We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8855 NW 27th Street, Doral, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Doral
1 review
“Very good place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Everything we needed at a short distance, nice staff, comfortable room, towels and linens were very good. All was clean. No noisy guests, no parties guests. Familiar place to stay. Good price. Safe area, close to Doral HQ Police. No locker inside the room. Cupboard is very helpful at a good price. Honest place to stay. We'd stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    91
    51
    16
    16
See reviews for
60
96
19
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hope Mills, North Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here a total of 4 nights while on vacation. I was recognized as a Priority Club member at check-in. The rooms are nice.......the extra space provided by having the separate living area was nice. The full size refrigerator was a plus as well.
Pool area was great. Nice pool with hot tub as well as a covered patio with BBQ grills for guest use.
Free washers and dryers and a well stocked pantry was an added plus.
Only cons I'd note is that the hotel is in the flight path of MIA. This was noticeable really for us only when outside at the pool. It did not bother us nor wake us when in the room.
Nice area with restaurants within walking distance.
We stayed 1 night at a $400 resort in Key West as well on this trip. This Candlewood Suite was much better!

Room Tip: There is only 1 elevator. Elderly guests might want to request a "higher" room.....for ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is located in a wonderful area by the airport and a few miles away from the ports and South Beach. There are tons of eatery and shopping in the area. The hotel is clean and has lots of amneities including a store, workout room and free laundry. The staff is friendly and the grounds are lit and safe. Will stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the park as its a nice scene and the breeze feels good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Located in a quiet, corporate type area, other MIA hotels nearby. About 15-20 minutes to MIA and/or car return, but priced lower than nearer hotels. Good size mini-suite...clean, but could use a little reburb. NIce gym, free washers/dryers (a very nice touch), and 24 hour honor system convenience store. Outdoor pool also. A perfectly acceptable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear NYTraveller_7,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. I am so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel and the cleanliness of your room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Miami, FL.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Candlewood Suites recently after a long transatlantic journey, for one night, prior to continuing our journey by road.

There were good points and bad points. Let's get the bad out of the way first…..

The hotel was "tired". It could really do with a facelift.
When you check in, they make a big point about it being a non-smoking hotel. You even have to sign to say you agree to a hefty charge if you disobey that rule. As soon as we went into the room, there was a very obvious smell of stale cigarettes. The window was open, like they were trying to clear it, but there was no missing it.
The sink in the bathroom was falling off the wall and, when you used it, water dripped from the waste pipe and formed a puddle on the floor. The sink was not set in any kind of unit, so there was nowhere to put your toiletries. There was also no hook for robes.

Now the good points ….

The staff were really pleasant and helpful. When we brought the faults to their notice they offered to move us to another room. We declined, because our son was in the room next door and we wouldn't have had adjoining rooms had we moved.
The hotel is extremely convenient for the airport. Despite being so close, aircraft noise wasn't a problem. You could hear them, but the large refrigerator in the room made more noise than the aircraft. Talking about refrigerator .. the rooms were amazingly well equipped. The refrigerator was a full size fridge/freezer that would be suitable for a family home, let alone a hotel room. The kitchenette had a sink, dishwasher, 2 ring hob, coffee maker, microwave, toaster. Coffee, tea and microwave popcorn provided. Even kitchen towel. Pots, pans, utensils and cutlery. Washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets were provided. There was an ironing board, iron and hairdrier. There were even tissues, spare loo roll, soap and shampoo/conditioner.
The bathroom had a very nice shower.
The layout had a desk, office chair & breakfast bar.
There was a telephone, very good internet and TV, VHS/DVD combo.
Blackout curtains ensured a good sleep.

Other facilities (that we didn't actually use) were an Exercise room, Laundry and Pool.

The rooms appeared to be disabled friendly.

Yes, the hotel has it's problems, but for it's amenities and convenience, I would use it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Visitor_from_UK,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. It is pleasing to know that you found our staff to be helpful and you found our location to be convenient. However, I am sorry that your visit was negatively impacted by the condition of the room and amenities being sub par. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Despite your disappointment, I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

There is little that can be said of fault about this hotel. It's well located, taking us just 15 minutes to get to Miami Beach. The reception staff are friendly and efficient. The rooms are well proportioned, with good amenities like microwave, fridge/freezer, coffee machine, TV, DVD player. The bathroom is big and our room overlooked the nearby park.
One reviewer did mention the issue about interconnecting doors - it is true - the doors between rooms are not great and you can hear most of what's happening in the room adjacent to you. I asked in advance of the booking not to be placed in an interconnecting room but it turns out that most of them are!
There are a couple of decent restaurants nearby including an Ale House and some independents.
Oh - one other mention - the bed is amazing! Small for a couple but extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear h0vetraveller,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and room amenities.

However, We’re sorry about the noise caused by interconnecting rooms. We will look into this point. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Close enough to the airport to be handy and yet none of the airport noise. The price was good for the area and very good for a nice suite. We were very glad to find this place to end our vacation at. The full kitchen was great even though we chose to eat out. Nice pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West

Address: 8855 NW 27th Street, Doral, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the conveniences of a hotel with the amenities and privacy of a corporate apartment truly the best of both worlds. Candlewood Suites Miami, an all-suite hotel with fully equipped kitchens is centrally located just minutes from Miami International Airport with easy access to the City of Doral, Downtown Miami, Coral Gables, Kendall, Miami Springs, and Medley. Whether your visit brings you for business or pleasure, one night or an extended stay, our friendly staff is ready to welcome you with a smile. At Candlewood Suites, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Spacious and well appointed, each suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with microwave, full size refrigerator and dishwasher. Work efficiently at your executive desk with two separate phone lines and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Relax in your recliner while you enjoy your favorite movie from our free CD library. Purchase a light meal or snack 24-hours a day at the Candlewood Cupboard or take a dip in our outdoor heated pool. Our hotel is minutes from excellent shopping and an assortment of dining and entertainment venues as well as US Southern Command, Florida International University and Jackson Memorial Medical Center. We are also convenient to Homestead Speedway, Bayside Marketplace, and Miami (South) Beach. Become one of Facebook fans and participate to win free night and discounts! Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West Hotel Miami
Candlewood Miami
Miami Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.