We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel and perfect vocation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Niriedes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Niriedes Hotel to your Saves list
Niriedes Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platis Gialos - Sifnos, Platis Yialos 84003, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Platis Yialos
ISRAEL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel and perfect vocation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

We spent 3 wonderful days at Niriedes Hotel in Sifnos! Our suite was amazing (beautiful, spacious and comfortable) with stunning views of the sea, the little port and the beach. The breakfast was very tasty. There is a very nice pool at the hotel with a wonderful view of the sea, and down the hotel there is a very good beach with several tavernas. Thanos, the manager of the hotel, was very kind and helpful, and he gave us excellent recommendations for trips, beaches and restaurants all over the island. Sifnos is wonderful island with nice villages, wonderful beaches and amazing walking paths. The food in Sifnos is superb! We enjoyed our stay at Niriedes Hotel very much, and we have already missed it!!! We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Awesome staff, great facility, super clesn. I would go back in a heart bit. Absolutely loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

After 30 years my wife and I returned to Sifnos. Last time we were backpackers. This time we wanted a more comfortable stay. Niriedes was choosen based on recommendation found on Tripadvisor. This cozy, romantic family driven hotel fulfilled all our dreams. We contacted Thanos in February and were recommended their smallest room. This was a lovely, fine traditional decorated airconditioned room with kitchenette and a spacious bathroom and not to forget two cozy terraces with great view to the see. The breakfast was spacious including everything on demand. Thanos and his family were very helpful and had arranged a small Citroen Pluriel cabriolet which was ready as we arrived with the ferry from Pireus. There are lots of nice places to stay on Sifnos, but this is probably the best. Hopefully it will not last another 30 years before we return to Sifnos again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge,California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We stayed for three days at the Niriedes Hotel, Sifnos in June, 2009. Our stay was really great and we felt very spoiled by the wonderful treatment we experienced. The breakfast served was the best of any we had during our two weeks in Greece. Our room was on two levels with a balcony overlooking the water. We rented a car for the entire three days and did not regret it. There are lots of really interesting places to explore on the island of Sifnos. Don't skip Sifnos, it's wonderful!!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

Lovely boutique hotel. Very cosy, pretty decorations throughout, nice staff.
We had a mini-apartment with a terrace and just loved it. The price was really low for what we got, but probably it's because we went in early June, I think it goes up a lot. We had a pretty bedroom with soft white sheets and covers and a big mirror and lots of air and space. We had one windy day the entire vacation when we didn't go to the beach. I just sat in the room and enjoyed the light, the air, the comfy bed for reading.

We also had a very nice roomy living room, with two classic greek couches in green and blue (I suspect they can turn into beds but not sure) and view onto the terrace and sea. There were two TVs one in the bedroom and one in the living room which proved useful when I had trouble sleeping and my husband wanted to sleep. I sat in the cozy living room and enjoyed a DVD from the reception. It was so relaxing, felt like home. We liked the feeling of being at home so much one of the nights we got take out food from one of the restaurants down on the beach and snuggled up on the couch and just enjoyed the view, the air, the pretty blue couches. It was a welcome change from sightseeing, bathing and restaurants almost every night and day. There was also a small kitchenette which we didn't use but looked very nice. We did use the tiny kitchen table, it was fine. Oh and we had highspeed internet the entire time, and my husband even managed to do some work lying on the couch in the breeze, he said it still felt like vacation with that setting around him.

Finally we had a nice terrace with both a table and soft seats on a low wall for just lounging around and looking at the sea.

The beach below is very nice and easy to reach, we went several times and loved it, clear blue water and cute restaurants. The hotel also offers food for lunch if you prefer. The pool is small but pleasant, but most people just head to the beach.

Breakfast was lovely, brought to us every morning on the terrace. There wasn't that much variety but you could ask them to make you eggs or yogurt with fruit if you wanted.

When we weren't at the hotel we went around the island in our rented car. The hotel had arranged for us to pick up the car directly at the port. Since the price was around 20 euros a day it made more sense than paying about the same for a taxi to the hotel.

The island is small so you can manage fine with the bus service if you prefer. Enjoy the walks around the hills, go for cocktails in Kastro with views of the deep blue sea as you drink and definitely stop by the Pastry shop in Apollonia, the main town.

Bottom line: wonderful and relaxing hotel, highly reccommend it both for couples and for families. It's a boutique hotel so you won't get a big swimming pool and lots of space for the kids to play, but the rooms are spacious and the small pool is cute and comfy. I saw two couples with a child there and they seemed very happy. There is plenty of space to play on the big beach below. Lastly, there are quite a few steps to tackle to reach some of the rooms so watch out for that if it's a problem for you.

Other than that it was great, we're already planning to go next year with our baby daughter.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We stayed here for nearly a week in late May, early June 2009. This is a great time to visit Sifnos as it's at the beginning of the season. First impressions of the hotel were very impressive. The rooms are well appointed with good facilities and fabulous views of the bay. Most of all the hotel is relaxed and the hotel manager, Thanos, is extremely helpful. There is a small swimming pool, gym and a wonderful breakfast balcony. Breakfast is served from 9am onwards and consists of many options including local produce. This is a good hotel to bring young children as the owners have children themselves and make an effort to provide cots etc. You can easily hire a car that will be delivered to the hotel.

Overall, Niriedes Hotel has an attention to detail and a relaxed atmosphere that is rare in hotels. I would place this as one of the best hotels for a leisure break that I have stayed in. At the other end of the scale the Two Bridges hotel in Dartmoor, England is one of the worst places I have ever stayed. I say this to compare, because at Niriedes Hotel you will get great hospitality and value for money whereas at the other end of the scale at places like the Two Bridges they seem to specialise in ripping off their customers with disdain.

Well done to Niriedes. Full marks.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

We came to Sifnos with the idea of leaving to see some of the other greek islands - we left for a short trip to Folegandros (beautyful island by the way!), but we couldn't bear the idea of not spending the rest of our holiday at Niriedes - so we went back to Sifnos! We loved EVERYTHING about the hotel, but it is Thanos, his lovely wife (and beauyful children) that with their hospitality make the stay unforgettable. It seems like Thanos's motto is "no problem" - everything is possible!

The hotel has a stunning location with a wonderful view on the sea, the beachand the local harbour.

I miss so much, the view, "our" suite, the breakfast on the terrace with the seaview, the pasties, the greek youghurt the coffeee.

Thank you Thanos so much for an unforgettable holiday (next time please no rain ;-))

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Niriedes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niriedes Hotel

Address: Platis Gialos - Sifnos, Platis Yialos 84003, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Sifnos > Platis Yialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Platis Yialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Niriedes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Follow your heart to a romantic and charming little hotel hanging from the cliff, 100 meters above Platy Gialos, the most cosmopolitan beach of Sifnos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Niriedes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niriedes Hotel Sifnos/Platis Yialos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Niriedes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.