We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque location for a get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Mill Road, Wakefield, Quebec J0X 3G0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Picturesque location for a get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

This was a great get away and a wonderful spot to relax and enjoy great service in a old mill setting. The waterfall delivered the right amount of cooling spray while lying on the sunny deck just outside the back door. The dinner was outstanding and the employees were great folks to talk and joke with.

I would recommend the Wakefield Mill Inn as a great spot to relax and heal thyself.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    150
    37
    22
    16
See reviews for
33
254
12
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

From the friendly check-in to the pretty gift we received when we checked out, this was a wonderful stay. I took my mum here for a little get-away, and we were utterly spoiled. Cozy, unique rooms; wonderful scenery and hiking, utterly amazing food and warm, personable service make the Wakefield a gem.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed here for one night to see a show at the Blacksheep. Beautiful location, modest amenities and furnishings in the rooms, (think quaint, not luxury), very comfortable bed and linens, lovely bar and lounge area overlooking the rapids. In a word, charming.
The best features by far were the friendly and attentive staff, excellent food, and unique Quebec hospitality. We would like to give a big shout-out to Gabrielle in the lounge, who went above and beyond in accommodating our special requests and made us feel right at home! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Friendly and hospitable service. Comfy room that fit the setting. Hardwood floors, nice seating area, lots of windows. Comfortable bed and pillows. Beautiful location. The restaurant and lounge have excellent views of the river and waterfalls. Very close to Ottawa but really feels like a vacation. We saw a show at the Black Sheep Inn and were able to walk to and from the venue.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor were quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wernersville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

This was our 3rd stay at the Wakefield Mill. We are cross country skiers who have skied in many areas all over Canada and the US, and we were attracted by the inn's proximity to Gatineau Park. There, you will find an extensive network of trails of varying dificulty, enough to satisfy the most avid skiers.

The staff at Wakefield Mill could not be more friendly or accommodating. Louise at the front desk was particularly helpful with information and suggestions about the trails in the park.

Meals were fantastic! Gourmet multi-course dinners and ample buffet breakfasts.

Only a 30 minute drive from Ottawa, the small town of Wakefield is quite charming with several shops, boutiques, and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the falls are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Hi, I would like to thank all of the staff about the stay on February 12-13, 2011. They were all great, smiley at all times, in good service in term of customer relation, etc. We both enjoyed our stay and will come back some other time. Thank you to the marvellous Wakefield Mill Inn and Spa team.

Cordially,
Jean-Francois Neveu

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamson, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

I would start by saying the staff is outstanding. Louise and Michel at the front desk were extremely helpful. Louise was very helpful with her knowledge of the local cross country ski trails. My wife and I looked forward to seeing Michel in the dining room at breakfast each morning. Restaurant and Pub area are very nice. Rooms are a little dated but still cozy. Hot tub is a very welcome after a day of cross country skiing. Breakfast is excellent. Dinner was very good too. I would not pay much extra for a view of the falls. They are nice, but nothing extraordinary. Perfect 3 day cross country ski trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa

Address: 60 Mill Road, Wakefield, Quebec J0X 3G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor the historic charm of our heritage country inn set on 24 acres with the Gatineau Park. Capture the warmth of true Quebec hospitality within spectacular scenery. Indulge yourself and be pampered in our full-service spa, a truly serene retreat featuring: outdoor hot tubs, our new dreamweaver outdoor massage tent on the river's edge, and our river pool. Our hotel dining rooms and charming fireplace lounge are nestled next to the gurgling waters of the LaPeche river and the 28' MacLaren Falls. 24 Acres tucked-away within Gatineau Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Mill Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Mill Inn And Spa
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.