We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Busa Alla Torre Da Lele

Busa Alla Torre Da Lele
Campo Santo Stefano 3, 30141 Murano, Italy
+39 041-739-662
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 29 restaurants in Murano
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The restaurant is located in what was once a wine cellar (there is a nice picture from 1900 inside). We had lunch here once. We arrived on Saturday, luckily quite early, because we did not reserved a table and it got quickly full. The food was very good. The waiters were kind and used to deal with foreigners (they speak a little bit of English and the menu is available in English); being the restaurant full, with people waiting outside, they have been a little bit overwhelmed and the service got slightly slow. At some point the owner arrived. He is a massive guy that definitely knows how to run his restaurant. Quickly got an idea of the status and started giving instructions to the waiters to speed up the service. Nevertheless, even if they speed up the service, they did not put pressure on us to leave. The owner was also very attentive to his customers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    104
    120
    28
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
beijing
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“totally over-rated.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went there off-season and it was the only rainy half-day in 5 days, so we didn't really choose. But frankly, this was worst quality/price we did in venice. The big guy "Lele" is on photos all over the walls (that was a pretty bad sign, as bragging is rarely a quality), and also all inside the restaurant. Talking loud in the mobile telephone walking around is quite disturbing (okay, okay, we know it's your restaurant ; and sorry to get into your place !).
We had a good look into the kitchen, where industrial pomodoro sauce cans were opened, and crab shells ready to be filled could be seen.
At the end more than 100 euros for 3 and a kid, where we never exceeded this for lunch.
Go past this one. If needed, go back to Venice, where you'll find quality food and better service for far cheaper.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best restaurant in Murano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Fresh fish, simply prepared with passion. Murano is very touristic with destination with day trippers from Venice, I also got the impression it is also a feeding outlet for tired Murano glass shoppers. However, this restaurant caters for food lovers. We had a selection of fried fish + calamares + fresh pasta that was truly delicious. The house wine is correct and the bread is also very good. Sadly, the desserts, laid at the entrance of the restaurant did not look "soigne" as I would have expected. Friendly service supervised by the larger than life owner. In the summer you can eat outside. Good idea to make a reservation during busy periods.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Adorable place :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The and I were in Venice in Nov, bit cold. Found this place on the square and decided it looked nice enough :) We ordered the mix seafood grill and prosecco. Very well priced, and nice food, if a bit cold. Chips were excellent! haha :) Oh and the sun came out! The staff were sweet, and they fed left over bread to the birds; albiet right by the tables. I didn't mind, I like animals, but I think the other customers weren't as amused by a seagull gulping an entire breadroll in one XD

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Had a lovely lunch at Busa, enjoying the warm autumn sun on this charming little square in Morano. Literally watching the life go by, as a mix of locals and tourists flood between the two outdoor sections spreading out across the small piazza and get engaged and enticed by the gregarious owner. The waiter's recommendations were spot on: the antipasti del giorno a copious platter of the freshest local seafood, including species of scallops and crustaceans we had never seen before. My son's plate of seppie was overflowing and delicious, so was my variation of linguine with heaps of tiny local vongole. The house wine was fresh and tasty, an excellent complement to a delightful meal. Despite all that copious fresh seafood, the bill was very reasonable indeed. One of the best memories of our Venice trip

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Busa Alla Torre Da Lele also viewed

 
Murano, City of Venice
 

Been to Busa Alla Torre Da Lele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Busa Alla Torre Da Lele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.