We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Die Kupferkanne

Die Kupferkanne
Stapelhooger Wai 7, 25999 Kampen, Sylt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
04561 / 410 10
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Kampen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dessert
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We visited this place on my parent's golden wedding day. It was meant to be something special, my sister flew extra from the USA and my parents also came from abroad. It was busy but we found a cozy table. The table needed cleaned as the cups and plates from the previous people were still there. The waitress took our order and we asked her to clean the table for us. She replied that she was too busy to clean the table! Shocker! Eventually, our food arrived and then she cleaned the table. We had ordered cream which turned up after the cakes were eaten. She had also overcharged our bill. We felt very disappointed by the unfriendly service that we complained to the manager who corrected the price on the bill. The whole experience was unpleasant and I was very embarrassed because I suggested we should go there. It is over rated.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    61
    20
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Genf
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Ok, so maybe their much talked-about cake isn't the very best ever? It is still top-notch, fresh out of the oven, not too sweet, with a generous layer of fruit or curd and, to make it perfect, a generous helping of whipped cream. Forget about dinner afterwards :o) Their milk coffee is served in a bowl as big as a mini bath tub, and despite the crowd, service is efficient. To me, however, the Kupferkanne was at its best when I could sit outside. It was lovely to be seated at one of the many tables hidden amongst shrubs, flowers, trees, some with view over the sea. It's a place to simply be, observe people, and have chats with total strangers sharing your tables. Wonderful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamburg
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“cake -cake -cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

the most beautiful garden on the island. the cake display speaks for itself. the pieces are big enough for 2 . friendly and efficient service. lovely views onto the wattenmeer. enjoy!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Overrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I have heard about "Die Kupferkanne" for years and years and was very excited when I finally got to visit. The history of the the building and the inside is very unique. Outside you'll find a very nicely landscaped Kaffeegarten. The "Kuchen" is always fresh and the pieces are big, but the selection is not extensive by German standards. Our waitress was also rather rude. "Die Kupferkanne" is a must-see, but maybe more of a must-see once.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Die Kupferkanne also viewed

 

Been to Die Kupferkanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Kupferkanne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.