We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for snorkelling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yoshino Coast

Yoshino Coast
Gusukube Bora, Miyakojima, Okinawa Prefecture 906-0101, Japan
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 55 Attractions in Miyakojima
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great for snorkelling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great beach for snorkelling and the lovely Yoshino Beach Keeper will come and talk to you in perfect english. He also gave us seashell necklaces as a memento, how sweet!

There are so many fish as you step into the sea and plenty of coral all around. We rented our gear from the rental shop in the carpark lot and the guys there will drive you down to the beach for a small fare. If you are brave enough and swim a bit further out, the coral and fish are even more amazing, but i was a bit scared to go too far out.

We saw beautiful cloud formations here and are told the evening view is spectacular although we were not staying late enough to see.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    25
    9
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Must-do in Miyakojima”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was by far the best snorkeling spot I've ever visited, both by quality and size. It's a bit touristy compared to nearby 新城海岸 (Aragusuku beach), but good if you need rental gears and stuff.
I guess people feed the fish right along the beach, so they come up really close -- you can actually touch the fish since they are so used to people. It's a little more natural once you start snorkeling away from the shore, but still plenty of fish.. and amazingly beautiful corals. I could not count how many different kinds of fish were there. The corals reflected the light back to the ocean surface, making it look like impressionist paintings on canvas ever changing their colors.
The rental gears were a bit expensive, and the shop person didn't know too much about the beach, but all worth it once we started snorkeling.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best snorkeling on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This beach is ridiculously fun! AMAZING snorkeling, tons of tables, chairs, life-jackets, and snorkel gear to rent for the day. The guys who run the kiosks are really friendly and willing to negotiate their prices.
HIGHLIGHT OF THE BEACH: Uncle Take (ta-kay) the self-proclaimed "care-taker" of Yoshino, will greet you at your table, make your a necklace of coral & string and take you on a tour of the beach at low tide. His English is perfect, he is friendly and knowledgeabl, if you're lucky he'll invite you back to his "home" in the trees fir some tea- and unforgettable experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Snorkeling Point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

It is an excellent snorkeling point. But my preference still goes to 新城海岸 as it offers more convenience and the under water is very similar in both areas. For bigger fish and open-water, i would go to 長間浜.
You can not drive up to the beach, you will have to leave your car on the top of the hills for a 500 yens/day which gives you also access to shower and free shuttle to go down/up to/from the beach and runs every 15 minutes.
On the beach, there is no much shade and you will most likely end up renting a table and a parasol for a 1000 yens/day.
The coral area is really nice, very healthy corals and many fish.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yoshino Coast also viewed

Miyakojima, Okinawa Prefecture
Miyakojima, Okinawa Prefecture
 
Miyakojima, Okinawa Prefecture
Miyakojima, Okinawa Prefecture
 

Been to Yoshino Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yoshino Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.