We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mas du Langoustier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Mas du Langoustier to your Saves list
Le Mas du Langoustier
Ile de Porquerolles, 83400 Porquerolles Island, France   |  
Hotel amenities
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't go here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Service was bad, promised a shuttle bus to come get us in 15 mins, turned into 45 min wait. We wouldnt have minded 45 just as long as we knew! The room originally given had a strong smell of mould. Not what you expect at this price. We were given a better room so that did work out. At dinner, the sommelier rushed by and slapped the bottle on the table,unopened and it felt only by chance came by later to bother to open it. Spilled the wine into the glass and on the table. I totally don't mind this stuff but don't charge me 600 Euro a night for the priviledge of being served with chaos like this. If this had been 200 Euro a wonderful place to stay. Its just not what you expect for Michelin rated $$$$ venue.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    58
    38
    21
    10
See reviews for
50
137
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

As part of our honeymoon, I wanted to show my American wife my favorite place in my country (France) : the Golden Islands, off Toulon on the French Riviera.
Not many upscale places to stay there, so I went for the Mas du Langoustier, despite the tripadvisor reviews.
First of all, I really don't get those negative reviews. People are different I guess. They absolutely don't reflect what we experienced.
It's true that the location is so unique (only hotel on this side of the island, only upscale hotel on the island, unbelievable views, 2 small but nice and uncrowded beaches - which is rare on porquerolles) that they could get away with almost anything.
The hotel itself is nice. We got a Superior room, a 3rd (and last) floor with a balcony and Garden+Ocean view, very nice. The room itself was huge by French standards, King size bed, big spot clean bathroom, tiles on the floor, white walls - not at all like the old style furnished room you see on their website. Way better IMO.
But you don't come here for the room, at least not during the day.
Porquerolles is great to discover by foot, it's small enough, and the hotel shuttle will bring you back to the center (15min drive on dirt roads) once or twice per hour. Btw, the shuttle is a brand new Mercedes Benz bus, not a rusty old van anymore I guess.
I would recommend the Plage Notre Dame and the Calanque du Breganconnet as hikes on the island, as well as climbing on top of the Mount Vinaigre on Port Cros if you decide on a day trip there using the ferry boat that leaves a 2pm.
But what we'll remember the most is the food. The hotel has two restaurants, a very good one (La Pinede, whose dinner is included in the half board price) and an unbelievably good one (L'Olivier, 1 star in the Michelin Guide, that doesn't seem much for people who only dine at 2 or 3 stars, but it's more than enough let me tell you !). We dined once at la Pinede, and twice at L'Olivier. Both times at l'Olivier cost us 250 euros, of which you substract 30 euros or so that your dinner at la Pinede would have cost. We got the tasting menu the first night and it was great. Probably 8 dishes in a row, all delicious. And the cheese plate is very nice, 20 varieties probably.
Lastly, it sounds hard to get there but it's not that bad. We got to Toulon in a Night train (Hyeres would have been better but there was no connection), then a bus to "La Tour Fondue" on the Giens Peninsula (~1h) and from there boat to the island (~20 min). At the Porquerolles harbor, the bus is waiting for you or you'll wait maybe 30 mins to get the next ones if you're during "rush hour", when 3 boats arrive in 1 hour.
Best times to visit Porquerolles are probably May June and September, however we did it at the end of July and feared the crowds - it's crowded OK, but mostly in the village and the 2 popular beaches, the rest is pretty calm, and at the end of the day, the tourists leave the island, and the Western tip of it, with Le Mas du Langoustier and its guests, is alone watching the sunset.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2006

Frame of reference: we eat in Michelin restaurants every month in various European cities. We live in Monaco and have realistic benchmarks for restaurants and hotels which charge upwards of EUR 400 per room per night.

My wife and I were going to stay in this hotel for 2 nights, but once we arrived we decided to shorten our stay, and here's why.

- Upon arrival from the ferry which departed Hyères, we spotted a dirty white van which read "Mas du Langoustier". Our luggage was loaded in, and we took our seats. This van was not air conditioned, and the handle on the door was replaced with a coathanger wire (see photo). The seats were unconfortably small and the knees of the person behind you poke in your back.

- Once we went through the gates of the property, our first impression was that we had arrived at the servant's quarters, with unkept, pothole-ridden dusty roads and old dirty trucks parked in plain sight and littering the lot. However, the main building of the hotel was well kept. The first impression of the property & management was bad due to the above points.

