We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice canalside restaurant in Murano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria ai Frati

Trattoria ai Frati
Fondamente Venier, 4 - Murano, 30100 Murano, Italy
+39 041 736694
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 30 Restaurants in Murano
Cuisines: Chowder
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Nice canalside restaurant in Murano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stopped here during our visit to Murano. Unfortunately it wasn't a nice day so we didn't sit out on the terrace by the canal.
However, the food was very good. I had ravioli with meat sauce, my wife had spaghetti with meat sauce. We both enjoyed our meals. Service was very prompt.

No complaints!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    37
    14
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

While on our trip to Venice, my husband and I spent a day in Murano. After walking around for awhile, looking at all the different glass shops and taking in the glass museum, we decided we should find somewhere for lunch. We came across this restaurant which is located right along the canal. Before we even walked in the door we were warmly greeted and welcomed inside the building. There were a number of locals standing up at the front counter enjoying a morning espresso along with spirited conversations. We were seated quickly and immediately brought over our menus. My husband decided to go with the ravioli and I tried the spaghetti bolognese. Our dishes were also very quick to come out and both were very flavourful. If we find ourselves back in Murano again we would have absolutely no problem with going back here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Mural of Local Life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our morning in Murano wandering around the glass shops was completed with lunch at this little trattoria by the side of the canal. A few locals were already seated at the rear of the restaurant, deep in intense and loud conversation between their shovels of pasta. There were four of us and we were directed to a choice of tables by an elderly waiter, one of two elderly gentlemen dashing backwards and forwards from the kitchen with steaming plates of hot pasta. It all looked good food, so what was good enough for the locals was our choice too. Two plates of pasta, a plate of mussels and a bowl of minestrone soup were duly ordered, plus a bottle of vino bianco de la casa (which turned out to be Pinot Grigio). Two plates of fresh crusty bread arrived promptly and the vino bianco was not far behind.

The dashing old gentlemen was efficent but grumpy and arrived in due course with our dishes. Excellent pasta ragu and spaghetti de mare were devoured with ease. The mussels, my wife said, were delicious and the minestrone soup a splendid mixture of pasta, fresh tomatoes and vegetables in a tasty consome. The wine was good too and the final bill was only 80 euros, A delightful lunch.

It was only on my way to find the bathroom that I spotted Trattoria ai Frati's magnificent mural on the wall at the rear of the establishment. Don't miss it - a colourful montage of the local characters that frequent this place on a daily basis. I spotted the two old waiters in the painting and the owner and some of those loud locals filling up with pasta. All local Murano life was there from inside and outside of this little trattoria.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Decent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Lovely location and looks quite classy. Food is standard Italian fare. €13.50 for nice chopped scallops and spaghetti dish of a good size. Cheap house wine was nice. Service a little slow but fine. Great spot for lunch I'd say

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
columbus, oh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely view, fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had lunch outside on the small pier overlooking a canal in Murano. Delicious fresh seafood-I had grilled shrimp that were a foot long and my husband had the misto-calamari and shrimp. We didn't order salads, but they did look pretty mediocre. We also had to seek out the waiter for our check, but the blue sky and ocean breezes made the wait bearable. As mentioned previously, there is a coperto (cover charge) of 2.50euro per person. It is pricey, but this is Venice. Everything in Venice is expensive!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria ai Frati also viewed

 
Murano, City of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria ai Frati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria ai Frati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.