We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Class Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goldstone Hall Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Market Drayton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goldstone Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goldstone Road, Market Drayton TF9 2NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Market Drayton
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“1st Class Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I was trying to find a hotel near Stafford ahead of a meeting and stumbled across Goldstone Hall on the internet. I agreed a fair price for 2 nights dinner, B&B and was very impressed with the whole experience. The service and food were the stars of the show for me, followed closely by the location, house and gardens. I was in a standard double room which was very spacious, had a huge bathroom and great views out over the gardens. Although my visit was due to business, I wouldn't hesitate in returning with my family for a holiday stay. Great hotel, and once again, the food is fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
21
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

This is a delightful country house hotel in a very quiet area. The rooms are very spacious - i had booked a standard room and it was far larger than most hotel rooms, as was the very large ensuite. The rooms are well thought out (touches included home made biscuits in the bedroom, and fresh milk in the bedroom fridge for tea/coffee). The gardens and communal rooms are excellent, and the food was very good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Everything wonderful. Hotel, food, staff and location could not have been better. We had a beautiful room that was huge, the only reason I have given sleep quality four was because we ate so much of the delicious food it was difficult to sleep, nothing to do with the quality of the bed. Would certainly stay again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

My friend got married at goldstone hall in may and my daughter was bridesmaid.
The ceremony was held in the new oak pavillion which was situated in the beautiful hotel gardens.The gardens are truly wonderful and I have never seen such lovely unusual plants and trees,they even have their own fruit and veg garden.The garden was lit up at night with lanterns and was just perfect.
All the rooms in the hotel were booked by our wedding party so we saw quite a few of them.The rooms were very large,really clean, decorated to a very high standard,beautiful beds,big bathrooms and everything you would need .
The wedding food was excellent and the breakfast the following morning was a pleasure,You could choose how you wanted your egg,what type of sausage and bacon etc and all free range .The jams etc were all home made and they even had the honey on the honeycomb,plenty of fresh fruit and much more.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borders
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Quiet location which can be hard to find in the dark. Very welcoming front hall where you sign in and are shown all the way to your room by switched on staff. Rooms are spacious and have Sky TV, plenty of bottled water, tea and coffee. Robes in the bathroom and high standard of decor/antique furnishings and fabrics. The beds are extremely comfortable. Dinner menu is good and there is also a lighter menu and food quality is generally excellent. I stayed here on business but would be quite happy to stay here for a short break or weekend away. I would not take the kids!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London.England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

A high quality place with beautiful rooms which are comfortable quiet and spacious. Excellent large bathrooms too - with separate bath and shower (in our superior room). Breakfast was also distinctly higher quality - excellent cooking and unusual extras such as homemade marmalade and jam, honeycomb and a good choice of fruit. A very quiet setting with attractive distant views of the countryside.

  • Liked — Room size, quality furnishings, comfortable bed/pillow
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

We stayed here while attending a wedding in the hotel. As the groom had booked our room for us we weren't entirely sure what to expect, but on arrival we looked the comfortable, welcoming reception area and our large and stylish room. (I think this was one of the better 'Bedchamber' ones). Complimentary homemade biscuits and cafetiere and teapot were really nice touches. My only criticism would be breakfast. Maybe the large wedding party who had eaten earlier than us had made it harder, but when we came down for breakfast, comfortably within the stated serving times, there were no staff around. We had to go and look for them in other roooms. They did eventually bring some food, but it was a bit cold, and we still had to ask for orange juice, glasses, tea, and teacups separately. And go and find our own cutlery! So I would definitely stay there again, but please sort out breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Goldstone Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldstone Hall Hotel

Address: Goldstone Road, Market Drayton TF9 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Market Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Market Drayton
Hotel Class:3 star — Goldstone Hall Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldstone Hall is a rurally located hotel and restaurant in a Georgian manor house which has parts dating back to medieval times; it is just to the north of Newport, Shropshire and south of Market Drayton.Goldstone has built up a reputation for quality dining, very comfortable bedrooms, all set in beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Goldstone Hall Hotel Market Drayton, Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldstone Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Goldstone Hall Hotel to your Saves list