We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WONDERFUL PLACE TO CHILL OUT!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Mill Road, Wakefield, Quebec J0X 3G0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A WONDERFUL PLACE TO CHILL OUT!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our plan was to celebrate our anniversary with a little cross country skiing during the day, followed by a lovely dinner in the evening. Next day we hoped to ski again after breakfast. Morning came and the weather news announced -27 degrees below zero and icy conditions. That was the end of our ski weekend. So we went with plan B - chilling out in the lovely lounge beside an open fire eating tapas, drinking wine and chatting. A rest followed in a lovely upgraded room with a sitting area, original stone walls and a view overlooking the falls. We booked dinner for 7:30 pm and had an exquisite meal in the dining room. Strangely, the food when first served was not hot and had to be sent back. When it did arrive again, it was hot and just delicious. Too bad it didn't arrive that way to begin with as that delayed dinner by quite some time. Morning greeted us with breakfast served in the dining room with an outgoing and friendly waiter. This time the food (quiche) was obviously frozen and somewhat dried out and had to be unthawed and heated which took quite some time. Fresh quiche would have been more appreciated and had we known it wasn't freshly made, scrambled eggs would have been just fine. After checkout we went to the in house spa and had a couple massage - one of the best massages I've ever had (and I've had many). We left the Mill feeling relaxed, uplifted and ready to return home, if not somewhat reluctant to leave our enjoyable weekend. We look forward to returning to celebrate other special occasions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    150
    37
    22
    16
See reviews for
33
254
12
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed for a business meeting. The food was amazing with excellent service at every meal. Very welcoming staff. The meeting room was well equipped, modern and clean. Wifi was available everywhere. A winter wonderland.

Room Tip: Fourth floor has half ceilings and has to be accessed by stairs from floor three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel had a great historic feel to it. While I didn't see the new complex rooms, I think they are more modern. Our room in the main building was charming, spacious and very clean. The bed was pillow-top and comfy. We could hear the sounds of the waterfall we opened our window. Our room, 311, was the only one with a jetted tub PLUS a fireplace. I believe the newer rooms have a tub right in the bedroom, in front of a window, which would've been nice too. Either way, the website's pictures helped a lot in decision making.
The bathroom had the jet tub and stand up shower, with 2 windows for nice views of the falls.

The hotel is calm and quiet, nice for a romantic getaway. The restaurant was absolutely amazing. I've 'restauranted' around Ottawa and Montreal, and this dinner was just divine. We chose the regular menu, though we heard the Discovery menu is also awesome (that menu is 6 smaller courses, which allow you to sample more dishes on the menu at once. Each serving comes with a wine selection). I had the goat cheese app, lamb main and chocolate dessert...all amazingly done. My boyfriend had the bison app (reminded us of a fancy wonton soup), melt in your mouth steak and cheese mousse dessert. Portions are not huge, but well presented and filling enough when out together in this menu.
The breakfast was a tasty cold buffet plus hot menu. They have house-made honey and jams, SO tasty. We tried french toast, omelette and Benedicts from the menu, all amazing. Our package included these meals (minus alcohol bevs).

The staff, all of them, were genuinely friendly and helpful, and also bilingual. Some of the nicest hotel staff I've come in contact with, they seemed to enjoy highlighting the best of this hotel.

The bar looked rustic and nice, though we didn't check it out. We didn't book any spa services, so can't comment on that.

The hotel grounds were pretty. snow covered, serene. The falls and the river really add to its peaceful feel. They have 2 outdoor hot tubs, though one had broken jets. There's a summer pool too. Although we didn't check them out, apparently there are lots of local activities, like skiing and sleigh rides.

The area of Wakefield around the mill is tiny, but has cute cafes and restos. The lake looks pretty and is probably nice in the summertime.

It's a small hotel with country feel and fantastic food. Great for romance. I would love to check it out in the summer!

Room Tip: Room 311 has a jetted tub and fireplace. The rooms in the newer complex are more modern and sleek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Food and service is great here! Good variety on both lunch and dinner menus. Out of this world quality. No issues with the room we had; spacious room and comfortable bed. Spa massages were great but my only complaint would be the hot tub nearby is nothing special since the jets were barely working and it felt like there was too much chlorine

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Ont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My colleagues and I have organized a 2-day team building event at the Wakefield Mill and our experience was the best work/pleasure combination ever ! The meeting coordinator was very accommodating and professional. Rooms were spacious, impeccably clean with lots of extras. Whether you are in the new section or main historical building, you will be amazed. The food and service is renowned in the valley where no detail is left to chance. Chef Romain Riva offers a wide variety of traditional French cuisine but also adds an exotic taste to his menu. Dining rooms all have a view on the waterfalls and fireplace. Perfect for romantic getaways as you will also have access to the old mill’s outdoor hot tubs and swimming pools with views on the falls and mountain. Peace and quiet and magical scenery whatever the season. We had many special requests as we had a theme for our event and the Mill surpassed our expectations. Our goals for the meeting were met and surpassed. Success all the way !!! Local attractions make it also too perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for the new section ! Awesome rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I attanded a three day conference at the old mill with 25 other folks from around Canada. The hosts were exceptionally gracious and very attentive to my dietary needs. We held our meetings in the new eco lodge which was obviously built with these kind of presentations in mind. The evenings were spent in the old mill hanging out around the fire place overlooking the river and waterfalls that originally made the mill a success. It was nice that the current design has allowed for the buildings history to be a focal point. From the reclaimed wood floors to the leather numbers on each door, this property makes an excellent venue for work or pleasure.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old mill have a wonderfull view of the waterfalls, and the sound of falling water makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Pas, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I had the wonderful experience of spending Christmas at the Wakefield Mill! We went as a family to the Inn and had a smorg dinner in one of the meeting rooms and spent the evening in the lounge listening to the wonderful local singers. I loved the meal and the warm, comfortable, relaxing and beautiful space. Before turning in, we had a dip in the outdoor hottub. We all had rooms at the inn and after a great sleep, met for a delicious abundant breakfast! The staff are awesome and I love the way they immediately switch to english the minute I open my mouth!
The whole complex is beautiful and in a beautiful, magical setting! The snowfall was like I have never seen and with the lovely waterfall surrounded by snow and ice, it is a fairytale world! One can go on long beautiful walks or skiing or snowshoeing. I love the mill and will go back as often as I can.

Room Tip: The rooms on the falls side has the wonderful white noise that I enjoy. The view is great, too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa

Address: 60 Mill Road, Wakefield, Quebec J0X 3G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor the historic charm of our heritage country inn set on 24 acres with the Gatineau Park. Capture the warmth of true Quebec hospitality within spectacular scenery. Indulge yourself and be pampered in our full-service spa, a truly serene retreat featuring: outdoor hot tubs, our new dreamweaver outdoor massage tent on the river's edge, and our river pool. Our hotel dining rooms and charming fireplace lounge are nestled next to the gurgling waters of the LaPeche river and the 28' MacLaren Falls. 24 Acres tucked-away within Gatineau Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Mill Inn And Spa
Wakefield Mill Hotel Wakefield
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.