We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Australia Zoo

Australia Zoo
Steve Irwin Way, Beerwah, Queensland 4519, Australia
61 7 5436 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 attractions in Beerwah
Type: Zoos
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Wildlife in this popular zoo was captured by Australia's famous "Crocodile Hunter," a legendary herpetologist excelling in snake and crocodile capture techniques.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We travelled to Australia zoo with 17 overseas visitors, as a group of greater than 10 we asked re our discount we were told that unless we paid in one payment we would not get a discount, we were then all charged 1.5% credit card charge even though in America all the visitors cards are debit cards, the lady at the desk was rude and abrupt. Spoilt a very excited group of oversea visitors. We live in Brisbane and hosted this youth outing with visitors from California. If each of these puts up a negative comment re there experience it can have a devastating affect on tourism to our great state, The Zoo is OK but not great and was really bad value for money. Wouldn't recommend

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    265
    87
    41
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“An OK Zoo!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We've been fans of Steve Irwin so we had to come and see his zoo it was a good drive up from where we'd been staying down on the Gold Coast so were looking forward to it.
However I was quite surprised by the ticket price even with a "Senior Discount", The Zoo covered a vast area and was well laid out good directions to all the attractions.
There were lots and lots of "Crocs" more than i expected, kangeroos you could get up close to and feed and for me the best part was actualy being able to touch a Koala.
The bird show in the arena was very good along with the birds of prey display in the aviary.
At the end we decided to visit the Hospital for an extra fee where you can see them treating some of the smaller animals through the glass walls, very interesting spent a while there watching. Large eating facilitiy and gift shop available.
I would say if you've got kids they would love it here so much to see and great if you like "Crocs". just bring plenty of $$.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale of Glamorgan, S Wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“So worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was an experience, from feeding the Kangaroos to seeing the Bengal Tigers! everything about it was fab!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great day out for the family. Awesome tribute to Steve Irwin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

One of the cleanest zoos that I have visited. The scale of this zoo massive. The Irwin family have built a tourist destination to be very proud of and the keepers all share Steve's passion for animals. Well done guys.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Exciting zoo just a little expensive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed this zoo. We went on a Sunday and it was a little crowded but not too much so that we couldn't see or do everything. The crocodile show was great and informative. The tiger show in the Africa area was like no other. 2 trainers actually played with a very big kitty. It was scary yet riveting. There were also cheetah's on leashes. We didn't do the hug a koala or feed the kangaroos because we had done it at the Lone Pine Koala sanctuary but this zoo really included everything. The gift shop was quite good. My only complaint would be the cost to get in was expensive- about $175 for a family of 4. The food was also expensive at the food court. There is a shuttle service to get around but you have to wait about 15 minutes for it. You need to time the shows properly to see everything. Overall well worth the visit and nice memories of Steve Irwin who obviously has left a great legacy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australia Zoo also viewed

 
Yandina, Sunshine Coast
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Australia Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australia Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Australia Zoo to your Saves list