We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and serene” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hebron

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Citrusdal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hebron
Save
You added Hebron to your Saves list
Piekenierskloof Pass, N7 Motorway, Citrusdal, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Citrusdal B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Peaceful and serene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Very quiet and peaceful (most of the time), just what you need to get away from the hussle and bussle of the city. Breakfast menu very limited.
Just a few gripes, we had a bath in our room with no hand shower. Not very friendly for my long hair which was a mission to wash and rinse. We were also unfortunately disturbed by a rather loud mouthed woman having conversations till the early hours of the morning right outside our room. Not very romantic for our romantic getaway. The owners also have 3 dogs which were not to our liking, at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
35
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Pearched at the summit of the Piekenierskloof Pass, Hebron provides pleasant rustic accommodation, wonderful views and fantastic hosts. Steve, Caro and their staff could not have provided us with anything more! We stayed for 2 nights, but wished we could have stayed longer. We intended to eat in for one night and somewhere in Citrusdal the following night. However, Steve did a braai for us on the first night and he cooked a wonderful 3 course meal for us and other guests on the second night. The establishment is not license, but Steve is happy to purchase wine etc on your behalf. It was a wonderful relaxing place to stay. The accommodation is more than adequate and provides you the chance to relax in wonderful surroundings. This is certainly a place to unwind and enjoy what is on offer. No negatives really, but if you want to eat out it is a little restrictive, with only Citrusdal in close proximity. Day time activities are a plenty, although you will need to travel to particpate in your interests. For those who like to walk/hike and see place of interest then Cederberg has a lot to offer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, however, rooms 1, 2 and 3, have a seating area outside under a verandah, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

When we arrived we had no idea what we will get, as it was a recommendation of a hotel in Capetown, and without having a look at the internet we asked her to book three nights there. It turned out to be one of the most charming and welcoming places we have every been. outstanding nice room, very good food and excellant recommendations for trips in the cerderberg region. many thanks to steven and his wife!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We (including our 6 & 3 year old + pooch) stayed at Hebron for 3 nights and agreed it was outstanding. The owner Steve and his wife have created something very special and it was great to experience someone genuinely loving what they do. If you want TV's and ultra modern - don't go to Hebron. If you want a guest house/restaurant that is run with love, attention to detail and passion go to Hebron. It is well located at the top of Piekenierskloof Pass and therefore easy to explore Cederberg where there is plenty to do, especially if you enjoy the outdoors. Hebron is effectively a small holding where Steve has installed very comforatble rooms with everything you would need - it is spotlessly clean, the breakfasts are fantastic, kids love it and it is so relaxing. The only downside is the traffic noise from the N7 but you sort of get used to it. I would highly recommend it (certainly as a stopping off point on the route in to Cederberg) but do as we did and stay for a few days and you can't fail to be won over with what Steve is trying to do - just read the visitors book to appreciate how much people love it. If only there were more like him who really cared about simple things done extremely well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We had a super stay at Hebron recently. Good quality accommodation and personal hospitality...a variety of accommodation to suit everyone, fantastic food, and super to get to know our hosts Steve and Caro.

The rooms are all decorated differently, some with a country provencale feel to them, and some lavishly decorated (reminded us of time spent in Eastern Europe), all with authentic fittings, and down feather duvets to snuggle under in the winter months!......Our advice when you do book a room is mention your requests (ie if you need catering facilities (room 1), the room with a cot for a baby (room 3), if you prefer French style country simplicity with a Victorian bath go for room 6, if you would prefer a different Turkish feel with a shower and views onto the verandah go for room 2...)

The food was fresh and excellently prepared by Steve - most of the produce from the valley and well accompanied by the excellent Cederberg wine that we were allowed to bring in with no corkage.

We look forward to returning...next time we'll bring our friends to share in the pleasure of staying in Citrusdal...and we look forward to seeing all the new developments being planned at Hebron (including wine tasting, Noah's Park playground for kids)

All in all a great last evening spent in the area...our holiday would have been incomplete without it! Thank you Steve and Caro

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

On my trip through South Africa I joined as well Citrusdal and had a perfect stay at Hebron. My hosts were very nice and easy going although they had enough to prepare for other guests of their restaurant. I was absolutely happy with the breakfast! Self-made jam and fresh orange juice - a simple wow! Also the wonderful bred and the surrounding make this place a wonderful garden of eden for your tongue and eyes. Impressive the love of decorating so cute. I got the little self-catering unit (Room No 4) which doesn't look into Citrusdal but has as wll a nice view around. Sometimes you can hear the N7 which is close by, but i was not really disturbed. You should love animals - one cat came to me while i was swimming and the dogs always care for you (and my shoes haha). Come there and enjoy!!!

Room Tip: The self catering units are not directly at the pool, but are more seperately. The other rooms are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We visited this guesthouse hoping to have a peaceful weekend break and to be really looked after; we were not disappointed. We enjoyed stunning views across the Citrusdal valley whilst munching a gourmet breakfast on the outside terrace. The hosts, Steve and Caro were perfectly attentive, entertaining and helpful. We were given excellent advice on surrounding attractions including the beautiful Spring flowers which are a must-see in August/September.
The room we stayed in had touches of luxury, refreshingly individual and spotless. The option of dinner (on request) was wonderful and great value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hebron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hebron

Address: Piekenierskloof Pass, N7 Motorway, Citrusdal, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Citrusdal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Citrusdal
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hebron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.