We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel. Staff just OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8855 NW 27th Street, Doral, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Doral
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
509 helpful votes 509 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel. Staff just OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

As I searched for an affordable hotel to stay overnight after a recent trip to Trinidad, I was amazed how few affordable options there were near the Miami airport. That said, I am extremely loyal to the IHG group, and so I was pleased to finally find a Candlewood Suites hotel with availability. I’ve stayed in Candlewood Suites before, and have been generally pleased.

Despite being about 5 miles from the airport, access is via an interstate and so what should be a short trip becomes longer (and more costly) because of rush hour traffic and when you cab driver does not know where your hotel is located (or so he claimed) and realizes too late that a prior exit was shifted from one side of the road to the other! We ultimately made it to the hotel with the assistance of my Maps app on my I-phone. You quickly realize that the lower hotel rate become a less of a good deal because there was now a $30 cab fare plus tip – one way!

Having contacted the hotel in advance to request a room on the first floor since I would only be staying one night, I was bummed to arrive around 7pm and to have been assigned a room on the 3rd floor necessitating a ride on the elevator.

The room itself was lovely – close to the elevator, with no obnoxious odors, very clean, lots of towels , comfortable bed, working fridge and microwave, TV that worked fine and lots of outlets for my electronics. The bed was very comfortable as was the recliner. The WiFi worked fine except for periodic hiccups when I did FaceTime with my DH. I kept joking that we FaceTimed daily while I was in Trinidad without a problem and in Miami, I kept having problems. Go figure!

I slept reasonably OK despite the planes flying overhead – another reason why I requested a room on the first floor since others had mentioned airplane noise on the higher floor.

I can't speak about food in the area because I brought dinner in my carry on. I did go down to the pantry on arrival and picked up a juice, bottle of water and a yogurt. Prices were fair.

At check-in I had requested a cab to pick me up at 5:30 am for the airport. The staffer noted in his notebook. Luckily I called down once I was ready in the am and the person at the desk said she would call a cab but she couldn’t place a call in advance of my coming down. What?

Anyway, by the time I headed down with my luggage, my cab arrived. The person at the front desk seemed surprised and said she’d just called. Thirty minutes after my initial call! Plus, the staffer seemed to have major problems getting me checked out. I was getting a bit PO’d and was ready to walk out because my cab was waiting, and she was shuffling around looking for some elusive piece of paper!

Basically, for the cab fare paid ($30 plus tip x 2) plus the room rate, I believe you can find a hotel that’s closer to Miami airport or one with a free hotel shuttle. The hotel itself is lovely but staff are just OK. The word urgent is apparently not in their vocabulary even at 5:30 am in the morning!

If you found this review helpful please indicate below. Thanks!

Room Tip: Avoid top floor if you're a light sleeper. My room overlooked the parking lot which I used to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    118
    60
    17
    16
See reviews for
74
108
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for one night in a queen bed studio suite and found it to be a quiet, comfortable room on the ground floor. The swimming pool was fine and warm and ideal for a quick dip. There is a do-it-yourself launderette which is free (so ignore the coin operation). We were able to buy breakfast (and other meals if required) which was very handy, and there were facilities there to prepare them. We had not come across Candlewood Suites before and liked the ethics of them.
We found a pub across the very busy NW87th Avenue with quite good food and beer.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room on the ground floor but think all of them would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at this property three separate times over a three week period. Our first stay was for 5 days, than another day following a one-week cruise and then another day after a trip to Guatemala. The staff were extremely friendly and professional. We were able to leave a piece of our cruise luggage at the hotel when we left for our Guatemalan adventure.
Our rooms were better with each consecutive staff. The first room was a very comfortable "studio", the second was on the third floor with a wonderful view of the park, and the third was a one bedroom apartment. Great pool and hot tub.
Given our travel plans the free laundry was a welcome addition. Laundry supplies are available at a cost of $1.50 in the cupboard.
There is a wonderful park just behind the property with a walking/jogging path (inside track about 1 mile, outside track about 1.5 miles). Park is accessible from a gate in the fence at the corner of the building across the parking lot (leave hotel by pool exit).
Coffee shop and several restaurants just at the corner of the street as well as just minutes away. Anthony's Coal Fire Pizza is about a 10 minute walk and Chili's and Flannigan's are about 20 minutes in the opposite direction #all on 87th#. Wal-Mart is near Chili's and Flannigan's. Bank of American ATM near Anthony's. #1 restaurant in Doral, Pappa and Ciccia is about 20 minutes away down 25th but well worth the walk.

Room Tip: Third floor with views of the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapakoneta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a 25 dollar taxi from the airport so if you addt that to the price of the hotel you would be better off staying at a nicer hotel with shuttle service. Besides that the staff was friendly and the room was clean.If you want to eat it's a 10 dollar taxi to hooters.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

First time staying at this hotel - was pleasantly surprised by the room. Fully equiped kitchen. Clean room and great location close to resturants. Shopping malls were less than 2 miles away. Would definitely return. Free wifi. No free breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Very Dark and lonely surroundings, room in sorry state, with stained carpets, room door apparently had suffered a break in. Supposedly Non smoking room smelling like an ashtray.
Staff not helpfull
Tried to write a review on this proporty at chains own website was not possible , review section not working currently.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Alessandro U,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had the smallest "suite." It had full office amenities. Full kitchen including dishwasher. Very modern and very clean. Great Q bed and bed linens. Very comfortable. Would definitely return. No free breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West

Address: 8855 NW 27th Street, Doral, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Doral
#9 Business Hotel in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the conveniences of a hotel with the amenities and privacy of a corporate apartment truly the best of both worlds. Candlewood Suites Miami, an all-suite hotel with fully equipped kitchens is centrally located just minutes from Miami International Airport with easy access to the City of Doral, Downtown Miami, Coral Gables, Kendall, Miami Springs, and Medley. Whether your visit brings you for business or pleasure, one night or an extended stay, our friendly staff is ready to welcome you with a smile. At Candlewood Suites, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Spacious and well appointed, each suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with microwave, full size refrigerator and dishwasher. Work efficiently at your executive desk with two separate phone lines and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Relax in your recliner while you enjoy your favorite movie from our free CD library. Purchase a light meal or snack 24-hours a day at the Candlewood Cupboard or take a dip in our outdoor heated pool. Our hotel is minutes from excellent shopping and an assortment of dining and entertainment venues as well as US Southern Command, Florida International University and Jackson Memorial Medical Center. We are also convenient to Homestead Speedway, Bayside Marketplace, and Miami (South) Beach. Become one of Facebook fans and participate to win free night and discounts! Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West Hotel Miami
Candlewood Miami
Miami Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.