We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Australia Zoo

Australia Zoo
Steve Irwin Way, Beerwah, Queensland 4519, Australia
61 7 5436 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 attractions in Beerwah
Type: Zoos
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Wildlife in this popular zoo was captured by Australia's famous "Crocodile Hunter," a legendary herpetologist excelling in snake and crocodile capture techniques.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Palmwoods, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We live about 30 mins from Australia Zoo and I bought an annual pass for me so I can take my 2 year old. We have been about four or five times in the last 6 months and he loves it. We love feeding the elephants and the kangaroos and last time we had our photo taken with a tortoise. The zoo is always clean and tidy and staff are always friendly.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    265
    87
    41
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Collie, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“australia zoo is a washout!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Don't go to Australia Zoo if it is raining! and i don't mean showers, but torrential rain, which we had on Friday 15th Feb 2013. We were booked on a bus tour from Brisbane and it started raining as we got closer to the "sunshine coast" - maybe they need a name change!
anyway, we donned our waterproof(?) ponchos and set out to explore this park! To be honest, it would have been lovely if the rain had stopped , but we were drenched! the show was very good - I especially liked the birds that flew in and out again. How do they train them to come back to them?? the animal enclosures were spacious and I liked the ones we could walk through. All in all a good day, despite the rain!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Awesome day out!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We visited Australia Zoo (a family of 4, kids 9 and 5 on holiday at the Sunshine Coast) on the 13th of March and all I can say was AMAZING!! All the animals are beautiful and very well looked after. We tried to see every show we could and they were all very informative. We stumbled upon the tiger show at 2:15 (wasn't on the itinerary, probably because if the small area it is in) which was a great surprise.

The highlight of the day is feeding the elephants...it doesn't cost any extra and you can do it as many times as you like (which was great for our kids as they did it until the food ran out!!)

I would suggest to go on a weekday not school holidays as I'm sure this place would get packed on weekends!! Lucky for us the weather was beautiful and it was not very busy.....do bring the aeroguard though as there are a few Mosquitos.

The entry fee does seem high but we spent the whole day here, took our own lunch, hired a locker and they don't try and sting you at every chance like the Gold Coast theme parks. Can't wait to go back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An Outstanding Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were on a Cruise Ship tour to the zoo and were not provided enough time to properly see the zoo. Allow yourself an entire day. The Zoo is spread over many acres, so plan on lots of walking.Trams are provided if you don't want to walk a lot. Exhibits are all built for great viewing. Some of the exhibits are actually walk thru so you are right there with the animals. Kangaroos and Koala Bears would be two of those. Maps provided are kind of hard to follow. Be sure and see the live show provided. Stadium is very large and seating is not a problem. Food on site is very expensive (but everything is in Australia). We had a wonderful time....we just were not provided enough to enjoy it properly. Admission fee is high. If you are a senior, ask for the discount. It is sizable.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was one place i absolutely had to go when i visited Australia. I have always been a fan of Steve Irwin and his work, so i had to visit his legacy. I love animals, so i was really excited to see sone native australian species. I must admit, i am not always a huge fan of animals in captivity, as i love to see them in their natural habitat wherever possible, but at Australia Zoo, you could tell that the wellbeing and conservation of the animals is and always has been, the main priority (which isn't always the case, unfortunately). The zoo is huge, and takes a full day to get round, especially with all the shows throughout the day at the crocoseum (thoroughly recommended!) and all the enclosures have ample room for the animals to move around and explore. I also paid to cuddle a Koala, with a photo included, and it was so cute and soft. We also really liked the kangaroo enclosure, where you could literally just walk over and stroke/feed the kangaroos. They were all so friendly and placid. Beautiful creatures. I also loved the crocs and we were lucky enough to be able to watch some of the keepers training one of the birds that had just arrived at the zoo the previous week. They were very friendly too, explaining what they were doing, the process and why it was important. We also managed to see the elephant and tiger feeding shows. One thing we liked was the fact that the keepers was constantly interacting with the visitors, sometimes walking around with various animals for people to pet and ask questions about. Steve Irwin would definitley be proud of the job that is being done! Thoroughly enjoyable day, and when i return to australia, i will also return here!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australia Zoo also viewed

 
Yandina, Sunshine Coast
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Australia Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australia Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Australia Zoo to your Saves list