We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murano for insiders” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Lina
Save
You added Villa Lina to your Saves list
Calle dietro gli Orti, 12, 30141 Murano, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Murano B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Murano for insiders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

There is Venice, and then there is Murano. While most first-time visitors to Venice hit the major sites, San Marco, the Rialto, the Bridge of Sighs, glass, specifially the glass produced in the famed furnaces on the islands of Murano holds an additional role in the identity of Venice. Villa Lina has a bit of the "back lot" feel of staying not only on the island where the magic happens, but also on the grounds of a quite prominent glass factory. True to its name, it is a "Villa," absolutely a home, on the water that one reaches after crossing through the gate of the factory. The grounds and the home are all tastefully decorated with artwork and lighting designed by the owner and his family. The decor is more contemporary than traditional, which is not easy to find, but most welcome in feeling less like one is visiting a museum than one of the most fascinating and romantic cities in the world. Evi is a wonderful host, and is sincere in her desire for her guests to have as authentic an experience as possible. The rooms are comfortable with all the details and amenities considered. As this is not a traditional hotel, guests are left to their own devices for most of the stay, but can count on some freshly baked pastry item to greet them at breakfast. Murano has come a long way in expanding the dining selections particularly for dinner, but if one wishes to venture into Venice or out to Burano, it is all easily accessible by vaporetto, with Venice only 10 minutes away.

Particularly in the midst of high season, Murano, and Villa Lina are a welcome refuge from the teeming crowds that fill the highly touristed areas of Venice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
42
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

A wonderful B&B on Murano, just a quick boat ride from Venice. Villa Lina is located in a glass factory and was the highlight of our trip with regards to accommodations. Primarily because of Evi Ferro, the effervescent and charming hostess.
Villa Lina is beautiful and comfortable, with wonderful pieces of glass ware/art everywhere in the home. Evi speaks very good English and truly makes you feel she is so happy to share her lovely home (and the wonderful gardens) with you. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and spacious (we stayed in the triple room). The quiet of Murano was a wonderful contrast after spending a day in the crowded and very tourist- focused Venice.
Evi was able to direct us to the restaurants where we had our best meals while in Venice. She also was able to direct us toward shopping values with regard to the lovely Murano glass. I can't say enough about how wonderful our stay at Villa Lina was!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Me and my wife stood in Murano instead of Venice and we did not regret.... if you wnat to stay away from the crowds during the night this is the place to stay... Dinner at Murano is very good with a very good selection of restaurants for - more important - a fair price.. which is hard to find in Venice sometimes...

The only drawback was the paid wifi connection... which for the price that is paid for the room should be free as it is in most good hotels.

To sum up if you want to save some money and have good sleep stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Wow! Its so hard to pick a favourite since everywhere we stayed in Italy was so wonderful, but this b&b shines; set inside an old glass factory owned by the family, on the island of Murano, a very quiet retreat from the crowds and noise of Venice which is a short ferry ride away. Evi is a charming and warm hostess, eager to make your visit a great one. The breakfasts are fabulous, with made to order eggs, and a pastry made fresh by Evi every morning. Our room was clean and comfortable with a fresh rose and biscuits, we didn't have a view to speak of, perhaps other rooms do, but we still enjoyed looking out on the local rooftops. The decor is amazing with glassware and fixtures designed by Evi's husband Carlo. The shops are lovely, with so many beautiful glass pieces and jewellery; the restaurants are reasonable with excellent meals, be aware though of the cover charges "coperto" which is common in Italy. Don't miss the island of Burano, a short water bus ride away. We would love to visit these islands again and would definitely stay at Villa Lina, its simply beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I found this B & B in an article last year, 2011, in Travel and Leisure magazine. I quickly booked a room for our stay in Venice, and never regretted a moment. It's away from all the noise, the mobs of people and crowds that Venice has. If you are looking for quiet, rest and relaxation while you visit Venice this is the place. And Evi, the owner and hostess is wonderful.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that faces the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed at Villa Lina for ten nights. It was great experience for us. Spacious room, very clean and daily upkeep was excellent. Breakfast was five stars hotel type with fresh baked cake every morning. Owners are very friendly people and Evi was always there to extend her hospitality with useful daily information like where is the best place to shop, dine and morning update about tide level...Located just 5 minutes from main waterbus stop at Murano with direct connection to Venice airport and every ten minutes connection to Venice. Highly recommended place to stay.

Room Tip: we stayed at room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed at the Villa Lina for 2 nights in April of this year. We wanted to visit Venice but stay away from the crowds on the main island; Villa Lina on Murano with its 3 rooms was just perfect. It was approximately 10 minutes (flat) walk from the waterbus jetty around the outside of the island (no crowds to fight your way through!).

Our host Evi made us very welcome with a drink on arrival, biscuits and chocolate in the room. She explained the waterbus system to us and recommended routes in order to visit the things we wanted to see. She provided us with a map of Murano, Venice main island and the waterbus timetables. She recommending good value places to eat and visit, away from the 'tourist areas' - she was so helpful.

The B&B is at the end of a glass factory and has an amazing terrace. The garden is secluded and beautiful, with sunloungers near the canal to relax on after sightseeing.

The rooms were immaculate with a comfortable bed and fitted to an extremely high specification - with the cleanest bathroom we have ever seen.

The Villa Lina is a great place to stay and I have recommended it to friends whom I hope will be taking advantage of it and Evi's hospitality next summer.

Room Tip: Look for "Osterias" (where locals eta) rather than restaurants to eat in; you will find be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Lina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lina

Address: Calle dietro gli Orti, 12, 30141 Murano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Murano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Murano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Lina is part of a beautiful XVI century building, owned by the famous glassmaker family Nason. The house has a big breakfast hall, a terrace with panoramic view on Venice, a beautiful garden facing the Laguna. The rooms and bathrooms are fully equipped and offers an elegant design. The owner, Mrs Evi, cares about all the needs of her guests, and will try to make the stay as pleasent as possible. The continental breakfast offers own made pies ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Lina Murano, Italy - Province Of Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Lina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.