spoilt the atmosphere of the place a little. Perhaps having dogs in a room next to people without dogs is a bit unfair.

But this didn't spoil our stay. We liked the Limes and Maldon seemed liked a lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I took my wife to The Limes for a special birthday, and we were both delighted,the welcome was warm and friendly. We stayed in the lilac room and although I am normally a poor sleeper for first few days away had no problem sleeping in a very comfortable bed. The staff are very friendly and helpful,nothing too much trouble,if you are celebrating something special then go for the romantic break, I did and my wife was delighted

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERKSHIRE
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

stayed in the annex. Room extremely clean and well decorated. The road was noisy all night and the green emergency light shone brightly in the night (take eye mask). Bed on the small side and the room just about large enough. Received a warm welcome and breakfast was tasty and served quickly (young girl serving never managed a smile to anyone all the 2 night stay). Very central and lots of parking space. Bathroom was large, bright and wonderful fluffy white towels, shower was perfect but bit pricey for b & B

Room Tip: ask for room off the road, if possible, as the traffic is noisy up the hill all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The bedroom was clean give them that.

Breakfast was disgusting!

The staff just walked by us without looking up! Very Rude.

We had to wait for a table to be cleaned - there was several that weren't. Staff too busy talking to each other in the kitchen!

The tables were dirty and sticky like a transport cafe!

Bacon was like shoe leather couldn't eat it - egg wasn't hardy cooked
Still waiting for the toast we ordered!

We felt guilty ordering more coffee - like it was too much trouble

Other people were complaining but it went over their heads

Getting in and out of their drive is very very dangerous - blind spot - need a mirror on the other side of the road. Needs sorting out

Wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just back from a long weekend at the Limes with a friend. The guest house is very central, on a busy noisy road, but I was able to shut the windows at night so wasn't bothered, may be better to be in the annexe in hot weather. The rooms in the old house arre flambouyantly decorated, clean and well equipped. Only one tiny gripe and that is about the size of the shower room, and as I am 5ft 3in and fairly small it was manageable. A 6ft 4in rugby player may struggle to fit in!
Good breakfasts and friendly staff and a location where you can walk to numerous drinking and eating places make this a good place to stay.
Maldon has a wealth of wonderful buildings and a fascinating water front with stunning Thames barges moored there. Go and see for yourself, this core=ner of rural Essex is exploring, my highlight being Beth Chatto's garden.

Room Tip: Take ear-plugs if it's hot and you want the windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights.
The hotel was in the town and. very quiet.
good breakfast
Would recommend this hotel
staff very friendly

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Limes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes

Address: 21 Market Hill, Maldon CM9 4PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Maldon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maldon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limes 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Limes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Limes Maldon, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Limes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.