We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wolfkop Camping Villages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Citrusdal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wolfkop Camping Villages
Save
You added Wolfkop Camping Villages to your Saves list
Grootfontein Farm, Keerom Rd, Citrusdal 7340, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

what an amazing getaway this was! we were in need of nothing since the team at Wolfkop supllies everything you need! We went on the river with the canoes and had such a blast! Thank you so much to Werner and his team for providing such an incredible little heaven on earth! -Megan

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We were very excited to finally go to Wolfkop Camping villages, after hearing rather good reviews. Admittedly the reviews were from about two years ago.
I could not believe the state of the Men's showers. During a shower the water backed up to ankle height. When I asked the one very disinterested staff member about the ablutions, his comment was, "oh, it has been like that for a while now and management know about it"
The other appalling site was the amount of litter which was visible. What a mess!!
The tents zips did not work correctly, The tents were ripped and falling apart.
Not once did we see any "management Staff" onsite.
I would not recommend this place to anyone.
My greatest disappointment is that it could be really fantastic, but lack of interest by the staff and management has allowed the place to become run down and rather unpleasant.

Room Tip: Stay away until they resolve their issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreamdreamy, Owner at Wolfkop Camping Villages, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Mack Smiths,

Will send you a personal mail as well with the following on it.

Thanks so much for your review and taking the time to write this on Tripadvisor as we always look at the reviews to improve our service. We do send a after stay review mail out to our guests to ask them if everything was perfect and if they have any suggestions or not happy with any thing they can put it on there. If you did not receive it please let me know your booking email date so i can back log and see which manager was on duty and find out why it was not send.

Regarding the bathrooms: We do clean them twice on saturdays and the one with the blockage has been like that since December but we have been fully booked every weekend till first weekend in May therefor could not fix it as we have to lift up the whole floor and redo the pipes so we pump it out and try keep it of. We are redoing it end of June as that is first time we could get a builder to do it.

The Garbage: there is bins and the bins are cleaned on Sundays when the guests leave but i would also check into who worked that weekend and talk to my team that was on duty to keep the standard perfect.

To everyone reading this just please remember that we try to give a good service and see to it that everything is perfect, but as the owner i can not be at 100 beds over one weekend and working with limited labour due to being in the country side is not always easy as you have limited supply of labour available and some have problems over weekends but we try to work around it as i love my team and they are awesome but sometimes they make mistakes.
What one must just always remember when putting a review on Tripadvisor is did management do it on purpose and did they listen to your complaint and apologizes as every one makes mistakes and we are working with people - a bad review is like you put a sticker on the front door of a shop/restaurant never to be taken of again but be seen by anyone who walks into that shop which is not cool man. I do love tripadvisor for lifting the standard but i also hates it cause it allows people who are nasty and/or does not have their own businesses knowing that you can not always be there or who does not know how it is to work with people that does make mistakes and/or who never wrote to us directly telling us about the problems and there for sometimes gives the wrong story.

Hope to have you at any Wolfkop Establishment soon to have a perfect time cause that is what we are working for.

Kind Regards,

Werner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We enjoy our annual December camping experience here, a good distance out of town to ensure a peaceful escape from the rat race. This time around however the campsite was too full with only two showers and two toilets per gender. Consequently the showers flooded daily and the toilets were always filthy. This put a major damper on the entire experience. A raging camp fire also freaked out the entire campsite as we realised that there was only one exit to camp (next to the fire) and the undersupply of mini fire extinguishers proved useless in the face of crazy winds and huge flames (10m and higher). Wolfkop, although a lovely venue, should seriously consider upgrading their facilities to accommodate the big groups they allow in and to ensure a safer stay for all!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great location. Kids loved it. However, it was overpriced and the kitchen and toilets were nauseating. We booked and paid for 3 nights but could only cope with 2. Fortunately we came prepared with a large cooler box and frozen water bottles as the "advertised" kitchen with fridges and microwave were in a very dirty and unhygienic condition. Walk next door to the toilets and you can just imagine the condition. At R750 a night for two adults and a child, this is a complete ripoff. Some 4 star hotels are charging those rates. Overall a disappointing experience which can be rectified with minimal effort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreamdreamy, Owner at Wolfkop Camping Villages, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! we are taking the bathrooms very seriously so sorry for that. The next season there will be a cleaner on duty everyday for the bathrooms. Regarding the price for the accommodation we unfortunately can not drop it as the wear and tear on the tents and equipment and set up and break down every week is to labour intensive. Hope to have you with us again soon!

Regards,

Werner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our first visit to Wolfkop Camping Village and although the scenery is exceptionally beautiful, the place is extremely dirty. Cost per night was R850 for 4 people and for this rate I would expect neat & clean ablution facilities. The fridges were covered with insects on the inside, the microwave filthy and I cannot even begin to explain the state of the shower.
The website advertise cotton percale bedding. We received a white sheet with white pillow cover and one old blanket and one old sleeping bag (all with holes in).
The list goes on and on. Have a look at the photo's and decide for yourself. I would not recommend this place at all. You can find a camping spot at half this rate, with clean kitchen and ablution facilities.

Room Tip: They are completely over-priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreamdreamy, Owner at Wolfkop Camping Villages, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi Ilse,

Thanks so much for your response. I have been talking with you over emails regarding your experience. Sorry once again we were little bit under staffed during holiday season, but we are putting a person there during the weekends and holiday season to only take control over the bathrooms. All repainting it as we are having it as a wedding venue. As i said we would love it if you would visit us again in the near future so you can see the changes.

Regards,

Werner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

what an awesome place, I could do this again and again and again. Beautiful space, no disturbance, just off the river.

An relaxing time all round.

The facilities are excellently kept. Can't wait to return

Room Tip: We had a 2 x 3 quarter beds, 1 of them was large enough for myself and my husband.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We just stayed for one night on a bike trip though the Cederburg. We normally pack everything we need for camping but on this enduro ride we packed light.

We were amazed with all the accuracy everthing was thought off and neatly packed. Werner really thought of everything.

Very clean tents, beds and the grass is pedantically looked after.

2 thumps up on a job well done!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wolfkop Camping Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfkop Camping Villages

Address: Grootfontein Farm, Keerom Rd, Citrusdal 7340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Citrusdal
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Citrusdal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you think that having no tent should stop you from actually going camping, think again. This is longer the case with the arrival of Wolfkop Camping Villages. The hassle and logistics of a camping weekend in the Citrusdal Valley is now a thing of the past. The slogan, "You only bring food and clothes," shakes up any preconceived idea you have about camping - leaking tents, missing poles and pegs.... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolfkop Camping Villages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.