We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, in the middle of nowhere...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10505 NW 36th Street, Doral, FL 33178   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Doral
Albany, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good place, in the middle of nowhere...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Needing a place to stay after our cruise, I found the TownePlace Suites to be a reasonably priced option. Good size rooms with a small kitchen, but nothing spectacular. Beds were relatively comfortable and clean, but the complimentary breakfast was small and cramped in the lobby of the check-in area. Nice pool, but placed outside the hotel right in the middle of the parking lot. Speaking of location, the hotel is in the middle of an industrial park in the middle of nowhere. If you're looking for a hotel near the action, skip this one. If you're looking for a good value near the airport, this is the one.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    26
    14
    11
See reviews for
37
18
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindon, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We were traveling with our two daughters and we needed a place close to Miami Airport on our last night. We chose this hotel because we needed sleeping room for four and a fridge.

It actually had a full kitchen, which more than met our needs, and it would be great for those with children in the nearby hospital. In fact, this hospital caters to those individuals, not necessarily to travelers.

The sofa sleeper was disappointingly small, maybe a double, with a pretty bad mattress. The girls ended up putting it on the floor and that was only slightly more comfortable. We had to walk to the reception area to get linens for the mattress and they didn’t fit.

Getting to the rooms are inconvenient. The entrance to the building is a long way from the elevator/stairs. Once inside, you have to pass by lots of people’s rooms in order to get to the elevator then, once up on your floor, you have to walk back down the hall to your room. You could potentially disturb two full floors of guests on your way to your room, unless you want a room right by the elevator, which would be noisy.

We thought the room décor was pretty bad. The carpet was especially dirty and outdated. We did not try eating or shopping in the surrounding neighborhood, so I cannot comment on that.

In all, for the price, it wasn’t a bad hotel for a one-night stay. I would not want to stay for an extended period of time. The staff was friendly and helpful and did a good job despite the on-going renovations. The breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcdonough
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

This hotel is ok for business people who need to be there a few weeks. We stayed in a 2 bedroom with 4 grown people, very small.

The staff were excellent, the staircase had rubber on the end to prevent slips and some were torn off at the ends on both of the staircases in our building. The bathroom was beside the front door for everyone to use, small but functional kitchen, small living space with pull out sofa, 1 chair, tv and desk/table.

Hotel is off the main street and hard to find, they say continental breakfast but the first day there was nothing we saw but a few bagels, the next day juice, fruit, nature bars.

Nothing was close enough to walk to. The first night all the locals came and rented one room and invited the neighborhood and partied inside and out and woke us up, the second night was ok.

The worst part was it's in an all hispanic area and when we would go to get something to eat they did not understand us or refused to help us. At one blimpe they never would come help us so we walked out.

This was a pre cruise trip, will stay closer to the port next time, or in Ft Lauderdale or Bal Harbor.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

What a dump. If this was a 2 star $30 night hotel then I would know what to expect. Instead the pictures on the web-site as well as the generous room size of 700 square feet made it look nice. Our party had 3 rooms and we were disappointed. The staff was quite helpful and friendly.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here to cut down on the expense of staying onear the water in the Miami/Everglades region. The place is tucked inside an industrial park area near a branch of Miami Children's Hospital in Doral and is quite attractive, but something did not set right about this place as compared to other TP Suites I have been to.
1) I did not see one maid while there ( four days). Our beds were made daily, but not in a manner that indicated care, and our regular coffee was not replaced after the second night - simple stuff but the devil is in the details!
2) The breakfast is not good for anyone on a low sugar diet. All they had was muffins, juice, and nutrigrain bars, with a few pieces of fruit. Very little protein.
Petty complaints aside, the desk staff was cheerful and the location is a 30-40 minute drive to many locations in the greater Miami region, in a safe, if boring , area. There are so many worse places to stay; but compared to other TP Suites, it was not as good.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
binghamton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

I and my wife spent 3 nights in this hotel. You have to have a car with you or you won't be able to do anything in this hotel. This hotel is located in the 'west airport' area, in which there's nothing to see. But if you have a car you can access anywhere in Miami area within 30 minutes including everglades national park. This hotel does not provide airport shuttle service.
We didn't like the smell when we entered the hallway, but room was a bit spacious and ok. Hotel was in the quiet area, we couldn't hear any airport noise at all. Air conditioner worked very well but water came out from air conditioner and soaked the carpet around it. I had to cover the floor with a towel so that my feet doesn't get wet!
Pool was very small and it looked like just for kid's. Hotel provides free wireless internet.
I did bidding on priceline.com and got this hotel with very cheap price, so I don't have much complains. It was nice and decent hotel, next time I want to visit hotels around beach even if I will have to pay some more.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

Needed a place to stay for 2 nights prior to cruise - and wanted 2 bedrooms. One night occupants were my 80 year old mother, my brother and me. Second night mother, me and teenage daughter and friend. Pretty location not important to us - and that was a good thing, because this hotel is near nothing - there are some strip malls and actually a small cow pasture across the street. Despite "Airport" in name, it is actually at least a 15 minute drive to airport.

Hotel is 2 parallel buildings with tiny pool overlooking parking lot. Suite was a real suite - 2 bedrooms with doors and full walls - each with a double or queen bed, a living room with full sized sofa bed, and a fully equipped kitchen, including d/w and m/w. Bathroom was small but adequate, with sink outside.

Everything was clean and well maintained. Elevator to 4 floors. Check-in was easy and we were given a choice of room locations. They provide a "Grab and Go" breakfast bag which we did not try and there is coffee in lobby (as well as coffee maker in room). A little confused about housekeeping services - they advertised limited housekeeping (alternate days), but we were there only 2 nights and room was fully cleaned between nights. Really nice mall with decent non-chain restaurants about 4 miles away, as well as usual fast food places within walking distance.

A perfectly fine place to stay if you need the space or facilities, don't care about location, and are just looking for a place to sleep at a good price.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area

Address: 10505 NW 36th Street, Doral, FL 33178
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.