We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wildlife Viewing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Wildlife Park

Discovery Wildlife Park
4200 53rd Street Close, Innisfail, Alberta T4G 1T8, Canada
(403) 227-3211
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Innisfail
Attraction details
Grangeville, Idaho
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Wildlife Viewing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have visited the Discovery Wildlie Park in Innisfail Alberta 3 times now, traveling all the way from Idaho, with my most recent visit in July 2012. I totally love this place.

DWP is a zoo, but it's much, much more than that. It's an experience. All, or most, of the animals are orphaned, and DWP has provided a safe and loving santuary for them to flourish in. The goal of the Park is to educate the public about wildlife rescue and conservation. While DWP is not an exceptionally large, fancy facility such as you would find in larger cities, it is beautifully landscaped and very clean. The animals are very well cared for and loved. Unlike in most zoos, at DWP you are able to get up right close and personal with the animals, many of which you can pet through the fence. It is however, best to visit during cooler hours of the day if you want to see the animals when they are most active. The Park offers several different animal presentations throughout the day, including bear presentations that are awesome. After the bear presentations you have the opportunity to have your picture taken with one of the bears, who are all movie stars by the way, separated by a hot wire. The experience is completely safe, and well managed.

The Park owners, trainers, zoo keepers, and staff are all awesome, very friendly and more than willing to answer any questions you may have. For those with disabilities, they offer golf cart rentals to assist you in getting around the Park. The main Park building contains a small fast food area and a fully stocked gift shop with something for the whole family. In order to take in all of the animal presentations and experience the whole Park, you need to plan on spending the day. There are also other attractions as well along the stretch of highway between Calgary and Edmonton, so one could plan quite a vacation just visiting this part of Alberta. Plus, DWP is only a 2 1/2 hour drive from Banff National Park, and even less traveling distance to the Dinosaur Trail and the Hoodoos near Drumheller AB.

I highly recommend a visit to the Discovery Wildlife Park. It will truly be an experience that you and your children will remember for a lifetime. I am already planning my return trip during the summer of 2013.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    6
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great animal park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

It's best to visit here in the morning durning the summer before the animals get too hot and hide out. There is lots of interesting things to learn here about the animals and the staff are great about teaching you. There are many movie star animals here :D very cool to meet these celebrities. They care very much for these animals and their love for them is obvious :D

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Kissed by Bokers The Bear”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Who's Bonkers well officially he is a black bear but I wonder am I bonkers for getting up front and so personal with a real live black bear that he planted a kiss on my chhek. What a highlight. The Bear experience free with admission (apart from photo opportunities) makes the Park worthwhile. Whilst small and with small enclosures there is a variety of animals Lions, Jaguar, Bison, Squirrels, Wolves, alligator etc but the Kodiak Bears and the Black Bear are the real attractions. Senior discounts apply also. A golf cart $10 per hour is a must for those who cant walk far but be quick as the mums get them to take the kids around. Parents do the right thing for your kids and make them walk that way they may avoid becoming fat adults! The twice daily bear experience 1pm & 4.30pm allow everyone to see the trained bears up close and dispel animal cruelity practices in paid work. Then follows at $20 +tax the photo shoot of a lifetime you can become Barney the Kodiaks supper or sit in with bonkers for a one on one kiss. Perhaps they need to address the longish walk from the car park to the entrance for disabled persons as a gravel road isnt ideal.The shop has a cafe (limited) and a gift show with three rooms of small creatures that can also get up personal eg a corn snake.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing place for both people and animals!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

There is lots to see for only $14 but I highly recommend the extras!! We did the $10 close up tour with the orphan grizzly, Tuff, and we got the $20 photo with a bear!!! All the animals are treated well and are regularly stimulated by the very caring and knowledgable staff! You get to see world famous TV and movie star bears as well as a variety of other animals! I plan on going again! Try going on a cooler day if you want the animals to be more active, but the heat did cause one giant Kodak bear to sit and play in the pond for quite a while.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It's okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

For this kind of facility, it's about average. The enclosures are not very big and the animals are bored.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to Discovery Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Wildlife Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.