- we were politely greeted at the well-kept reception (no airco though), and our luggage was stored in the luggage room, since our room wouldn't be ready until check in at 15:00. We were offered to change and shower in the semi-public shower & changing room adjacent to the hotel bar, which we did, so we could explore the premises.

POOL: we walked to the pool from the main building. Our shoes and legs were filthy by the time we arrived because there was only a dusty path to the pool. The pool was disappointingly small (I estimate 6 x 12 m) and the grounds were unkept. A big sign declared that the pool had been built in 2005, and by whom. I don't see how this is relevant to guests. The pool was not nearly as nice as it looked in the wide-angle arial shot in the hotel brochure. There was no staff in sight to give us a towel, chair or refreshment, so we continued exploring the premises.

BEACH: poor signage first led us to the wrong beach, we then found the two small, littered, nearby beaches which are so prominently advertised by the hotel. First off, the hotel does NOT have a private beach. The hotel has claimed a littered, sandy strip of 70m which is staffed by by a non-uniformed, bare-chested, unshaven young man who let us wait for 15 minutes before we saw another person return a towel, and understood he was with the hotel, and we approached him. We would never have thought that he belonged to the hotel, considering he looked like a teenage tourist. After we asked him if we could get some chairs, he moved two worn foam matresses on the sand under an old parasol and gave us two old towels. There is nowhere to buy water or a snack and there is not even a logo on the towels.

The water is wonderful, albeit busy with boats. The beach is littered, in part thanks to the one hotel staff who had littered his station with empty plastic bottles. There was much debris on the beach, which nobody had bothered to rake. Unacceptable.

ROOM: we booked a superior room. Upon entering, the room was ca. 20m2 and smelled of chemicals, presumingly pesticide. The furnishings were old. Not in a charming way, but in a let’s-Cut-costs-and-milk-this-guest-out kind of way. Spacious bathroom, but no new roll of toilet paper upon arrival and a misaligned bathtub. A mismatched, wooden glass table was standing in front of one of the wash bassins for a mysterious reason. Outside the room, some cheap plastic furniture was meant as a patio. This place seems to miss an eye for detail. At these prices, we expect more.

RESTAURANT: no real complaints. Food was good, but it surprises me that they received a Michelin star, but perhaps these ratings aren’t to be taken too seriously anymore. Also here: a missing eye for detail. They mixed up our order, and the waitress didn’t hear us, so we had to swap our own plates (this may sound fussy, but when you’re used to eating and paying for a Michelin starred restaurant, you are allowed to be fussy). The quality of the food was good, but certainly not exceptional. Breakfast was good. Lunch was good. Fair prices on the latter.

PREMISES: our favorite feature of this hotel was the chairs under the pine trees in the back yard of the hotel. This was unique and very pleasant and relaxing up until people started shouting and yelling at each other because there were no chairs left.

CLEANLINESS: we noticed blood drops on the floor leading from the restaurant to the bar to the aforementioned public toilet, most likely from a heavy nosebleed. The disturbing fact was that these (now dried up) blood spots were still there the next morning and afternoon. This is very bad hygiene, also considering there were lots of young children present.

SERVICE: the staff is very young, perhaps too young and unexperienced, considering the informal attitude carried throughout the hotel, with the exception of the front desk staff which is up to par.

WHY WE WILL NEVER COME BACK TO THIS HOTEL: After breakfast (09:30 AM), we went back to our room to change for the beach, only to find that our luggage, which we had not yet completely packed (bags were still open, magazines and shoes were still laying around, safe not emptied), had been moved to the luggage room, and our magazines had been thrown away! We had not yet checked out, since checkout is at noon and we wanted to go snorkeling. We have never encountered this in our travels. To make matters worse, the maid was very loud, aggressive and rude and told us to change and shower in the public bathroom. When we told her that we had the room until noon, if we wanted to, she proceeded to clean the room while loudly protesting to her superior. It was a horrible feeling being “kicked out” of our hotel room.

CONCLUSION: This place is overpriced and overrated! The island is wonderful, but make it a day trip and stay in St. Tropez. For the amount of money that this hotel charges, you can find a better hotel for sure. If you want to stay the night in Porquerolles, stay elsewhere. In our opinion, this hotel would have matched our expectations of a 3-star hotel (it claims 4 stars).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Overpriced, overrated, staff.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book another hotel, or have a look in real life before you book.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

This was our second trip to Le Mas du Langoustier, a one-of-a-kind old estate turned hotel situated on top of a magnificent double bay on the Mediterranean island of Porquerolles. Michelin-starred dining in the evening and rugged outdoor experiences in a rare and unique ecosystem during the day.

