We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wakefield Inn: Perfect Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muse

Muse
60 Mill Road | Wakefield Mill, Wakefield, Quebec J0X 3G0, Canada
+1 819-459-1838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Muse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Wakefield
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Perched over the La Peche falls, our two restaurants offer dramatic views and a true gastronomic experience with menus based on a traditional French and Quebecois style, using local produce with exciting international influences.Muse, our fine dining restaurant, is open daily for breakfast and dinner. On Sundays, enjoy our famous Sunday brunch buffet from 9am-2pm. For something more relaxed, the Heron Room restaurant offers a Wine and Tapas bar alongside a popular bistro menu. The Heron Room and adjoining Bar Lounge is open daily from noon and features live music on Fridays and Saturdays from 7-10pm.Please visit our website for our most up to date menus.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wakefield Inn: Perfect Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have visited for a meal at this lovely historic inn before, but never stayed here. This weekend we had the pleasure to be part of a wonderful experience. Our attractive room in the old inn had a fireplace, 2 wingback chairs beside it, a king bed, vaulted ceiling & a jacuzzi. There are 2 hotubs for guests to use, as well as spa services, on a country property beside a rushing waterfall torrent that can be viewed from some rooms & from the dining room and bar. But the real star here is the food. The chef has created the most creative combinations that all melt in your mouth, while you savour a leisurely meal by candlelight. Amazingly good. And everyone of the staff was friendly, charming, knowledgeable and professional. Quite exceptional. We can't wait to return for another perfect getaway.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoulinWakefieldMill, Owner at Muse, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us, and for taking a few moments to leave us your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room, the surroundings, your meals and the staff!

We look forward welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Robert Milling, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    42
    20
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Janetville Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

For our 7th Wedding anniversary I chose this Inn and this restaurant for our anniversary dinner.Our dining experience was not the best for what we anticipated as a first class dining room.The service was poor and the restaurant was not terribly busy.My pickeral was tasteless and my husband was never asked how he would like his beef cooked.We asked 3 times for our bill at the end after a very pretty but again tasteless dessert.Our room was small but adequate with not a great bed.We were never told that the spa was under renovations, we found that out on our own.The best employee we felt was the bartender in the lounge.
After a 4 and a half hour drive friends of ours sent a cheese tray and a bottle of wine to our room which was lovely except no cork screw...For an Inn boasting many stars attention to the small details is what I really look for.Probably will not return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoulinWakefieldMill, Owner at Muse, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. I have spoken to our team about your comments in order to help rectify them. It is unusual that dining guests are not asked how their meat is to be cooked.
i am pleased that your room was adequate and that you enjoyed your service at the bar/lounge. I apologize that you were not told of the repairs taking place at the Eco Spa. That work is now completed.
Thank you again.
Robert Milling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A gem in the Gatineau at Wakefield”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Mill Inn and Resturant in Wakefeild, Que. is a wonderful place for a getaway, ski trip or just to visit the beautiful Gatineau. Located in a century-old mill, it is all wooden beam. rock walls and stone floors. All the room windows on the back overlook the rushing falls of the Peche River as it cascades on down to the Gatineau River. The building itself is large, spacious and beautifully appointed in the unique French-Canadian manner. The Spa is quiet, serene and lovely. The quaint nearby village of Wakefield offers a variety of shops and services alongside the Gatineau River. I would highly recommend a stay at the Mill Inn, a visit you will long remember.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoulinWakefieldMill, Owner at Muse, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear NursePam58,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed the heritage aspects of the Mill – maintaining the historical integrity of the building is very important to us especially since we are celebrating 175 years since the construction of the original mill in 1838.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks again,
Robert Milling, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa, canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gastronomic feast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

food was to die for, service amazing!! Cant wait to return!
Our favourites were trout tartare with caviar, beef tenderloin and red deer- we didn't drink but they had a good wine list. Desserts were nice but not exactly what we were expecting- i.e salted caramel dessert was really a banana fritter- still very good though- great romantic atmosphere and very attentive waiters.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoulinWakefieldMill, Owner at Muse, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review -- we look forward to having you back again in the coming months to try our upcoming summer menus!

Best,
Robert Milling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, mediocre service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a really hard review for me to write. I stayed at the Wakefield Mill a few weeks ago with my girlfriend and we loved it. We ate dinner at the restaurant and the food was fantastic - really a great meal.

However, the service was extremely poor for such a nice and expensive restaurant. The earlier reservation we could get was at 8:45pm, but the restaurant was half empty when we arrived. The service was a bit slow, so by the time we had our main course the restaurant was emptying out. They then started noisily setting up for brunch the next morning. It just wasn't a great experience, and spoiled what would otherwise have been an excellent meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muse also viewed

Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Muse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.