We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food indifferent room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel du Lion d'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel du Lion d'Or to your Saves list
Grand Hotel du Lion d'Or
69, rue Georges Clemenceau, 41200 Romorantin, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Romorantin
Sydney
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful food indifferent room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

As a party of four, we stayed recently at this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant SENSATIONAL but the rooms lacked the charm and grace that I expect from a R&C establishment. There is no reason to stay in the town except to eat at this restaurant. The raspberry souffle was to die for! I agree that the rooms were overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

Good mix of old (features) and new (technology, lighting etc). Good sized room. Large well equipped bathroom. Our room (number 6) had balcony overlooking courtyard garden. Restaurant is pretty good too (1 Michelin star).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

This was a really lame and old hotel. I was extremely surprised that it was part of the Relais and Chateaux group. Totally unimpressed with the quality of the room for the price. The photos speak for themselves. We would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Didier Clement has earned his rep. as a brilliant chef. According to the website, his wife manages the hotel; Her book about her love for vegetables (for sale in the rooms and lobby) suggests the real possibility that her interest falls more on the food side of things. We stayed in room 3 which is sizable, spotlessly clean, and really, truly ugly. This place is anachronistic and not in a really charming way. Still, it was en route, double pained glass ensured it was silent at night, the staff was very helpful when I could find them, the bed was comfy and need I repeat, the food ...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed here for two nights and we found the hotel to be reasonably good. However, we did think it was slightly expensive, especially as our room which had dated furnishings (purple bathroom!). Our room was a good size.

The food menu looked very nice, but unless you are wanting a Michelin star meal (with the corresponding prices), there is no other option. The breakfast was overpriced - there is a very nice bakery across the road. We elected to eat elsewhere.

Lastly, we were charged EUR13 per night for parking, which I thought was a bit cheeky.

In all, this is a nice hotel and the service was very good. However, the prices and limited choice on food let it down.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haute Savoie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

My husband and I stopped at this hotel for one night. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are well equipped and comfortable, but the breakfast was way overpriced. For 24euros per person we received basically a continental breakfast with a few small pieces of fruit! Better to go around the corner and eat at the local brasserie.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loeten, Norway
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2006

I thorougly enjoyed my lunch in this elegant and cozy dining room with view over an attractive courtyard garden. The rabbit consommé was a great find; I haven't encountered anything like it in other restaurants.

  • Liked — food, decor, service
  • Disliked — located in the center of a town that is of little interest to most tourists
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel du Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Lion d'Or

Address: 69, rue Georges Clemenceau, 41200 Romorantin, France
Location: France > Centre > Loir-et-Cher > Romorantin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Romorantin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel du Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel du Lion d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.