We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not perfect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8855 NW 27th Street, Doral, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Doral
Lavras, Brazil
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good, but not perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Well, I'm a frequent guest. Whenever we (me and my wife) go to Miami, we stay at Candlewood. It's definitely one of my favorite hotels in Miami (I can't even remember the last time we stayed at another hotel). This last time was great, but not perfect. All the staff treated us well, except one of the front desk guys, his name's Pablo. Gosh! I remember I greeted him a couple of times and he said nothing, he didn't even look at me and my wife. He simply ignored us! I felt so bad... You know, year after year staying at Candlewood I got to know all the staff and I always enjoyed talking to them, especially to Shirley, who has been working at the hotel for many years and always treated us very well. So, I strongly suggest Pablo get some customer skills and pay more attention to the guests. It's not that difficult! Observation is the key for success! He only needs to observe how Shirley and Alejandro treat the guests and he'll see how easy it is to treat others with respect and courtesy.

Also, I'd like to say I have nothing against this person (Pablo). I'm only making a suggestion based on my own experience with him.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    91
    50
    17
    15
See reviews for
52
94
17
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
costa mesa, ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Our family stayed here post Carnival cruise before we headed back to cali.

I called a few times to see if we could check in a few hours earlier since we got off the ship early, the nice lady at the front said to check back in an hour. I called again to see if we could just leave luggage there, she said yes. So we went to the hotel, then she offered to see if any rooms were available. So I waited, it seemed like a long time, they had to find a room for the person in front of me first. Finally after what seemed like 20-30 minutes, they let me know a room is available and that I could pick the first or 2nd floor. They have an elevator, but I picked the first floor. Luckily our room was next to the back door, so that was great for carrying luggage in and out the room.

The place looked clean. Loved the separate bedroom with the door. modern looking minus the ugly couch with the even more awful sofa bed. I sad on it and immediately felt all the metal bars and springs in the bed. AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL!!! no support, no cushion. everytime i went to sit on it, i would have to gently prop myself on it or else all the springs would poke me. if you don't believe me, try it for yourself!!! worst bed i've ever slept in my life. That would be my #1 complaint of the hotel.

no free breakfast
free parking
they do have free laundry rooms. it has a coin slot, but you just push it in and it'll light up for you to push start. We just went to walmart and grabbed laundry detergent for the 4 of us and did all our laundry from the carribean cruise we just came from.

nice front desk staff.

We found out they carpet clean the rooms everyday!!!! beat that all you other hotels!!!
That is awesome, so awesome i'll come back just to know that our carpets are clean!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife and I booked a one bedroom apartment for 13 days. We have so far been here for 10 days. Very nice location and relatively quiet despite its proximity to the Miami International Airport. Location is within easy reach of everywhere and everything. Apartment is very clean and well provided with ample towels, pillows and bed linen. Kitchenette is more than adequate for preparing simple meals and includes a two-burner cooktop, coffee maker, microwave oven, dishwasher, toaster and simple but useful items such as paper towel, dish washing liquid and air freshener. Separate TV sets in the living room and bedroom are a big plus. Storage space is plentiful for an apartment of this size. Staff is friendly and efficient. WiFi in room works well. Free gym and laundry a real boost. The DIY BBQ grill by the poolside is a nice convenience. Very comfortable accommodation. Parking is adequate even when occupancy level seems to be high.
Thankfully, I haven't encountered any pets which could have been a negative.
This is not an apartment hotel, i.e., no restaurant, bar, room service etc., but if you are looking for a nice place to stay undisturbed, prepare your own meals, eat out or order in and at a reasonable price, there is hardly any better place in Miami.
Did I find any faults? Very minor. The shower curtain is a bit too short and the flatware doesn't include soup-size spoons, only teaspoons.
Really good value for money!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Very pleasantly surprised. Nice quiet area, but everything is a short drive away.
The people at the front desk are very friendly and go above and beyond to make you feel at home.
The rooms are nicely decorated and large. The kitchenettes are great.
I loved that you could rent dvd's from the front desk.
The washing area was very helpful, and so was the mini mart.
I will certainly go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

No words to say how good was this stay, was also special due to my mother's first time visit to Miami. Great location, convenient and people are great (with the exception of the afternoon receptionist). The lady who performed our check in was fantastic, proactive when we needed to change the room for the smoking smell, young receptionist guy need to be trained in delivering a better service.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingstown, St. Vincent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

stayed here the first time while in miami , got a suite for 1 and was good. had a ground floor room , full kitchen and a confortable room.
parking was good and plentigul, washing facilities was great, and the mini mart on site was stocked well.
close to all the restaurants and super wal mart also nearby, airport like a few mins away, all the main highways less than 2 miles away.
great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had expected "the usual" hotel room when we made reservations. Not the case with this Candlewood! We had a large room with a kitchenette area which we didn't expect. Since we were only staying overnight I didn't look at the hotel amenities when we booked it. What a nice surprise for such a reasonable rate! Set back on a side road it was very quite even though we were only a couple of miles from the airport. Clean, plenty of parking and very close to shopping and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were so impressed we made it a point to stay at another Candlewood in Ft. Lauderdale before our return flight home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West

Address: 8855 NW 27th Street, Doral, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the conveniences of a hotel with the amenities and privacy of a corporate apartment truly the best of both worlds. Candlewood Suites Miami, an all-suite hotel with fully equipped kitchens is centrally located just minutes from Miami International Airport with easy access to the City of Doral, Downtown Miami, Coral Gables, Kendall, Miami Springs, and Medley. Whether your visit brings you for business or pleasure, one night or an extended stay, our friendly staff is ready to welcome you with a smile. At Candlewood Suites, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Spacious and well appointed, each suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with microwave, full size refrigerator and dishwasher. Work efficiently at your executive desk with two separate phone lines and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Relax in your recliner while you enjoy your favorite movie from our free CD library. Purchase a light meal or snack 24-hours a day at the Candlewood Cupboard or take a dip in our outdoor heated pool. Our hotel is minutes from excellent shopping and an assortment of dining and entertainment venues as well as US Southern Command, Florida International University and Jackson Memorial Medical Center. We are also convenient to Homestead Speedway, Bayside Marketplace, and Miami (South) Beach. Become one of Facebook fans and participate to win free night and discounts! Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West Hotel Miami
Candlewood Miami
Miami Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.