We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just an airport hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8855 NW 27th Street, Doral, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Doral
Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not just an airport hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I wanted somewhere to stay for one night to break up a journey from Key West to Naples, so decided to stay in Miami. I chose Candlewood Suites because of reputation, quality and value for money. I was slightly put off as it was classed as an airport hotel, but I needn't have worried. This is a really good hotel, fantastic quality, great location for 2 huge shopping outlets and dozens of restaurants and although you can see planes overhead, the soundproofing is so good I heard nothing. The room we had was amazing. Like a condo, with separate bedroom, bathroom. Lounge area and kitchen. I wished I was staying longer to make the most of it. There's also an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub and BBQ if you fancy doing some al fresco dining. And to keep fit, there's a gym (I didn't use this but it looked well equipped). Laundry room, ice on all floors and a mini shop area, where you can buy drinks and snacks, complete the facilities. The only thing it didnt have was an in-room safe, but there was a free security lock box at reception you could use. All in all, I'd highly recommend this for a short or longer holiday

Room Tip: Join Candlewood Suites's loyalty scheme, priority club, before you go (it's free) as all mem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    115
    60
    17
    16
See reviews for
72
108
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Only spent one night here after a late flight into Miami. The hotel sits right on the landing flight path for the airport so I recommend if you stay there to get a room on one of the lower floors where the noise from the airplanes won't be as loud. The location is ok but not in the best neighborhood. Take extra care if arriving late at night or leaving early in the morning. There are several nice restaurants in the area and a local Walmart only a few minutes away if you need to pick up any supplies.

Room Tip: Stay on a bottom or lower floor to avoid the noise from the aircraft flying into Miami Int. Airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear CaptainBill1,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just completed a 7 day stay. The hotel works very well for us. The independence of being able to cook our own meals or go out as we wished. Easy access to the main highways to all parts North and South. A range of shops, malls and restaurants within a two mile radius. We ordered a number of items online before we travelled for delivery to the hotel. Emailed the front desk to say that we were expecting packages and would they hold them for us. Got back a prompt and friendly response assuring us that the packages would be held. They were awaiting us on our arrival and we discovered that packages pour in every day for collection by guests.The hotel is well geared up to handling this.

It is what it is. A two star self catering hotel. I would rate their facilities as three star however and the front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. When we were leaving and indicated that we would be back at some future date they volunteered that they had started an upgrade of room furnishings and that we should expect some improvements on our return. Not that we had any complaints with things as they are now.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We found this hotel at the Holiday Inn page and for location. It's clean, quiet and the neighborhood nice, however, the service it provides is not hotel style, that is, room cleanup is only once per week and the room they provided to us was with a single queen bed, having to ask for a sofa or roll-a-bed at extra cost, so for the total price we could have gone to a nicer regular hotel. No restaurant on premises just a small convenience shop next to the free laundry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear tron38us,

Thank you for your your review of our hotel. We are glad to know that you found our hotel to be clean and quiet.

I am sorry to hear your issue with our housekeeping services. We are an extended stay hotel and rooms get serviced once a week to ensure guest privacy. However if you need it daily, that can be arranged for a nominal fee. I understand that this concept might not work so well for some. However most of our guests are long term and it works out quite well for others.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing so how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Everything we needed at a short distance, nice staff, comfortable room, towels and linens were very good. All was clean. No noisy guests, no parties guests. Familiar place to stay. Good price. Safe area, close to Doral HQ Police. No locker inside the room. Cupboard is very helpful at a good price. Honest place to stay. We'd stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here a total of 4 nights while on vacation. I was recognized as a Priority Club member at check-in. The rooms are nice.......the extra space provided by having the separate living area was nice. The full size refrigerator was a plus as well.
Pool area was great. Nice pool with hot tub as well as a covered patio with BBQ grills for guest use.
Free washers and dryers and a well stocked pantry was an added plus.
Only cons I'd note is that the hotel is in the flight path of MIA. This was noticeable really for us only when outside at the pool. It did not bother us nor wake us when in the room.
Nice area with restaurants within walking distance.
We stayed 1 night at a $400 resort in Key West as well on this trip. This Candlewood Suite was much better!

Room Tip: There is only 1 elevator. Elderly guests might want to request a "higher" room.....for ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is located in a wonderful area by the airport and a few miles away from the ports and South Beach. There are tons of eatery and shopping in the area. The hotel is clean and has lots of amneities including a store, workout room and free laundry. The staff is friendly and the grounds are lit and safe. Will stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the park as its a nice scene and the breeze feels good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West

Address: 8855 NW 27th Street, Doral, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Doral
#9 Business Hotel in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the conveniences of a hotel with the amenities and privacy of a corporate apartment truly the best of both worlds. Candlewood Suites Miami, an all-suite hotel with fully equipped kitchens is centrally located just minutes from Miami International Airport with easy access to the City of Doral, Downtown Miami, Coral Gables, Kendall, Miami Springs, and Medley. Whether your visit brings you for business or pleasure, one night or an extended stay, our friendly staff is ready to welcome you with a smile. At Candlewood Suites, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Spacious and well appointed, each suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with microwave, full size refrigerator and dishwasher. Work efficiently at your executive desk with two separate phone lines and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Relax in your recliner while you enjoy your favorite movie from our free CD library. Purchase a light meal or snack 24-hours a day at the Candlewood Cupboard or take a dip in our outdoor heated pool. Our hotel is minutes from excellent shopping and an assortment of dining and entertainment venues as well as US Southern Command, Florida International University and Jackson Memorial Medical Center. We are also convenient to Homestead Speedway, Bayside Marketplace, and Miami (South) Beach. Become one of Facebook fans and participate to win free night and discounts! Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West Hotel Miami
Candlewood Miami
Miami Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.