We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RESTORED MY LOVE FOR CHINESE FOOD, EXCELLENT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrosia

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ambrosia
Cheshire Street, Market Drayton TF9 1PD, England
Improve this listing
Price range: $23 - $31
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“RESTORED MY LOVE FOR CHINESE FOOD, EXCELLENT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We have only had take out from ambrosia. So i can only rate it on the food. I used to adore chinese food but for some reason i went off it a bit. Some friends suggested we try ambrosia. The food is fantastic and travels well for a takeaway and the menu is extensive. I really enjoy the food from here and it has restored my love for chinese food. It is rare to find amazing food of a such a high quality in a small market town. I can recommend the sweet chilli crispy chicken and the vegetable chow mein is delicious.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor takeaway service - Check your food order before you leave!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I have used both Ambrosia's restaurants and takeaway servicea number of times. The food is ok but beware of the takeaway service as this can be poor. They oftern miss items which have been ordered so make sure you check you have all your order before you leave with your takeaway. The latest was on christmas eve when I ordered a takeway from myself and my family. Before I left the restaurant I checked they have put the pancakes in the box (as they had forgot them twice brefore) just to realise when I got home (3 miles away) that they had forgotton to put one of the main meals in the takeaway box. I understand that this can happen but this has happened to me regularly. I probably would have not bothered writing this review if it was not for the rude response I had receieved when I rang up to state they had forgotton an item. When I drove back to the restaurant to pick the item up there was no sorry, they made me feel like it was my fault for not ordering the item in the first place. I later checked the price list I had picked up at the same time and they had charged me for the item they had forgotton to put in. So to conclude takeaway food ok but check you have all your order before you leave!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unusual to find such a great restaurant in a small market town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We visited for a family meal, and luckily had booked beforehand. The service was attentive but not overly so, but the food was excellent. We did not have to wait long for the starters to arrived and the gaps between main and dessert were just right. All in all very reasonably priced and will definately come again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Top class restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

As a resident of Market Drayton are usually forced to travel to Shrewsbury or another big city for a decent meal out - however the Ambrosia provides one of the better Chinese restaurants we have visited with attentive service, great food and even an interesting wine list. We have visited on many occasions and it never fails to impress.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nice fresh tastly take away.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Having tried the other Chinese take aways in Drayton, I thought I would try the ambrosia. Although it is primarily a restaurant (one of the other take aways is right across the road), the food was served very promptly, very hot and very tasty. It is probably the most expensive of the Chinese in town, but not by a great amount, so dont be out off by that. Liked the food so much we are going for a sit sown next month., Will let you know.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambrosia also viewed

Market Drayton, Shropshire
Market Drayton, Shropshire
 
Market Drayton, Shropshire
Market Drayton, Shropshire
 

Been to Ambrosia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambrosia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.