We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lindner Hotel Windrose

Save Saved
You added Lindner Hotel Windrose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lindner Hotel Windrose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strandstrasse 19, 25996 Wenningstedt, Sylt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Wenningstedt
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

This review if for the Lindner Hotel am Wiesensee, not sure that TripAdvisor is linking it correctly.
This hotel was ok, I gather there's not much choice in the area and this is the best there is. I don't know about the value as we were paid for, but I guess it's a good business hotel. It has a homogenous, watered down feel and the rooms need an update, but overall I would stay here again if I had to do business in this area again. Food was only a 4 out of 10. Definitely need a car to get around, not close to any public transport.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    47
    25
    8
    2
See reviews for
9
49
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

You are basically paying for the location of this hotel. While it is about as convient to get to the beach as possible and the staff are friendly and very responsive, there isn't much else that can be said about this hotel. The rooms while clean are somewhat dated and basically everything felt like what you would expect for a budget hotel, not a high end hotel. Also, the rooms don't have air conditioning, which on certain humid summer days makes the room essentially unbearable, and if you are unlucky to be on the ground floor like us, you can open the window, but you have to choose between everyone looking right in your room, or drawing the drapes and getting no advantage of having the room open. Clearly not value for money in our minds.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

The location of the hotel is very nice (just behind the dunes), the public rooms are well kept and have a very nice atmosphere (only the tiny swimming pool is tucked a way in a cellar room without any natural light). We were most impressed by the quality of the service: All relevant departments (front desk, restaurant service, housekeeping, spa) were made up of trained professionals (no student jobbers) bending over backwards to make the stay as pleasant as possible. When we had problems with the bike-rent-shop ("Leksus" - avoid at all costs) this was sorted for us by the hotel. The choice at brekfast was brilliant (though the room could become a bit crowded at peak times) and food in the restaurant was alos top notch and not overpiced (bear in mind: you are in Sylt). The only (slight) downside is the state of the rooms which look a bit tired around the edges.
All in all, a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2003

I have just come back from sylt where I stayed in the hotel Windrose for a few days, I had a single room there for 115 Euro/day. The room was okay, clean and not too small, it was located right under the roof and one wall had a slant . The matrass was too soft but the house -keeping replaced it immediately with a new one after my complain. The view out of the window was onto another roof of the adjacent building.
If I went there again, I would demand a room at the basement but they seem to be more expensive. So all together a neat hotel in good location , with good stuff and breakefast,a bit too expensive for what they offer, though. I would come again if they give a bétter room for the same price

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lindner Hotel Windrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel Windrose

Address: Strandstrasse 19, 25996 Wenningstedt, Sylt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > North Friesian Islands > Sylt > Wenningstedt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Wenningstedt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindner Hotel Windrose 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Life - with sea air, sunshine, beach and more.Wenningstedt – a place with the typical flair of Sylt. Here, guests who are in search of an exclusive atmosphere surrounded by sea air will find an oasis of calm and relaxation: the Lindner Strand Hotel Windrose. Only some steps away, the beach invites you to go for a walk, to take a bath in the waves or simply to sit down in a wicker beach chair and relax. The hotel cuisine for most refined demands and the attractive recreational and wellness area – all this makes your holiday a pleasure on an island like no other: Sylt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lindner Hotel Windrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindner Hotel Wenningstedt
Lindner Hotel Windrose Sylt/Wenningstedt, Germany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindner Hotel Windrose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.