We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely in Winter Too” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Residence Les Medes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel & Residence Les Medes to your Saves list
Hotel & Residence Les Medes
Rue de la Douane, 83400 Porquerolles Island, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Milan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely in Winter Too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed here in January for a little week-end trip. We were both exahusted from work and needed total peace and quiet and we found it. There was almost no one staying in the hotel and they opened the reception just for us so this is probably not indicative of whatever happens in the summer. That said, I would highly reccommend it for a winter break. The room was comfy and impeccably clean with view of a little waterfall. There was a small but very clean bathroom and a kitchennette complete with pots/pans of all shapes and sizes and anything else you might need to cook. The hotel is right in the center of the village so very conveniently located. You can rent bikes just down the street and explore the island all day long. The one staff member we saw was very nice and helpful and he suggested we try the restaurant connected to the hotel. We had fish both nights and thought it was fantastic, well-cooked, well-presented, very fresh of course. We also loved the entrees and the wine. They really went out of their way to presnt the food nicely and to decorate the restaurant in a pretty way, I liked that. Would definitely go back to Medes in better weather.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    79
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
39
81
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Finally after not so pleasant experience with a couple of hotels on the island I found a place, where I'm really looking forward to return to. True, it's not quite cheap (nothing is on Porquerolles), but the rooms are of the same price as the ones offered by other hotels, and in terms of quality they completely outdo their rivals. The other hotels tend to like to use the "Provencal style" expression while describing their rooms. In normal language that would mean - old, shabby, offering very basic comfort. Hotel des Medes on the other hand offer room quite comfortable, spacious, with big and modern bathroom. Small kitchenette and a refrigirartor gives you an ability not to use the restaurants all the time (there is a small shop on the central square where you can buy the food). Wi-Fi connection is very reliable and free, the breakfast in the garden by the waterfall is extremely pleasant to have in good weather. They also have an automatic laundry right by the hotel. I spent 4 night in Hotel des Medes and I definetely will come here again.
Small tip. As this place gains in popularity think to make a reservation well in advance. By March all the summer monthes are normally completely booked out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

An easy walk from the ferry, close to the main square but quiet and private. Self contained unit big and comfortable, lot of storage. bathroom big and modern. Easy access to shopping and beaches. We did not use the breakfast area but it appeared to be excellent with an adjacent outdoor lounge area next to a pleasant pool.

Housekeeping staff very amenable but most of front office staff somewhat brusque. Free WiFi but it had to be renewed every 24 hours precisely and as we were staying for 6 nights this was a major inconvenience especially when they insisted on usually turning off the system when I was in the middle of urgent work emails! The office refused to give me more than 1 days access at a time unlike every other place at which we have stayed.

Interesting security system in unit. Safe was provided but not attached to anything!! I have a photo of me walking off with it

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed 2 nights aux Medes, a very well located hotel, in the heart of Porquerolles. Our room had a kitchenette (which is good when you have small children) and was simple, but agreable. We were missing a little a balcony, but the Hotel has a very nice garden with a small waterfall. In September the garden was not crowded so it was really nice. Same for this beautiful island, so nice to go after the holiday period to avoid the crowd.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Very good location close to ferry, village shops and restaurants. Rooms well configured with a small kitchenette. A bit surly at reception on arrival but the place grew on us. It is good value as long as you recognise it is run on low overheads - there are relatively few staff. Breakfast efficient and worth having though you could have this cheaply in a number of restaurants. Did not try half board option and think this was a good decision because there are a very wide range of places to eat at different price levels. Most of these are on the main square whereas Les Medes restaurant is up a side street. The village is very busy with day trippers during the day but pleasantly quiet from 6pm onwards.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I recently stayed at Les Medes in Porquerolles island for a few days of vacations with my partner and baby.

The hotel is centrally located, about 500 meters from the pier (the hotel can provide a shuttle service for your luggages).
As we were there in off-peak period, the atmosphere was very calm (and price acceptable...). Staff was efficient and friendly.

The room was nicely decorated and furnished (I would say nicer than the one you will find on their website). It was large enough to fit in the baby cot (provided by the hotel for free).
The bathroom was very clean, with a nice bathtub.
There was a very convenient kitchenette inside the room, with was very convenient (by the way, don't forget to bring your own food from the continent, as the options on the island are as poor as the price is high;-).

I would definitively return to Les Medes if I had to go back to Porquerolles.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkkonummi, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Location was great in the middle of everything. Breakfast was great and there were many things to choose from comparing other breakfasts which we have had during our trip. Room was clean, big enough for two, there was a small kitchenette in case some would like to make their own breakfast, lunch etc.

The island is just wonderful. June was good month to visite island as there were not yet so many people wondering around.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Residence Les Medes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Residence Les Medes

Address: Rue de la Douane, 83400 Porquerolles Island, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Iles d'Hyeres > Porquerolles Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Porquerolles Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel & Residence Les Medes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Residence Les Medes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.