We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real African Snow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort

AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort
Maluti Mountains, Butha-Buthe, Lesotho
+27 87 230 8408
Website
Improve this listing
Maseru, Lesotho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Real African Snow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

It proves that Africa is not only about sun, beach, sand but also SNOW! Come experience true Lesotho cold weather while you sip on your gluhwein.

Afriski is modern facility that also provides summer activities e.g. pony rides, mountain biking, trail runs, fly fishing and water rafting at high rain season.

You will be made to feel the true Lesotho culture hospitality while you mix with visitors from all around Africa and international too.

I've taken my family every winter for skiing experience and to build snow men & women - just watch you don't leave carrots because the donkeys will eat the snow men's noses!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuphillan, Director at AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi,
Thanks for the time taken to write up so beautifully about the Maluti mountain and your Afriski skiing experience. Dont forget to bring your own carrots... we dont have that many fresh - supplies are challenging to get up the mountain :)

Hope to see you and your family again at Afriski - come in summer as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
“Lots of fun!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a great experience (Innsbruck). Sure there were problems like the gas fire place not working and not always hot water but we have to keep in mind that this is Lesotho and not the Alpes. If you think about the destination then they are not doing bad at all. Will go again next year!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuphillan, Director at AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi Kyli

We are really sorry that your fireplace did not work. We try our best to keep the chalets and other accommodation units in tip top shape, but supplies are not always easy to get there fast. Thanks for being so understanding. The fireplace is working again :), ready to provide that nice atmosphere we love in Winter.
See you next year!

PS* We plan for some new accommodation units - be sure to try that out as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Snow in the sun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

June 2013. We spent 4 days at the resort. The accommodation was adequate, and like most of the things at the resort not cheap, except for the ski shop which was not badly priced. There are 3 places to eat, prices are around 30% more expensive than most South African pizzas for example, a cooldrink will set you back R 13 per can. Not very vegetarian friendly and definitely not for vegans. We did not find anywhere to buy milk and bread so take with if you self cater. Not for disabled people. The slopes are well kept, unlike the accommodation, where housekeeping got a thumbs down by our group. There is a charge for everything, including call out fees for your car at R250 per call out. Put anti freeze in the car, check tyres and spares. All cars especially diesel would be advised to take a car blanket.The resort staff are mainly young and not all the information given proved 100% accurate. However the cabin staff were friendly. Ski instructors are patient and to ski under the warm sun is an experience. Pack warm clothes, thermal undies and thin layers of clothes. Mid- day was hot and we stripped down to parachute pants, thermals and light long sleeved tops.The road is not well kept on the mountain passes, so watch out for potholes. After reaching Oxbow the road turns to gravel which could be scary if there is ice. Watch out for Lesotho cops, once you go though the border, be polite to them and do not carry too much cash in your wallet. Do not keep valuable items in your car at the resort, theft is not unknown and there were no safes in the cabins. Medics are third level first aiders so travel insurance is advised in case of accidents.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuphillan, Director at AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for the time taken to write your review - it is well detailed.
Sorry on your disappointment with housekeeping - we will try to do better, and thanks for the thumbs up for the ski instructors and cabin crew - we offer 7 star fun...:)
We are also very happy to let you know that we have made provision for disabled access in two of our units and with the enthusiasm and help from disabled musician, Mathys Roets, friend of Afriski, we have installed various areas for wheelchair access. This is still in it's infancy, but the resort is committed to make this possible and host Mathys with his skichair for the disabled for many more years to come.

Hope to see you at Afriski again next year for winter or join us in Summer for great mountain excursions and local experience tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Snow experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

It was my first time experiencing snow, and I had an amazing time. The drive up the mountains was a bit scary, but well worth it at the end. They also offer ski lessons at this place. It was fun, and would definately go back there sometime.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Stroke it lucky with lotsa snow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Skiing is great considering location (quite a long slope for Southern Africa) and we had lessons (4 hours in one day with a break in between) which i reckon went very well considering our lack of experience. Our teacher was super patient and we made good progress.

2012 seems to have been quite a snowy year so the slopes were white all around and especially on the sunday after the blizzard on saturday, we had a perfect sunny day but with brand new fluffy puffy sparkly snow to pounce around in.

The spot has a really nice relaxed and funky vibe.

However keep in mind that you are very likely to get snowed in if it is a good snow season, that accommodation is limited so during peak season getting snowed in means not enough accommodation for everybody (we couldn't leave because the pass was closed and had to host some stranded folks with us for the last night). Same goes for the restaurant - during peak season you have to book otherwise you might not get a spot. the restaurant has changed management in the last year and i think the food is now pretty good. Considering the closest place you can buy anything fresh like mushroom is Bethlehem which is back in South Africa through border gate etc not an easy feat.

Also the chances of your diesel vehicle freezing up is very likely and it will need a day or 2 of warmer weather to revive again. They do have folks on site that can help you out with that though, for which we were very grateful.

I strongly recommend making sure to go outside of the school holidays and take extra leave so getting snowed in doesn't become a big drama.
We saw multiple vehicle accidents upon our departure due to folks who simply "had" to leave (on the pass after oxbow lodge , before butha buthe).

We stayed in the log chalets up the slope and thought the accommodation was great. I was amazed at how well insulated the cabins were and they were very comfy with a nice view over the ski slopes. Everything works with gas (stove and heating) except the water which works with a regular geyser (boiler) so needs electricity. We did have few power cuts over the weekend but not to the point of every being totally without hot water.

We've traveled through lesotho before and I think people underestimate the rough climate - even the locals never hang out in the mountains in winter, they go down to the lower areas and only come back up with their herds in summer. During a previous trip in the middle of summer the temperatures dropped to less than 10 degrees at NOON during a hailstorm , that was so bad some cows got washed across the road! 15min later it looked like it never happened. Now imagine winter. That's lesotho, on a good day you can drive there in a tiny car on a bad day even your land cruiser might let you down.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort also viewed

 
Maseru, Maseru District
Maseru, Maseru District
 

Been to AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.