We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I was expecting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Murano glass museum

Murano glass museum
Murano, Italy
041 2405211
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Murano glass museum like an insider
Private Tour
$135*
and up
Private Tour: Murano, Burano and Torcello...
Ranked #9 of 15 things to do in Murano
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Was expecting to see far more examples of the work, but instead it had a lot of pieces of glass or items from centuries ago and barely anything recent. It maybe that the museum is undergoing renovation but we left feeling disappointed.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    46
    41
    31
    28
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“amazing glasses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

a day tour from Princess Cruise vacation, it was pleasant and nice to see that glass making was invented in this litte island, I thought all glass product came from china.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Jaw dropping !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Didn't think I'd enjoy this, but the craftsmanship displayed really is jaw dropping !! From Roman times to the present day, the skill is unbelievable. If you can, spare some time to visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not the most impressive museum I've ever been to”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This museum is arranged over about 5 rooms each dedicated to a certain period. The most interesting part was the Roman stuff and the 17th Century glass. The layout was difficult to follow because a lot of stuff wasn't labelled up or you had to cross reference to a nearby explanation. I think it is being refurbished so maybe that will change. It's OK as something to kill an hour or so whilst you are in Murano but I wouldn't go there especially to see it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebbug, Malta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“nice if you really want to see glassmaking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Well since im from Malta was not impressed but was nice especially if you got kids, their artistic talent is excelllent

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murano glass museum also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Murano glass museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murano glass museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.