We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sigh!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kerio View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eldoret
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kerio View
Eldoret, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Taibon, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sigh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had a great time at Kerio View when I spent a weekend with my husband, cool breezes, peace and quiet and an amazing view for two days, we left feeling refreshed the whole experience was like a two day massage :)
They have a gym although we did not visit, novels for those who like to read, rooms are basic, small and clean, no TV nothing to write home about, but the banda we stayed at had a breathtaking view of the valley which is basically the essence of the hotel. The restaurant also has an amazing view, good music, a fire place, comfy seats, they have a good menu and large portion meals, buffet breakfast, friendly but slow service. Also a place for licensed paragliders to do their thing. It’s really all about the view at this hotel. It is the only place to stay at in Eldoret and its environs.

Room Tip: Ask for banda
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here from 9-20 Dec 2012. Our first visit to an African nation and we landed on jackpot. Kerio View, run by a nice and chatty Belgium chap who has lived in Africa for a very long time, is a rare fine. It has a nice European charm about it without being overbearing. Rooms are cozy with different bed configuration in each hut, and bed comes with mosquito net. Ask for Banda (Hut) #1-3, these 3 huts have the best views of the Rift Valley. We wake up to beautiful views every morning (we stayed in Banda 3 with 2 single beds and a double bed, very spacious room. Not sure if it was due to the fact that we were there for quite a period, they gave us a better room or it could be due to local friend's recommendation to the owner, we don't know :D). Bring your own shampoo, only bars of soap provided. Hair dryer provided in the bathroom.

Rates are reasonable under euro50 depending on when you are travelling there. Food is good (western mainly) but the chefs are very accommodating if you have special requests! (had asked them to make fried rice, clear chicken soup :D). Great place to stay if you are a paraglider as the launch area is just next to Kerio View! We have seen gliders pass our Bandas :D

No TV/phone in the room but the fantastic view makes up for it. internet connection can be requested from reception at a rate (not cheap I was told, sorry forgot what the rate was!).

I highly recommend this place! Love love love it!

Room Tip: Ask for Banda #3....I think it's got the best view :D But if price is a concern, can ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

After 3 years of living in Kenya and doing a fair amount of budget to mid-level travel, I am utterly impressed with Kerio View! In operation over the last 10 years, and seemingly the product of awesome visionary work on the part of the owners (German? Belgian? something like that), the lodge not only has a million-dollar setting, but is tasteful and good value for money (under 60 per person per night).

The Place

The staff are friendly, seem very honest and chipper, and not overbearing (a problem in this country sometimes!) The grounds are gorgeous, not just well maintained, but naturally beautiful. Everything is quiet, and birds of all sorts flit around, catching the updrafts and winds of the hilltop, while you look into the distance for miles and miles.

Food is very good, they seem to specialize in comfort foods like chicken cordon blue, pasta milanese, Irish Stew, etc.---we spent around $12 per person per night, but always had leftovers for our hikes the next day!

There are many rooms to stay in, we stayed in a "banda" which is really a solidly constructed stone cottage--bathroom with really hot water and large windows overlooking the cliff/mountain view. Stunning.

It is hard to overstate how goegeous the view is....from the hotel, from the walks.hikes, we couldn't get enough! One afternoon we sipped tea at the lodge, watched rain clouds gather darkly in the valley, watch the light change on the plateau into sunset-enriched greens and blues, while the rain clouds turned from white to grey to very dark, the clouds crept up the mountainside, blowing wisps of clouds up at the lodge, forming bright rainbows below, and finally downpouring....it was amazing to watch!

Activities

The hiking--we LOVED the hiking. Unlike so many other outdoorsy spots, locals will certainly offer to help you find a sight or a trail, but no one harasses you to your wits end about where to go. Everyone seems used to the endurance athletes and other runners that come to train in Iten, and let you pass on your way, happy to point the way to x y z if you want to know. We descended from the lodge 1000 m down, on a challenging but not impossible trail, and it was gorgeous and FUN. We then walked along the lower plateau, among farms and then along the road and through the small town Kessup, until we spied waterfalls and forested areas on the hillside to our west. We found a trail and ascended through some farms and then towards the forest and waterfall--turning back only when we realized that rain was threatening! Then we returned to another trail that we knew would lead up the forested cliff back to Kerio View/ High Altitude Training area, and meandered our way home before dark.

Bird Watching
Birds everywhere!

We'll definitely be going again!

Room Tip: Banda 1-3 seemed great! we stayed in #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Kerio View is a real gem in Kenya. It's sad that the government doesn't promote a lot of tourism outside the beaches and the national parks. Iten has a lot to offer in hiking, paragliding and biking. But most interesting is to just watch the long distance runners. And Kerio View is a perfect place to do that. It's right on the escarpment with a fantastic view over the Kerio Valley. The staff is so friendly and the food is amazing. You might want to tell them you want just half a portion if you are not a big eater – they serve athletes portions, to no price at all. Sure, the rooms are quite basic, but it's good value and they have none of the tackiness of the horrible luxury resorts that are so plenty in Kenya. The beds are robust and the silence in the nights make you sleep like a baby.
Make sure you take the small walk through the farms over to Kamariny Stadium, especially on a Tuesday morning when the place is crowded with runners. In the evening, have a beer by what's possibly the largest fireplace in Africa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,Kenya and all about
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

fabulous place.The view and the glass frontage are awesome.The clean air and the omg views just make this place.The food is very good too as are the staff serving you.Its wonderful to go stretch your legs for a few days in this environment.The fresh air and invigorating walks around the locality are certainly worth it.The paragliders are good afternoon entertainment.Back towards the road is a training camp for foreign athletes who can be seen training in the early morning.Lovely place overall away from the chaos,filth and mess that is Eldoret.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

Watching the sun rise over the rift valley. That's all you need to do here!

The food and rooms are average (bring your own shampoo!), but the people are super friendly and helpful (something I'm starting to associate with the Kenyans!) But the neverending view makes up for all other shortcomings!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a week though not to paraglide or to run:-) Overall it was an excellent place and I would highly recommend it. As someone else said the rooms are quite basic but the place is very clean. The excellent variety of food is also a plus.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kerio View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerio View

Address: Eldoret, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Eldoret
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty lodging in Eldoret

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kerio View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kerio View to your Saves list