We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good day out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Margam Park

Margam Park
Margam, Port Talbot SA13 2TJ, Wales
(01639) 881635
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“good day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

margam park is a country park with long country walks a lake a childrens play park and an animal park . its rare breeds of sheep chickens and other farm animals. it has a conference centre and overnight accomadation for poeple on courses. my granddaugher stayed there on a school prodject. there is an orangery that is hired out for occasions. there is also margam castle. its a magnificant place to see> i often visit with the grandchildren and the dog> we run ourselves ragged> we take a picnic or eat in the cafe. on a dry day you cant beat it

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    63
    14
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“beautifull park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

really lovely open space, views, play areas and activity centre, even the cafes are not bad. shame about the nursery rhyme area and maze which are long gone. this park has the potential to remain unspoilt yet exicting if good ideas are put into action. The go ape experience is excellent, On rainy days , dont bother! Excellent mobility scooter hire, (book ahead of visit) and the whole park is perfect for wheelchair users, dont forget to ask at entrance about specified parking for wheelchair/ difficulty walking park users.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Once a Great Day out, today: don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

As I child it was a really good day out. I recall going to the Maze on a number of occasions, unfortunately the maze is long gone.

The Children’s “Wonder World” as it’s called. Well everything is locked up, the little miniature buildings that still remain are shabby and contains bars and grills inside to stop the children playing.
Low quality construction grade barriers are up all over the park in an effort to stop people going where they clearly aren’t wanted.
Poorly maintained building work
A Café that was shut a number of hours earlier than the advertised opening times.
Waterlogged “Adventure Play Ground” and not because of the excessive rain fall but because nobody has bothered to replace the chippings in places.

To be frank the place is a disgrace, the local council should be ashamed of themselves for letting get into this condition. Clearly West Glamorgan council has its uses.
Don’t get me wrong there were pleanty of staff doing things, I just don’t know what.
I’ve read others saying it’s a lovelly walk around the park etc. You can get that free in any park, I don’t consider a view of the steel works pumping out smoke the best of views either.

As you might have guessed, I wasted an afternoon walking around a dump and I had to pay to get in!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice day out in good wheather”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Ok, so you will have a good day out here if you're the right type of person, otherwise, you will be bored to tears. If you like a walk in the park, then you will be fine here, plenty of places to go, the Orangery, gardens, church, walk around the old Manor house (dissapointingly you can't go inside 90% of it, becuase it is totaly gutted after a fire some years back) There's a lake, and for the more adventurous among us you can wonder into the mountains and wilderness beyond. There is an adventure play ground and at certain times you can go Pony Trecking or visit the small animal zoo. For those of you who are easily bored with landscapes and want to be entertained, then unless there is something going on like a fate or event of some kind which happens quite often during the summer months, you are probably going to get round in less than an hour and then leave. The facilities are poor at best and the food in the cafe reminds me of school dinners so don't expect a fantastic lunch out either. In all, the whole place seems to be run by good intentioned people who aren't really prepared to go to too much trouble to make it a great experience and like my rating you will probably leave thinking you had a very average day out.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“interesting all seasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

various walks and activities. Plenty to see and do and things for children. The castle and old abbey are well worth a visit..

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margam Park also viewed

Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
Aberdulais, Neath Port Talbot
 
Neath, Neath Port Talbot
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
 

Been to Margam Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margam Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.