We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wombwell Arms Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wombwell Arms Inn to your Saves list
Wombwell Arms Inn
Wass, Wass YO61 4BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Wass B&B and Inns
Leek, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just returned from the Wombell Arms Inn, we stayed for one night as we had business to attend to in Scarborough. What a find!! I booked this inn because of the comments on Tripadvisor and have to agree with everything that was said. Owners,staff and local people were all very welcoming. Dinner and breakfast were superb. The Inn was warm, comfortable and spotless clean, bed was very comfy. I thought of comming back from Scarborough and staying another night but the weather was so poor (heavy flooding everywhere) that we thought it better to get home but as we visit Yorkshire many times a year, we will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms, i would think that they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    22
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
13
45
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We chose to stay 3 nights at the Wombwell Arms while househunting in North Yorkshire, and what a lucky find it turned out to be. Our hosts and all the staff were friendly and interested in our daily activities, such that it was a pleasure to come back each evening and unwind after a stressful day. Our room with ensuite shower (No. 1) was on the small side but spotlessly clean and smartly decorated and perfectly adequate for the two of us. We did not have any noise issues.
We loved the combination of rusticity and stylish decor in the bar and restaurant, the food was superb and a real treat both at breakfast and dinner, and the icing on the cake was the after-dinner stroll in the clear evening air to see beautiful, romantic Byland Abbey under floodlights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We live in Yorkshire but stayed here 3 days to spend more time in the North Yorkshire Moors. Staff were very welcoming and the breakfasts were excellent.Dinner was good but some dishes a little pricey and a touch limited for a 3 night stay.
Room 1 and shower were small but adequate- very clean and well presented. We were on a special deal and I asked Ian if it was quiet as it was directly above the bar. He told us it was sound proof and there may be a little noise until 11pm. However we could hear every word clearly until 11.30pm Friday,midnight on Saturday and only 9.30pm on Sunday, which is when we went to bed, being the last customers. Parking in the car park could be a problem if the restaurant was full,although street parking was available.

Room Tip: Not room 1 over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place is a bit of hidden gem that would be easy to miss as it is a bit off the tourist track. The inn is traditional and the rooms are therefore quite small but it is a very old building so what else would you expect. The rooms were very clean and had all the facilities that you might expect. The pub itself is very welcoming and the beer was well kept and there was a good range. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The owner is South African and there were some really interesting and very very tasty options. The wine recommendation was perfect and it was well worth the money.

The owners were very welcoming. Breakfast was excellent. Goog quality and generous. I have to say that whatever you do, don't pass on the black pudding!

We would certainly very happily go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Been coming here for many years and have always enjoyed it. I can't understand adverse comments made by others about the attitude of the excellent people who run the Wombwell Arms, as we've always found both management and staff pleasant, very welcoming, helpful and attentive. Our fairly recent visit - the first for some time - turned into a very happy evening for all concerned. The food is good though, to be perfectly honest, not exceptional and prices are a bit on the high side - but this is a pricey area and the pub has a good reputation. The statement on the menu that the prices don't include a service charge are rather puzzling and leave one uncertain what to do (in my opinion the service charge should be included in the price printed on the menu - as is normal practice nowadays, in the UK and most of Europe). There is a reasonable choice of real ales on handpump - though on the evening in question one of the beers was not on 'top form' (that's a risk you run with cask conditioned beer - the last few pints from the barrel don't have the best taste). Will definitely be going again, despite the slight 'niggles' mentioned above.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed for one night to enjoy a meal and not have to drive home afterwards. The inn dates from 1620 and has been decorated in a fresh modern style that maintains the character but is not at all fussy: scrubbed pine tables, exposed stone, neutral paint etc. Bedrooms are similar in style and ours had a lovely big wardrobe with plenty of hanging space and drawers. I couldn't make the shower work properly but they are closing for a week of maintenance next week so that might be sorted out. The breakfast was very good and the evening meal good (in my opinion). Many dishes were very reasonably priced and it all seemed to be freshly prepared. The selection of wines by the glass or bottle is interesting and should cater for most tastes. My husband said the beer was well kept. I would have liked chairs in the bedroom, there was space, as the only place to sit was on the bed but it is a minor quibble. Wass is a lovely little hamlet with its own abbey ruins and pretty wooded surrounding countryside with interesting historic towns and villages, like Helmsley, close by so the inn is well positioned for a short break.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We had booked this place as a stop off on the way back to the South from a trip to Scotland and were very glad we did. Very friendly landlord, landlady and all the staff. Nice modern and comfortable accommodation with great well presented food and a nice selection of beers. We would definitely recommend The Wombwell Arms to friends and would visit again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wombwell Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombwell Arms Inn

Address: Wass, Wass YO61 4BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Wass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wombwell Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombwell Arms Hotel Wass

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wombwell Arms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.