We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hospitable hosts and great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Gare

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thouars
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de la Gare
Save
You added Hotel de la Gare to your Saves list
1 place de la Gare, 79100 Thouars, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Thouars
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very hospitable hosts and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I booked three rooms at the Hotel de la Gare for myself and three friends as a stopover on a cycling tour from Bordeaux to Calais. We found the hotel to be immaculate and the hosts exceptionally welcoming. We were immediately offered safe storage for our precious bikes in the owners garage before being given our room keys. To our amazement, we were also asked if we would like any laundry doing by the hostess, free of charge! Travelling light, we willingly took up this offer and were given fresh cycling clothes the next morning. We took a drink on the patio overlooking the train station, which is a surprisingly pleasant location (the station is very quiet and decorated in an art-deco style). We then found a local restaurant at the hosts' recommendation. The rooms were immaculately presented, being newly decorated, and the beds were very comfortable and the showers worked excellently. Overall, we were very impressed with the hotel and service and would definitely return. Thouars is also a beautiful town worthy of exploration.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
11
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Owners very welcoming, Room very clean, bathroom very clean, excellent shower. Bed very comfortable. Tv had an english news channel. The breakfast was well worth getting, as the cafes in the town can open and shut very randomly.
My only reservation was the room was quite small but we just wanted to rest and wash, not hold a public meeting!
All in all, we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have stayed twice since my last review, most recently last week. As others have noted, the public spaces and several bedrooms have been renovated very tastefully (we were told that more will be done by next year). We stayed in one of the renovated rooms which was extremely comfortable with a very nice bathroom and separate toilet. Prices have risen a little and you now pay extra for breakfast - though it is well worth it in my opinion - but even so it is very good value for money. The owners are charming, welcoming us like friends, though we have only ever stayed for one night at a time. The final cap was a present of M Galas' homemade jams when we left. I am sure a fourth visit will occur.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked more than a week in advance and had our reservation confirmed by Logis de France. Two days before our arrival Mr Galas, owner or manager of this hotel, e-mailed me to say our booking was cancelled. No explanation given. He offered to reserve us a room in another hotel in the town. I asked him to do so but had to make sure of a room by booking it myself through the Logis de France website as that hotel was closed that day (unfortunately all too common in France even during the high season) This man seems to have a history of cancelling bookings -see another review from a French traveller. Avoid!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

So taken by the place that this my first review ever!!! Based on the unexciting reviews we read, the low rate, and its location opposite a train station, we really weren't expecting much from this place, so booked room only. We would have breakfast elsewhere. We have never been so pleasantly surprised! I read about the warm welcome, but Roger, the owner (very down to earth) has redefined how to give a warm welcome for us. The hotel, newly tastefully renovated, was spotless! and very comfortable. We were delighted to have breakfast there afterall... and ... I think he's putting something in his Jams, because I don't think I have ever enjoyed breakfast so much in my life. Much less a continental one! Everything was so fresh and tastefully laid out. The jams were divine! (all made by him) pineapple, orange with spices, etc.. (nectar from the Gods!) And the service... very humbling. What a "salt of the earth" guy, just doing his thing, with little clue of the positive effect it has on those around him. Staying there was an enriching experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth, united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The hotel is family owned and run and offers great service and comfort. The rooms are good and very comfortable. The breakfast is served by the owner and is as much as you want, worthwhile just for that early morning coffee and juice. The hotel is opposite the train station and just a short walk from the centre of town and historic district with castle, keep, chateaux and churches.

Room Tip: No lift so be on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We booked this based on other reviews and do not regret it. It was only a one night stay as we were driving from northern France to the west coast, but we received an extremely warm welcome to this friendly and convenient hotel. It is not particularly luxurious, but the rooms are perfectly adequate - very nicely decorated and the fittings all seemed new. There is no restaurant, but the owners recommended an excellent restaurant five minutes walk away and booked a table for us. The breakfast was delicious, good coffee and fruit juice and a really nice selection of bread and pastries with homemade jams. A very comfortable and homely hotel that we shall certainly use again if in the region. In terms of value for money it is one of the best hotels I have ever encountered.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Gare

Address: 1 place de la Gare, 79100 Thouars, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Deux-Sevres > Thouars
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Thouars
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Gare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.