A stay at this hotel is unique and not for everyone - but if you're the right match, it will be magical.

The old Mas (farmhouse) was the family estate of the people who owned the island before it became property of France, and many of the original fixtures are still here; the aesthetic of the interiors has aquired a mellowed, aged patina - when banisters or finishes become worn, they are not ripped out and renovated. If you are used to the shiny, flawless perfection of a constantly-renovated Ritz-Carlton, you could be disappointed; on the other hand, the old-money authenticity of the place has real charm.

Rooms vary in size and amenities. On our first trip, we booked a superior room - padded silk walls, a huge bathroom with walk-in shower and separate large tub in pink marble, and two big windows to throw open to catch the sea breezes. Toilet in a separate water closet in the civilized European fashion. On the second trip, we booked what we thought was the same level of room, but were shown to a room identically decorated but with a conventional bathroom and less square footage. When I asked about it, we were moved with no fuss - but no chagrin, either.

Half-board is mandatory, so you receive breakfast and dinner with your stay, and new guests should note: rates are per PERSON (not per room) per night. We paid $225 per person per night in the shoulder season. Breakfast is generous and varied for France - beyond the bakery abondanza, there are cold meats, yogurts, cheeses, fresh-squeezed orange juice that you make yourself with a curious machine, and you can steam an egg; omlettes are available on request, but the French staff doesn't suggest them as breakfast is not a protein-first experience in France. Dinner is the star of the show, with an amuse course, choice of two starters and two entrees plus dessert, cheese course, and coffee. Beverages are separate and could include the island's good rose. The adjoining gastronomic restaurant is also available to guests for an added charge - but many of the dishes are the same, and this restaurant has a Michelin star; people come in from Monaco and the Riviera on helicopters and yachts to eat here. The restaurant also serves lunch on the wide, graceful terrace that looks over the sleepy courtyard to the sea and abandoned forts beyond.

The real star of this property is the island itself - a black sand beach and a red sand beach back-to-back, dramatic cliff drops to the blue/emerald sea, and two ruined forts. You can walk two minutes from the hotel and be in a landscape that conjures up pirates and Lord Nelson's battleships. The maquis (rugged native flora hugging the hillsides) is a riot of color and texture; when we were there, the gulls were raising their children and flying dramatically close. While the beaches are public, they also require quite a commitment for non-guests to reach - so what you are partially paying for is the perfect and private situation of the property between sea, sky, cliff, woodland, and sand.

Staff are all very young - but they are true professionals who know their business and seem unflappable. Most speak excellent English as well as French, of course. There are lots of staff to help you, but services are more limited than you would expect for this price - room service has only limited hours and menu, there are no organized activities, and the hotel is not particularly helpful in arranging boat or bicycle rentals. If you don't fly in by helicopter, you take the shuttle from the port where the ferry drops you, and if you come at a peak time, you might be stuffed into a rickety pickup truck if the shuttle van is full - this can be a dusty expereince and rather like an unplanned safari. However, this is all part of the adventure, and you must keep in mind that that hotel delivers on every one of its four official stars - even though the price is also elevated to reflect the cost of doing business on an island where only the residents have cars, and to reflect the spectacular site.

There is an attractive pool that is moderately heated (solar) with a full bar staff and all of the usual amenities, although you have to hike through the staff "quarters" to reach it - rather unelegant.

This hotel is deeply relaxing and helps create a real connection with nature. If you are person who needs lots of planned activity options and need many different high-stimuli activities, it's not for you. If your idea of heaven is to have a liesurely breakfast on a sunlit terra cotta terrace, hike the cliff trails along the beaches all morning, take a liesurely buffet salad lunch on the terrace with a local wine, spend a couple of hours rolling on the beach and a couple of hours napping in the comfy chairs under the pines - then end your day with a spectacular provencal meal - this hotel is heaven.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
595 reviews 595 reviews
224 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
1,041 helpful votes 1,041 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2003

This hotel is located a long way from the port on the island but runs a small shuttle bus between the hotel and the port. Otherwise it is an hour's walk on this otherwise largely traffic-free island. We enjoyed an expensive drink in its bar about 3 years ago. Its outdoor restaurant was not taking non-resident lunchtime bookings over the May 1 2003 public holiday. The overall appearance and demeanour of this hotel is up-market.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Mas du Langoustier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas du Langoustier

Address: Ile de Porquerolles, 83400 Porquerolles Island, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Iles d'Hyeres > Porquerolles Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Porquerolles Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Mas du Langoustier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Du Langoustier Hotel Porquerolles Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mas du Langoustier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.