We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic room by airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8855 NW 27th Street, Doral, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic room by airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to the one bedroom suite, total $69/night.

Expansive room, dishwasher, plates, living room, kitchen, nicely appointed, clean, new feeling.

Everything great except no beach! LOL. If you wanna fantastic room near the airport this will fill the bill

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    100
    52
    16
    16
See reviews for
64
100
21
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I was there for three nights on july and four days and its was just easy to be there. I came in and out alot at random hrs and never any dangers in the area and I was able to explore several malls in the surrounding area. Pool was good and gym open even when I wanted to workout at 2am. I especially appreciate d the top floor room for atleast a little more view than hotel grounds.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I can honestly say that I find it impossible to find a single bad word to say about this hotel.

We were travelling last minute to attend a funeral and had to being our small/medium dog with us. While many hotels in the are area dog friendly most do not allow the pet to be left unattended in the room, even if crated. This was a problem for us due to the nature of the trip. Candlewood expressly state on their website that leaving dogs crated and unattended is fine providing they are well behaved and do not cause a noise nuisance. Top marks for Candlewood allowing this and for making their pet policy so comprehensive easy to find on their site. Added to this, other extended stay hotels charge a flat rate of $100 if a pet is in the room. Candlewood charge $15 for the first night and $10 for each additional night, making the surcharge for our stay just $25! Their minimum charge is $150 though so another chain might be cheaper for longer stays.

Having read other reviews and based on the outstanding condition of our room I have to say I think the rooms are being upgraded at the moment. Our room had new cabinetry, countertops, sinks, bath and flooring in the kitchen and bathroom. The only things that appeared older were the appliances but they all worked as expected and were in good condition. The kitchen was fully stocked with plates and utensils for simple cooking for two people. The desk was great, as was the flat screen TV. We didn't take advantage of the service by DVDs/Videos are available for rental from the front desk. The AC was older and a little noisy but it provided a good level of white noise for sleeping.

The bed was soft but comfy. Airport noise was acceptable although when we were there most planes were approaching from a different direction. The small shop that operates on an honor system had all kinds of food supplies to get you out of a pinch. Either leave the correct money in the box or fill out a slip to have any charges billed to your room.

I didn't use the gum or pool but both looked well maintained. The laundry was also in good condition and better still free. You just need to supply your own detergent (or buy it there).

Honestly this hotel was excellent. Top marks to the staff, especially Alijandro who checked us in and explained the charges and pet policy.

Room Tip: All I can say is that room 312 is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had a few things to do in the Miami Area: Ft Lauderdale, Miami, Homestead. I chose this airport hotel because of its central location to these areas from the freeways and also because I stayed here for a few nights last year and enjoyed it. Got a spotless suite, good and free wifi, safe parking area, and even used the gym one afternoon when I had the time. Front desk is only one person for the whole hotel, but still efficient. The area is mainly business parks and small malls alongside the western boundary of Miami airport, but that means lots of restaurants and services if you need something. I didn't think the airport noise was a problem, and I was on the top floor. Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I wanted somewhere to stay for one night to break up a journey from Key West to Naples, so decided to stay in Miami. I chose Candlewood Suites because of reputation, quality and value for money. I was slightly put off as it was classed as an airport hotel, but I needn't have worried. This is a really good hotel, fantastic quality, great location for 2 huge shopping outlets and dozens of restaurants and although you can see planes overhead, the soundproofing is so good I heard nothing. The room we had was amazing. Like a condo, with separate bedroom, bathroom. Lounge area and kitchen. I wished I was staying longer to make the most of it. There's also an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub and BBQ if you fancy doing some al fresco dining. And to keep fit, there's a gym (I didn't use this but it looked well equipped). Laundry room, ice on all floors and a mini shop area, where you can buy drinks and snacks, complete the facilities. The only thing it didnt have was an in-room safe, but there was a free security lock box at reception you could use. All in all, I'd highly recommend this for a short or longer holiday

Room Tip: Join Candlewood Suites's loyalty scheme, priority club, before you go (it's free) as all mem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Only spent one night here after a late flight into Miami. The hotel sits right on the landing flight path for the airport so I recommend if you stay there to get a room on one of the lower floors where the noise from the airplanes won't be as loud. The location is ok but not in the best neighborhood. Take extra care if arriving late at night or leaving early in the morning. There are several nice restaurants in the area and a local Walmart only a few minutes away if you need to pick up any supplies.

Room Tip: Stay on a bottom or lower floor to avoid the noise from the aircraft flying into Miami Int. Airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear CaptainBill1,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just completed a 7 day stay. The hotel works very well for us. The independence of being able to cook our own meals or go out as we wished. Easy access to the main highways to all parts North and South. A range of shops, malls and restaurants within a two mile radius. We ordered a number of items online before we travelled for delivery to the hotel. Emailed the front desk to say that we were expecting packages and would they hold them for us. Got back a prompt and friendly response assuring us that the packages would be held. They were awaiting us on our arrival and we discovered that packages pour in every day for collection by guests.The hotel is well geared up to handling this.

It is what it is. A two star self catering hotel. I would rate their facilities as three star however and the front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. When we were leaving and indicated that we would be back at some future date they volunteered that they had started an upgrade of room furnishings and that we should expect some improvements on our return. Not that we had any complaints with things as they are now.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West

Address: 8855 NW 27th Street, Doral, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the conveniences of a hotel with the amenities and privacy of a corporate apartment truly the best of both worlds. Candlewood Suites Miami, an all-suite hotel with fully equipped kitchens is centrally located just minutes from Miami International Airport with easy access to the City of Doral, Downtown Miami, Coral Gables, Kendall, Miami Springs, and Medley. Whether your visit brings you for business or pleasure, one night or an extended stay, our friendly staff is ready to welcome you with a smile. At Candlewood Suites, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Spacious and well appointed, each suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with microwave, full size refrigerator and dishwasher. Work efficiently at your executive desk with two separate phone lines and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Relax in your recliner while you enjoy your favorite movie from our free CD library. Purchase a light meal or snack 24-hours a day at the Candlewood Cupboard or take a dip in our outdoor heated pool. Our hotel is minutes from excellent shopping and an assortment of dining and entertainment venues as well as US Southern Command, Florida International University and Jackson Memorial Medical Center. We are also convenient to Homestead Speedway, Bayside Marketplace, and Miami (South) Beach. Become one of Facebook fans and participate to win free night and discounts! Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West Hotel Miami
Candlewood Miami
Miami Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.