We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What do you expect for 3 stars?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Conterie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Conterie to your Saves list
Locanda Conterie
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Calle Conterie 21 | Murano Island, 30141 Murano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Murano B&B and Inns
sunderland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What do you expect for 3 stars?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 day stay & having read the reviews before, arrived in reception with a little trepidation. However quite the opposite experience ensued with a friendly response from the receptionist & considering it was 10am we were shown where to leave bags & freshen up as the room was understandably not ready yet.
I cannot understand some of the negative comments in earlier reviews, yes the room was small, the breakfast was fast food & the island was quiet on a night but as my review title says it was a 3 star hotel & if the island was too quiet then go back over to the jammed side streets of Venice. I for one was pleased to get away from Venice & the night life or lack of it is hardly the hotels fault.
Overall I found the experience just what I would expect for a 3 star establishment & would recommend this hotel to others who have realistic expectations. I often find that those who do not are either from "across the pond" or better suited to cruising around the Med on a floating deathtrap or possibly both!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    75
    47
    28
    21
See reviews for
21
113
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is an overrated hotel. Rooms are very small. They switch on AC's when you really need it. If you open windows room will be full of mosquitoes. I had sleepless nights to protect my daughter from Mosquitoes. As such not wise to stay in Murano, since lot of time goes in ferry. This is the worst hotel I have stayed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Murano hotels

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

First, the bed in our room was the most uncomfortable that I have ever slept on. Secondly, we were put into room #3 and could hear some sort of machine all night long which made it impossible to get a good night’s sleep. This is not the hotel fault but Murano closes down early in the evening making it difficult to do anything outside of the hotel after 6pm. The people at the front desk were helpful and polite, that being said I would not recommend that anyone stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Conterie for three days after arriving in Venice at the end of a cruise. Having visited Venice before, we decided to stay on one of the other islands and happily chose Murano.
The hotel is charming, having been the home of a glassworks family since 1500. it has been modernised and is comfortable, unpretentious and very good value. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is no lift, so travellers with mobility problems should ask for ground floor rooms on booking. The hotel has a ground floor and a first floor terrace garden and offers continental breakfast and a drinks service after 6.00pm.
Venice is just a few stops away by vaporetto / waterbus and the Alilaguna transfer boats between Venice and Marco Polo airport all stop at Murano so access is easy.
Another plus point is that Venice - with some notable exceptions - is not known for great food - the three restaurants we dined at on Murano were all excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet - there are no motor vehicles on the Island. Visitors with limited mobility woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

OK - where to begin.

We as a family have stayed in Venice several times. However - since we all like Murano and the other islands nearby we thought we would stay a couple of nights in a Murano hotel.

Not much choice here, so Hotel Conterie it was.

Now we wish it hadn't been.

Right from arrival it promised to be a disaster.

The room we were shown to was not the one we booked.

The lady (i think she was the owner) who showed us the room was the most awkward and miserable hotel host I have come across in a long time.

Next we needed a clean up having just arrived from a 2.5 hour flight and half hour boat trip.
The towels were few in number and worse than that, one was dirty and obviously a leftover from the previous occupants.

We needed a hot drink , and while i know that kettles are uncommon in Venetian rooms, we are used to getting one when asked for. I speak reasonable Italian and knew what to ask for. My request was met with a grunt and blank stare.

The bedding was damp in one of the beds and actually smelled damp. We ( self, wife and young daughter) ended up in the other bed together only to discover this one had bed-bugs which decided to attack my wife and daughter. Large bites still showing over a week later.

We did not even bother to mention this to the hotel management as going by the way they run their staff would have been a waste of time.

Breakfast (we'll call it that just for reference) was just awful. We know not to expect much in this region but waited 20 minutes for some luke warm water and a teabag between two and some broken rusk biscuits arrived before deciding to leave and go to the local osteria for some sustinance.

Mould, poor heating, grey water..... and ambiguous billing, all added up to a rather poor experience that I would not want anyone else to share.

When visiting Venice - appreciate that it IS expensive and can't really be enjoyed on a very tight budget. Put quality accommodation at the top of your list if you have gone to the effort and expense of getting here. Next, make sure you buy travel cards to get around, then make meals the next priority. There are great places to eat at reasonable prices.
Just dont stay here!!!!

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed for one night, immediately after his arrival at the airport. Very convenient location for a quick settlement (one stop from the airport by speedboat alilaguna) and subsequent visits to the islands of Burano, and Mozorbo Torchelo. Rooms small, but cozy. In late February, warm enough. Breakfast poor - coffee, croissants and muesli. Staff friendly, will be able to leave luggage after check-out until the evening, on a trip to the islands. Located away from the tourist trail, but it is easy to find (from the vaporetto stop 5 minutes walk from the boat stop alilaguna - 10-15 minutes). If you stay a while, then this hotel - very good choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This Hotel is located in a quiet area on Murano Island. The room is basic but fine overall. Location is the main problem with this hotel. Having to get boats to and from the main island get tiring and it makes you wish you spent the extra money to stay in a central location. Avoid the breakfast, unless you enjoy eating packet croissants and can fruit.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Conterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Conterie

Address: Calle Conterie 21 | Murano Island, 30141 Murano, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Murano
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Murano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Conterie 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Locanda Conterie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Conterie Hotel Venice
Locanda Conterie Murano, Italy - Province Of Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Conterie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.