We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Morghen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Morghen to your Saves list
Villa Morghen
Via Feliceto 8, 50135 Settignano, Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Settignano
Radolfzell am Bodensee, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Villa Morghen has its location as a big plus. One has a beautiful view of the city, the staff is very helpful. Without a car it is a bit difficult to reach though. The place is mainly used by student groups, so it can become a bit noisy. Breakfast could be improved. The rooms are simply furnished, but the place is clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
4
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at the Villa Morghen for just under two weeks and loved it. It sits just outside of Florence in olive garden country. The view of florence and the countryside is beautiful. It's location is quiet and peaceful. The walk to the bus is short and transportation to florence is easy. Trails, fig, peach and walnut trees, and a soccer field surround the villa. They serve wonderful dinners, pack you sack lunches, and serve you breakfast. They are very accomadating towards vegans, vegetarians, and allergies. All of the staff are friendly. Love exploring this place. The villa is attached to a beautiful church and the basement has a ping pong table. Great place to hang out including the computer room. Although the rooms are clean, the bathrooms could be cleaned a little better.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing South or West. They have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I love this place. I came with a group of students, and we, like anyone else, enjoy the city. Being up here, far above the noise, the dirt, and the bustle of the busy streets below is fantastic. We eat, sleep, meet, and enjoy each other in peace, but at any time, we can walk briefly up the hill and go to town on the regular bus. The only disadvantage is that the last bus is at ten-- too early sometimes.

The rooms were clean, the service was great, and the villa itself is a very cool place to stay. I would definitely come back here, whether I were writing or painting, or adventuring into the city or the hills. Either way, i'm going to miss coming back to this amazing view and these lovely hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The staff at villa morghen are superbly helpful and quite amicable. The grounds are quaint and the view of Florence is splendid. My group was provided with three meals a day: breakfast, a bag lunch, and dinner. One night, we were even invited to take a cooking class and prepare our own dinner, Italian style. The rooms are comfortable, and the staff, I will say again, are stupendously friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Villa Morghen is located 15/20 minutes by bus outside of Florence (bus is frequent and on time!) but check for location of bus stop in Florence as it seems to change from railway station to Pzza San Marco. keep an eye out for the sign to get off at the nearest bus stop or you will have to walk back from the village. Villa Morghen does have a great view of Florence but it also had - when i was there very noisy American cultural exchange students that paid absolutely no consideration to any other guests. Rooms price was too much for what was in my opinion a very basic room but everything was clean. Breakfast which is included in the price was very sparse. Try and make it to Villa Gamberera in the village which has one of the most spectacular gardens in all of Italy and a view of Florence that is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KS
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This has to be one of the best views in the world. Being in a cultural center, it is also a great environment for meet a great group of international folks. The place has been recently renovated, but in many rooms, there are remains of centuries old frescoes. The beds are just fine and there are ensuite bathrooms. Just a few steps away from Villa Morghen is a wonderful cafe (Desedeiro, I believe) and some nice little bars. There is also a lovely gelato shop. It is a quick bus ride down to Florence on the city bus number 10.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Beautiful historic building, incredible views of Florence. The only negative thing I can say about this place is that it tends to get very noisy sometimes. They also run cultural institute and its usually full of really loud and annoying American teenages, who tend to hang out outside until the early hours without any consideration for anyone else. Villa Morghen really needs to decide whether they run a hotel or a summer camp for American kids, because they cant go on being both things at once.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Morghen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Morghen

Address: Via Feliceto 8, 50135 Settignano, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Settignano
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Settignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Morghen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Morghen Settignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Morghen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.