We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8855 NW 27th Street, Doral, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Doral
isle of palms, sc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

It is a nice hotel but it was pretty outdated. The customer service was great and friendly. The area of town was good and seemed safe. Nothing is in close walking distance though. It was also really clean. They do have a pool and spa that were real nice and clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    87
    51
    16
    16
See reviews for
59
96
18
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The service is very good, the CS was very helpfull and nice person, the room was clean and confortable, spacious bathroom. Was very nice for 1 night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed here 2-weeks. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful to a point (if it requires too much thinking forget about it...). They have free use of laundry machines (bring your own detergent or purchase from them). They have a pool and jacuzzi (?). Internet and cable TV, but the internet can only really accomadate the basics like light web-browsing, e-mail, and such (i.e. forget Netflix). There's a park right behind the hotel with a cool running track and pull-up bars, dip bars, etc. They're gym has some cardio machines, dumbells up to 50lbs. and the trio machine of lat pulldown, leg raises, leg extensions, etc. Their's a snack bar to purchase some junk food at street prices. All-in-all, for the price (lower than others in area) you get the minimum plus some ammenities. Location is good... close to airport, Dolphin Mall, straight shot to Miami Beach. Local area has plenty of food choices.

Room Tip: In the middle every which way to basically insulate you from the airplanes that fly overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Christopher C,

Thanks for staying with us and leaving a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks for your feedback on the internet speeds. We'll be sure to look into that.
Hope to see you again!

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed here for a single night at the beginning of our vacation. The hotel is a short drive from the airport, tucked back on a side street. The room fit the bill just fine: it had a kitchenette, which we didn't need, but which was equipped with a fridge, stove, and even a little dishwasher. The free wi-fi was zippy, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was clean. My only quibble was with the check-in process. We got in on a Friday night, and there was only one desk clerk. A large college tennis team was checking in ahead of us, and it took about 30 minutes to take care of them and get to us. Maybe they were just short-staffed that night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed at the Candlewood Suites after returning from a trip abroad. The hotel was in decent shape, but the amenities cannot be beat. Small kitchen in the room, free internet, free laundry and pantry. We managed to get a lot of errands done before heading home. The nearby area (Doral) has a really great sushi place and Winn-Dixie. It felt like we were coming home before actually heading home. Only criticisms are that even though it looks close to the airport is a bit of a drive and one van share quoted us $22 per person to get there and the bed in our room was small for a family (queen or a large double). Overall great value for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

My family & I booked 2 rooms at this hotel to stay in the night before we leave for our cruise & we booked it online a month ago through hotels.com. The specific reason we chose this place is because the hotels.com rep said they offered shuttles from the airport, train station, & to the port. On the way here we found out this is not the case, they offer no shuttles! Ok so major mistake on the part of hotels.com!!! Then we had booked 2 rooms each with a queen bed & we had again been told by hotels.com that we could have roll away beds for the 2 children in each room. Mistake #2 on their part because apparently the hotel has 3 roll-aways total & they were being used!!! This is where I'm now furious at hotels.com & will NEVEr use them again... But this is also where I become impressed with Candlewood. The staff here was really accommodating & even said that usually they would suggest calling hotels.com & making them find us another place But there is a huge boat show in town?? And apparently they have all of the rooms in town booked up! So the staff found us some air mattresses for the kids & provided plenty of extra bedding to make them as comfy as possible.
Overall the hotel seems pretty clean, the room is a good size complete with full fridge & small stove! The bed was super comfy so I got a great sleep too. The hotel is about 15mins from the train station, 10 from the airport, & about 15-20 from the port. All in all the hotel gave me no reason to complain, but I learned that hotels.com will book you any kind of room just to get your $ even if it doesn't have anything you were looking for!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

i had requested through booking.com in writing for a NON-smoking room, when i arrived i was booked into a smoking room with ashtrays and matches freely supplied (i didn't think this was legal anymore certainly not in UK) yellowed curtains smelly bed and carpets and it stank when i turned on the heater as the room was freezing, i advised the desk and was told they were full and were unable to help, i advised them that i had written previously but they stated they had not received this instruction, by the time i had arrived (i had been traveling some 18 hours from Europe and arrived at 1130pm) the reception had closed. I will not be using this Hotel again (in addition the hotel was so far from the airport that the taxi cost to get there was $35 one way. This was really in bad shape (rm 321 at least) very very poor

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West

Address: 8855 NW 27th Street, Doral, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the conveniences of a hotel with the amenities and privacy of a corporate apartment truly the best of both worlds. Candlewood Suites Miami, an all-suite hotel with fully equipped kitchens is centrally located just minutes from Miami International Airport with easy access to the City of Doral, Downtown Miami, Coral Gables, Kendall, Miami Springs, and Medley. Whether your visit brings you for business or pleasure, one night or an extended stay, our friendly staff is ready to welcome you with a smile. At Candlewood Suites, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Spacious and well appointed, each suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with microwave, full size refrigerator and dishwasher. Work efficiently at your executive desk with two separate phone lines and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Relax in your recliner while you enjoy your favorite movie from our free CD library. Purchase a light meal or snack 24-hours a day at the Candlewood Cupboard or take a dip in our outdoor heated pool. Our hotel is minutes from excellent shopping and an assortment of dining and entertainment venues as well as US Southern Command, Florida International University and Jackson Memorial Medical Center. We are also convenient to Homestead Speedway, Bayside Marketplace, and Miami (South) Beach. Become one of Facebook fans and participate to win free night and discounts! Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West Hotel Miami
Candlewood Miami
Miami Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Miami Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.