We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Afan Lodge

Save Saved
You added Afan Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Afan Lodge
Afan Road, Duffryn Rhondda, Port Talbot SA13 3ES, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Port Talbot B&B and Inns
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Good hotel, clean and quiet with very comfy beds and bedding. Reading a review below, yes the rooms are fairly basic but are designed for short stay mtb clientele and, to my mind, clean and comfortable are the most important attributes.That said, it would be nice to have the odd picture in the rooms! There are baths, too- none of this skimping with only showers!
Food is good although the menu isn't very extensive and I have had one disappointing dinner. The breakfasts are as you would expect, too. I have only stayed whilst on business over the last couple of years and the Lodge seems to do a good trade with business guests.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quiet and dark whereas at the front will get road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    13
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
10
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I was very impressed with Afan Lodge. Clean and modern. Rooms were very nice. Staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Nice bar area and veranda, and the restaurant was ideal as there's very little else in the area. Bike friendly with secure lockup overnight.
Totally recommended if you're in the area for the mountain biking, walking, etc. I'll be back there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just come back from a couple of nights here. The staff were really friendly, with nothing too much trouble. The food was great - hearty breakfasts and good dinners. Rooms were comfortable, and the showers were great.

We spent the weekend mountain biking, and the lodge has all you need, including secure lock up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This location was ideal for mountain biking, the staff and the locals we meet were all very friendly and the food was very good. We will be going back for sure. I dont think you would find anywhere better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

A good place for coffee. Popular with cyclists. hearty food. Only does Sunday lunch for groups of people but very nice ifyou can get a party together. A beautiful valley setting with outdoor seats for drinks or coffee.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

took my daughter and son in law for a cuppa after going for a nice walk, when we got there fancied a teacake and some toast only to be told she couldnt do toast the kitchen was closed but she would look for a teacake, she came back and told us she couldnt find any why advertise them with a coffee then?.
The last time we went there with my brother and his wife we were told they had no clean cups for a drink i asked the girl to wash some with a long face she did, we live local to this place and like to bring my family from birmingham for a drink but its almost like we are a bloody nuisance to them.
please dont be so arrogant that you think you dont need our custom, believing there are plenty more where we came from is a very slippery slope.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I have stayed at the lodge twice in the last 7 months and overall it has been great. The last time we stayed it was with the same group of lads as before and we all agreed that the lodge was taking it's location for granted.
We did not receive clean towels for our second day and the bedding and pillows are very basic indeed! The showers are great though!!
Breakfast is good but please if you dare do not and I repeat do not try and deviate from the cast in stone menu because you will get short thrift.
The evening menu is very good but very very expensive but the quality of food sort of makes up for it however please book because if you ask for a walkin you will be told where to go!
However the location is fantastic and the barmaids Leanne and Demi are great girls and their very welsh approach to dealing with groups of MTB'ers is refreshing and funny!
I believe that the owners think that they have it in the bag with regards to custom and location but other groups were talking about staying at other places that were better value and eating out at other restaurants which some of them did and we will probably do next time due to the very high prices...ie: small lamb steak on sweet potato £16.99, and I couldn't even change the sweet potato for sauté!
The lodge and location is great and most of the staff are great but if customers feel they are getting shafted they will go elsewhere and that was the vibe I was getting from the lads I went with and the other groups of riders.

Room Tip: Round the back overlooking the trails
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Afan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afan Lodge

Address: Afan Road, Duffryn Rhondda, Port Talbot SA13 3ES, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Port Talbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Afan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afan Hotel Port Talbot
Afan Lodge Port Talbot, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afan Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.