We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid - may have once been a stunner, now a tourist trap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Busa Alla Torre Da Lele

Busa Alla Torre Da Lele
Campo Santo Stefano 3, 30141 Murano, Italy
+39 041-739-662
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 30 restaurants in Murano
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Avoid - may have once been a stunner, now a tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

What we liked:

- Lovely setting with outdoor tables
- Excellent flavours


What we think could be improved:

- All tourists in the restaurant were pushed towards the "special" antipasto which was not on the special. The owner wanted to surprise us (& indeed he did, when the bill arrived). I noted that only tourists were offered this special starter & I'm not surprised as it was E25 per person!! for an antipasto. We were a party of 5 and could easily have shared one antipasto but 5 arrived. We were being taken advantage of shamelessly.

- We also noticed that tourist groups were pushed towards a special of the day in a pretty aggressive way. One of our small group of 5 was told by the owner that they didn't want the prime that they ordered, that they in fact wanted a different one. Surprise, surprise, this one was more expensive than the one originally requested...

- Coperto plus 12% service charge were applied to the bill.

In summary, the food is good but we feel that tourists are being taken advantage of. We were not a loud group of obnoxious tourists - we were a family just wanting a nice lunch. The bill for 5 antipasti plus 5 primi came to over E230 for lunch. The food was nice but not that nice.

You can do better in Venice for considerably less.

I suggest you either avoid or be very careful about recommendations made by the owner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    108
    126
    28
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scarborough england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“lucky find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We followed our noses in the back streets of Murano and came across this little gem. We managed to get a table outside in the sunshine and were served promptly and efficiently. As we didn't want anything heavy we just ordered the grilled fish for two and a bottle of Pinot Grigio, but regretted not being very hungry when the man on the table near us started tucking into a fragrant plate of spaghetti vongole. Our fish was perfectly cooked and the fact we could relax in the sun with no hassle, watching the world come and go, made our lunch even better. It was our best meal in Venice and we would have gone back in the evening if we hadn't made other plans.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A monument to arrogance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We ate here on Sunday lunchtime. It's priced a little higher than average, but you couldn't tell from the decor or atmosphere, very small, closely spaced tables.

The owner, a giant bear of a man, is very pleased with himself, and struts around the place like he owns it (which of course he does, but there's no humility here, don't dare to complain if you don't like something).

The food was mostly ok, but the scampi pasta was made with very small (i.e. cheap) scampi (langoustines), the sea bass, recommended by the waiter, was disgustingly awful, and the grilled vegetables were awful, and cold.

The bill was €120.50, and they decided to just make this into €130. Why? I don't really know, but I guess this was 'service charge'. The service was disinterested, unless you had managed to engage with them, we just sat there for about 15 minutes, despite being seated right next to the bar and kitchen (and getting continually brushed by passing waiters as a result), wanting dessert, having finished our main courses - had to stop a waiter to get any service.

The walls are literally covered with portraits of the owner. Dozens and dozens of them. I suggest you refrain from boosting his oversized ego any further, and avoid this place, which has menus translated into German and had no locals in sight.....

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“outstanding meal in the middle of murano bustle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We managed to get the last table without reservation following endless Saturday browsing for Murano glass items and it turned out to be a wonderful surprise all around. Service was warm and polite with the owner circling the tables, chatting ably in the bright April sun. The menu mostly offers fish which was by far the best our group has had during the whole Venice trip and everything is extremely simple and tasty with prices that are much below the ordinarily blood-curdling Venice tabs. Particularly the fish was very fresh and the secondo of fried fish was said to be exemplary.
For desserts we tried tiramisu and a liquid hybrid between sorbetto and spumante in a high glass which was very good. In total we ended up spending around 140 euro for 3 antipasti, 3 primi and 2 secondi, 3 desserts (for 5 people). Also the ample outdoor serving sits in the middle of a magnificent square, currently adorned with a large glass sculpture in blue. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Simple but quite nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We had a lovely leisurely lunch here in the blazing sunshine, located in a little square overlooking the canal and a magnificent people-watching location. I had the beef fillet with salad which was OK (cooked too long, even though I asked for it to be rare in Italian, perhaps not very well), but my husband had the tourist menu at 15 euros which was extremely good value and very tasty. We had to ask about the set menu (which we learned about from our guide book) as they didn't seem to promote it at all. Not sure about the plastic chairs. We had a bottle of house white which was most acceptable and left us in a pleasant daze to wander around Murano unwisely spending too much on a glass souvenir.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Busa Alla Torre Da Lele also viewed

 
Murano, City of Venice
 

Been to Busa Alla Torre Da Lele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Busa Alla Torre Da Lele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.