We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty place- bedbugs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Refugio Patagonico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Refugio Patagonico to your Saves list
Refugio Patagonico
Islas Malvinas 2630, El Bolson, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 El Bolson B&B and Inns
Buenos Aires
1 review
“Dirty place- bedbugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is very dirty. Bedbugs and spider webs in the rooms and bathrooms. We also found a nasty crawling insect (cockroach-like) under one of the beds. One of the morning staff is very rude and dismissed our complaint about ceanliness saying "well I don't know what to tell you- we have no bedbugs". I'm sorry for Marisol and Julio who are both very nice and helpful but overall this hostel is probably the dirtiest place I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Marisol is very friendly and invites you in with a smile, to the gorgeous sitting area with all handmade wooden tables and sofas and a foosball table. There is a massive, ample kitchen where a lot of people can cook at once, fully equipped with more cutlery and dishes than I have seen in any hostel in a long time! They also have baskets for each person to put their food so that you don't get a mess of plastic bags in the fridge.

I stayed here during off season (Nov) so I imagine it must be very different in high season (Dec and Jan), must have quite a party vibe! There is strong wifi throughout the hostel, and a computer for use downstairs. The surroundings are perfect- grass and trees everywhere, horses roaming next door, and a spectacular view of the mountains, whilst only being a short walk to town and the Feria Artesanal.

The rooms are clean and dorms (4 or 8 bed) each have a bathroom with shower inside. Some of the mattresses are better than others, but everything was very clean and warm quilts are provided (instead of blankets). There are also secure lockers for your personal belongings in each room, which I think is very smart and handy. Well thought out hostel plan!

It is very quiet here at night and relaxing during the day to just sit outside on the grass and enjoy the mountain air and views. I am sure you can also party on down here if you wish as there are always many travellers around to share stories with.

At around 50 pesos for a dorm bed, this place is good value in comparison to other places in El Bolson with dorms. Private rooms cost around 180 pesos (which is expensive!). If you can't find enough people to share a cabana with (3 to 4) then Refugio Patagonico is certainly the way to go!

Room Tip: If the place is busy, the 4 bed dorms are a better choice. Bring a padlock for your locker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

My boyfriend stayed in this hostel 4 years ago when he first visited El Bolson. We initially only plan to stay for 1 night, but ended up extended to four! Loads table football games! We made empanadas with fellow Argentinian traveler. Julio is a cool and down to earth guy, he made the best steak I ever tasted in my entire trip in Argentina!!! (he didn't do it to make money, it was just a homely dinner)

It's off the centre a bit (close to the mountains) but still convenient , which is what I like.

Room Tip: It was low season when we were there, we had half of the time having the entire room of ourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

i spent the night in this hostel in Ocyober 2011, which is low season, we were only 3 travellers. At night it was freezing but they refused to put on the heating. My bed did not even have sheets, just a bed cover, that was it.
The staff seem tho have their own little parties there, when night fell over El Bolson I sat in the communal areas with my laptop and I guess they must have thought that gave enough light to see something. Staff receives their friends here later oj the evening and do not even say a word to the travellers.
I would not recommend this place in low season if you are a sociable person.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011 via mobile

I would've given this place a good review. Good location, off the beaten path a bit, nice kitchen and communal area. One of my travel mates woke up at 3am itching and had bites all over on her face and arms. Her eye even was swollen from a bit. On examination we found bed bugs in 3 of the 4 beds and found some crawling in our sleeping bags and clothing. There was no one to be found working and the communal areas locked. At 8 am the owner showed up and offered us a room change. Also let us do a load of laundry, however probably ineffective in killing bedbugs as water was not hot enough and there was no dryer.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

The kitchen, common area and garden are very nice.
Unfortunately, the rooms are the worst about this hostel. The mattresses are very old and dirty, we had bed bugs in our dorm, the sheets had lots of blood spots. When I told the owner about the bed bugs he disinfected the room but didn't seem surprised at all. The staff wasn't friendly. I would definitely not recommend this place or stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011 via mobile

Overall very dirty place with an luke-warm greeting, a clogged toilet that I had to plunge myself!, a single computer that was shut down at midnight (??), a very uncomfortable bunk; all followed by an early check out time and no breakfast offered besides a tiny sweetbread. Worst hostel experience and expensive, also. Two thumbs down.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Refugio Patagonico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Patagonico

Address: Islas Malvinas 2630, El Bolson, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > El Bolson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in El Bolson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Refugio Patagonico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refugio Patagonico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.