We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stop in Italy is buonissimo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Le Camelie

B&B Le Camelie
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B&B Le Camelie to your Saves list
B&B Le Camelie
Borgata San Quirico, 20, 28845 Domodossola, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Domodossola B&B and Inns
Whangaparaoa, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First stop in Italy is buonissimo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I was very happy to have chosen Le Camelie as my first stop in Italy. I'm leaving Italy soon, after 5 weeks spent all over Italy, and I would still rank Le Camelie as my favourite accommodation experience. The house is fabulous. The room, the view, the breakfast ... all excellent. And Carlo and Nuccia were perfect hosts. They gave me pointers on places to see and dine and they helped me with my rudimentary Italian in the most friendly way possible. I certainly hope to return to Domodossola, and Le Camelie, on my way home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
12
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leikanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We--two families with teenage daughters--spent one night at Le Camelie during our interrail travel from Norway to Northern Italy. We would have loved to stay longer.

The Tripadvisor photo does not do Le Cameilier justice--the building, the sorrounding park and the astonishing view is far better. Better take a look at the italian website http://www.beblecamelie.com/. Here you can also book rooms.

Although we do not speak a word of italian, and the owners do not speak a word of english we managed to book the room (google translate is wonderful!). When we arrived in Domodossola we took a taxi to the house (a bit far to walk with luggage). The owners greeted us in italian, but using body language + a few words of italian we had picked up from our travel guide, we managed to understand each other.

We had three rooms. All were wonderful with a view over the the park, the sorrounding mountains and the old church. The bathrooms were beautifully decorated and clean. The building is actually from 2008, although the architecture looks old. From the balcony you can switch on the water fountain with a remote control--fancy! The remote control is also used for opening the port--so you feel very safe.

In the afternoon we walked to the nearby monastry which is on UNESCOs world heritage list. A short and beautiful walk. In the evening we went to a nearby italian restaurant called Antica Tratttoria Pattarone. They served both exclusive seafood dishes as well as basic pasta/pizza dishes, which suited our families well.

The breakfast was served outdoor on the terrace of a little house with a kitchen. On the terrace we could sunbath and relax as well. We really enjoyed our stay, and would highly recommend this B&B to others--both because of the standard of the B&B and because of its lovely owners!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C. , Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I was a bit apprehensive about staying in Domodossola as I did not know much about it but was taking the Centevalle train trip and wanted to have a break. I booked at Le Camelie as the reviews on T.A. were so positive yet I wondered what I would get for such a reasonable price. The owner picked me up from the station as I had called from Locarno the day before to get instructions to the place and he said he would meet me at the station in his red Fiat. It would have been a bit of a hike walking there with a suitcase so I really appreciated his picking me up. He drove up to his estate and that is what it is! The villa is located on large park like grounds beautifully landscaped. The entrance to the floor with the 4 rooms they let out is separate and there is a separate little building with a kitchen/dining for breakfast. The weather was not great but there is a beautiful deck with chairs for relaxing in the sun. What a delightful surprise!!
I climbed the hill to see the UNESCO monastery site with the 14 little buildings housing the carvings of the stations of the cross. Even if one is not religious, it is well worth visiting. The scenery around Domodossola is spectacular. The food at the restaurants I ate at was delicious and half the cost of the ones I had in Switzerland. Without a suitcase, it is about a 20 min. walk into the old part of town and it is much more attractive than I had thought it would be. I would make Domodossla a destination for a day or two and stay at the beautiful Le Camelie!!

Room Tip: If at all possible book the large room with sitting area - very lovely and luxurious!!! However, all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed at the Camilie last summer. It is just outside Domodossola but it is in beautiful gardens and behind secure gates (not that that seems to be a problem in the area). The welcome was really friendly, the rooms perfectly clean and breakfast was fresh with good variety. Internet access is free. I was asked what I would like for breakfast and fresh brioche are bought from the local shops every morning. Breakfast was outside on the terrace, very nice. The only thing is that the owners speak no English, as seems to be normal in this part of Italy, so you must be able to speak Italian.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia/Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

When my husband and I stumbled upon this beautiful B&B we were very, very pleased. Firstly, it had good signs pointing to it, which can be unusual in Italy! The rooms are incredibly clean, comfortable and although only recently built, very charming. The couple who ran the B&B spoke zero English, but were very nice and made us feel very welcome. There is a very good restaurant just down the road and they put on a very beautiful breakfast in the morning.

Also, the price is very reasonable. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We originally wanted to stay in a place closer to the downtown area of Domodossola, but called this place after many of those were full (we booked the day before). Once we arrived, we were pleased to find Le Camelie was only a short walk from downtown (15 min) with a beautiful view of the mountains, gorgeous courtyard, and an extremely friendly welcome. Though the hosts did not speak much english, they were happy to help and we were able to muddle through a conversation with a combination of languages. Our room was amazing, large, clean, comfortable, and sunny, with a nice little balcony for a romantic glass of wine avec mountains. Breakfast was waiting for us in a separate, well-appointed kitchen with a sunny terrace...the little touches made our morning. Delicious coffee with steamed milk brought many smiles. As did the croissants, jams, fruits, etc. Though the rooms are in the same building as the hosts, they have a separate entrance and felt much like the best of both worlds: the privacy of a hotel and the comfort and friendliness of a B&B. When we left, we were given perfect recommendations on the best hiking and views in the area. We were so happy to have discovered this wonderful B&B. All in all, we had a fantastic time that was well worth the price. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Le Camelie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Le Camelie

Address: Borgata San Quirico, 20, 28845 Domodossola, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Verbano-Cusio-Ossola > Domodossola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Domodossola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your B&B Le Camelie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Le Camelie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.