We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wakefield Diamond!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Village House

The Village House
759, Riverside Drive, Wakefield, Quebec, Canada
+1 819-459-1445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Wakefield
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Rustic charm in the heart of Wakefield Village. We are a small 26 seat restaurant, with an outdoor patio that seats another 20. Our restaurant serves upscale comfort food, great wines and local brews. All while dining with views of the Gatineau River and hills.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wakefield Diamond!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Happen to go to this restaurant by chance and what a chance that was!! Excellent variety in the menu choices - hard to decide, so much was tempting! Enjoyed everything that touched my lips! From the very fresh bread right down to the sweet dessert and everything in between! Very warm and cozy atmosphere, service was impeccable and so friendly! I would highly recommend this gem of a restaurant in beautiful "downtown" Wakefield!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagehouse759, Owner at The Village House, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you so much! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope to see you on your next visit to Wakefield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    7
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woodlawn, Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“bon appetit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We finally had the chance to eat at this restaurant after hearing so much about it. Wonderful food, good value for money. The roasted beet salad leaves an explosion of taste and the braised beef is highly recommendable. Seldom does one get such a tasty, creamy, fresh creme brule as this one. Go and eat there, it is worth it.
Nice job Sarah and Mike.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagehouse759, Owner at The Village House, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your dinner with us. Yes the short ribs are definitely a house speciality. Hope to see you on your next trip to Wakefield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Foody's DREAM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The food was fresh and perfectly cooked with mouth-watering taste sensations. The service was wonderful and friendly. It was almost impossible to choose what to eat because the menu was incredible - something for everyone. The BEST seats in the house are at the bar where you can watch all the action!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagehouse759, Owner at The Village House, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the food, wine, service and of course the open kitchen. Hope to see you back soon.
Sarah & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food in the village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We actually enjoyed this restaurant more than the previous popular restaurant in the same spot. Great food, reasonable priced mains and nice low key feel in this aptly named village restaurant. Service was friendly and quite efficient. Great place to eat before catching a show at the Black Sheep Inn a few doors down or would be nice to make an evening out on it's own.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagehouse759, Owner at The Village House, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We definitely get a lot of people heading to The Famous Black Sheep for one of the fabulous shows they host every week. We are pleased to be part of the complete experience Wakefield has to offer. Hope to see you on your next trip to Wakefield.
Sarah & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truly Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was one of our most memorable dining experiences and we've ate at some great restaurants in the Ottawa/Wakefield area. Although this restaurant is relatively new on the culinary scene, it rivals other long standing restaurants in the area, including the legendary les Fugeres. The food is awesome in its presentation, flavours, and multi-textures. The catch of the day when we visited was pickerel and it was truly awesome. Sarah and Mike make a great host/hostess, cooking dynamo team. The dining is relaxed & casual but yet very elegant. This is a place to return to, over and over again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevillagehouse759, Owner at The Village House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We really pride ourselves on fresh, seasonal and local ingredients. Mike really takes the time to do everything from scratch all our bread pastas and icecreams all made inhouse. It's great to have people really appreciate all the flavours textures and time it takes to produce in his food . We can't wait to see you again. Thanks for sharing your experience.
Cheers
Sarah & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village House also viewed

Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 

Been to The Village House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.