We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected in Eldoret” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Naiberi River Campsite & Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eldoret
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Naiberi River Campsite & Resort
PO Box 142, Eldoret 30100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Osterley Middx
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unexpected in Eldoret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Forty years ago Eldoret was a charming small town. Now it seems to be so big and so busy that I don't really recognise anywhere so the hotels I used to like (Waggon Wheel etc.) have changed. Naiberi was recommended to us by Teresa at 'TA Tours and Travel' and we thought we'd give it a go. Teresa is never wrong.
We went top end but you can camp and I think there is a bunkhouse as well. The main bar/lounge/dining room is terrific. They have taken a huge area and put a roof over it. Inside there are little bridges to walk across to split the bar from the dining room etc. So much space. Big fire at night. The food is very good and we had a group of 16 all ordering different things.
It seems Bill Gates has stayed there and the rumour was that the same was true of 'Brad and Angelina'. Of course they may have heard the same about me.
The rooms are very comfortable indeed and so are the bathrooms.
The only reason I've not given it five stars is because we weren't there long enough (one night, moving on the next day) to check out the birdlife which is another reason for it being built. I suspect though that one more night and it would get its five stars. One tip is to go to the bottom right corner of the garden and get a position to see the stream. There is a Malachite Kingfisher living just on the other side. I was only able to have a quick scout around before breakfast but I think I just scratched the surface in terms of birdlife.
Very impressed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stopped here twice on an overland trip.
- First time I camped, and glad the showers were warm
- Second time in dorm room with amazing comfy beds.

The bar is the highlight with the open fire, friendly staff, and ice cold beer. On our last night here on the way back to Nairobi they provided an African feast for us, which was amazing.

We even braved the pool, which was clean, but freezing, but after a long day on the truck it was refreshing to say the least.

Toilets / Showers were all clean, and well maintained, and the grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Overland tourists stop here so as such,it is called an Overland stop-over. Alot of facilties from the spacious rooms to hostel-like rooms,a range of outdoor and indoor bar &restaurants,pool and outside lounges. Sit by the high deck down at the the pool and enjoy an afternoon conversation with your freinds. you will meet tourists stopping over and you can strike conversations if you may. Carry a sweater-it can get cold esp as the sun is going down. Bill gates has slept here so if you can fork a good amount,you can sleep at that room and write it in your own diary as a little accomplishment. Really a nice place; thouroughly enjoyed it. 16kms from Eldoret on Eldoret-Kaptagat Road(branch off at Poa Place on the Main highway)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Rocked up at dusk in our Overland Vehicle to uncover one surprise after another. Beautiful pool, cavernous bar and a dorm all to ourselves. Great staff and no better place to be when you find yourself on the road to somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't tent it in the rain, upgrade for a few dollars more and treat yourself to the spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I had used the campsite years ago in another location nearby, but pulled in last year to the newer place when I was passing through El Doret. The kitchen was closed but they out sourced a very good curry dinner, the rooms were clean and tidy and we had a quiet few drinks at the bar with the owner and manager. The location beside a quiet river is unbeatable and the whole place is quirky, quite different. Passing through I would always drop in for the night

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed two nights in tents in the rain....but it didn't spoil a peaceful time amongst the geese. The staff more than accommodated our rather inept preparations, found a jiko and charcoal for us to cook on, and helped us form our own small private party in the bar by the river. Staff must be recommended in general; they were polite and helpful. The food was served quickly, was very tasty and fresh, and priced within anyone's budget. The communal bar and the open fire warmed us up in the cold hours. The place has clearly seen better days in its infrastructure but that didn't matter, it has a rustic appeal but you can update the kiddies' play area to make it a bit safer and entertaining. Showers and toilets for campers by the river were clean and solid, but get used to warm....ish water! (This should not deter anyone valuing a camp rather than a hotel).
Will definitely return, hopefully in the sun to enjoy the river a bit more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
744 reviews 744 reviews
220 hotel reviews
Reviews in 266 cities Reviews in 266 cities
423 helpful votes 423 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights here, one in the dorm room where we had a hot shower and one in a tent where we had to use the communal showers which were cold. The toilets and showers in both were clean at least.

There was also a great bar area with a log fire and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Naiberi River Campsite & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naiberi River Campsite & Resort

Address: PO Box 142, Eldoret 30100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Eldoret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty lodging in Eldoret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Naiberi River Campsite Hotel Eldoret
Naiberi River Campsite And Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naiberi River Campsite & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Naiberi River Campsite & Resort to your Saves list